We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good base for days out”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lee's Chalet

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Dartmouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
paganpie
nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A good base”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed for a week - a family of four, with two young children aged 6 and 2. The chalet is comfortable and well-equipped. It is a bit dated, but it's cosy so I'm not sure why previous reviewers saw this as such an issue. It's got everything you'd need, including some great books (I managed three in a week!) as well as games and books for the children. There was plenty of space and plenty of storage room. Beds were very comfy and we all slept well.

However, it did need better cleaning. Good to see the owners are going to speak with the cleaning service.

It was a great base to travel around and about - we went into lovely Dartmouth a few times, up the coast to the sandier beaches at Paignton, and spent the one overcast day of our holiday at Woodlands which the children absolutely loved. There are a couple of lovely shingle beaches nearby where people took disposable BBQs - very chilled atmosphere and fantastic views.

I would say it is just a base though - I wouldn't stay here again with children as there is literally nothing to do on site. We had to go out in the car every day - no walking off site as there are no pavements on the road. It would be great if there were a safe park onsite where they could play with the other children staying, but even though they played on the grass outside the chalet we never saw any other children around who they could make friends with. Maybe just our bad luck?

Chalet was very easy to find, easy to access, and the owners were quick to respond to emails and provide information.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very comfy, plenty of space.
Liked least: It needed a proper clean.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADJenkins...
Bracknell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good base for days out”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The chalet is well located for days out, though there is nothing on the site itself, and I wouldn't recommend walking on the road which can be busy at times and narrow in places. It was cozy but comfortable, with a decent kitchen. If it wasn't exactly spotless on our arrival, the cleanliness was nothing to complain about. Everything worked as expected, and while we brought a pile of pound coins to feed the metre, we used very few of these.

There's plenty to do in that area of Devon, and the park is well situated. There's lots of beaches around which the kids loved, and its a short drive to Dartmoor which is always worth a visit. For food shopping, Sainsburys could barely be closer. For decent good value meals, the Sportsman's Arms is not far away, and their carvery was very nice.

Given we went in the summer holidays, the price of the chalet for the week was reasonable. I would certainly recommend Lee's Chalet as a comfortable and reasonable place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Very narrow parking spaces
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, following the previous review I have talked to my manager who will be checking up on the cleaning team. I would agree with your comments on the road, it can be busy and is narrow in places, so better to take the bus, car or keep to the public footpaths. I am pleased that you enjoyed your holiday and found it a convenient place to stay with many things to do and places to visit. Good to hear the electricity coin meter is good value. Thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john E
1 review
“Dirty and Dated”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Unfortunately, we stayed here for 3 weeks! Nothing good to say about this place apart from the location. Had to clean the bathroom before we could use it! The shower over the bath is difficult to turn on and the water drains slowly thereby leaving scum on bottom of bath. Oven filthy, didn't use it!
Lots of dust and spiders!!! Constant musty/damp smell! No sharp knives. Very dated needs bringing into 21st century!!

On the plus side, electric coin meter was good value and it's a great place from which to see South Devon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: location
Liked least: cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2015
I am really sorry to hear that you were not happy with the cleanliness of the chalet. If you had contacted me i would have immediately asked the cleaning team to re do the bathroom and the whole chalet if you thought necessary. Regarding the shower, It very occasionally doesn't respond when the water pressure is low or if you over press the start stop button. You need to wait a few moments after pressing for it to start. Again a quick call to George our manager would have been helpful. He is on site and always quick to respond to any problems you might have. I am sorry if it spoilt your holiday but I wonder why you didn't report any problems at the time. It could have been sorted out quickly so that you were able to enjoy the rest of your holiday..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappymumG...
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value!”
Reviewed 18 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Great value chalet in an ideal position for Dartmouth and the coast. Chalet spotless and well laid out - furnishings dated but comfortable and welcoming. Beds good, plenty of cupboard space. Very well equipped kitchen and lovely modern bathroom that looks recently fitted.
Chalet park quiet which suited us but plenty of space for the kids to run around. For the money it's an absolute bargain!
Only downside (v minor) we could come up with is that the parking spaces are very narrow - we have a vauxhall zafira and it only just fitted in the parking lines - we were lucky that the parking space next to us was empty otherwise I'm not sure how we would get in/out the car! There is some additional parking space at the top of the part next to the closed hotel, so I guess maybe this could be used?
Owner very well organised and communication quick and friendly. We all loved it and would definitely recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was spotless!
Liked least: Parking a bit tight!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James S
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice area....nice site.....nice chalet”
Reviewed 13 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

As the title suggests, all very nice. I have used this site before but quite some time ago in the past, hence all the changes, on site and in the area.
The area of Dartmouth is outstanding, with a lot of things to do to suit all interests and ages. I did find some of the car parking charges a bit on the steep side, (Bigbury onSea) but that is progress. The park and ride facility at Dartmouth I would recommend for extended stays in the town, especially river and steam train trips. Plan a round robin trip well to avoid being disappointed!

The chalet itself was in nice condition as was the majority of the fittings and furnishings,
was somewhat in need of some deep cleaning upon arrival though, with cobwebs and hair in abundance. Also, the key code was not as stated, so, whilst causing a slight inconvenience, it was soon sorted out by person at the contact number supplied. The all electric system that the chalet operates on was economical and efficient. A fish slice and some knife sharpening was required as these were found to be wanting. Saying that I have yet to use a rented place that has had sharp knives. That was always one of my previous partners gripes.All in all though we had a great time at Norton Park and Lee's chalet. Thank you and we would come again.
James

Travelling group: Other
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing