We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This would score 6 if such a score were possible!”
Review of Coleton Fishacre

Coleton Fishacre
Ranked #1 of 39 things to do in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
141 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“This would score 6 if such a score were possible!”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We arrived in the rain and decided to go into the house first and go round the gardens after if it had stopped raining - but going round the house we got wonderful views of the garden out of the windows and it was clear that the gardens had to be explored, rain or no rain! The house was lovely; it was possible to imagine the soirees held by the D'Oyley Cartes, especially as a volunteer was playing 1930s melodies on the beautifully sounding Bluthner piano. All round the place were reminders that this was a lived in house and the guides were friendly and informative.
Then the gardens!! It did not stop raining but it didn't matter (and we were lent a large umbrella by the staff on reception). The azaleas, rhodedendrons, and New Zealand Tea Trees were in full bloom and the stream running through the garden tumbled over stones and mini waterfalls. There was a new vista round every corner and the views across to the sea, even on this wet day, were stunning - truly the whole place took your breath away. Amongst the best National Trust properties I have ever visited.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barbara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NTEnglishRiviera, Marketing Intern at Coleton Fishacre, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Thank you Barbara V, the new zealand tea trees are my favourite too. Glad you had a lovely visit to Coleton Fishacre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    976
    163
    16
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
490 reviews
194 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Brilliant, great gardens, fascinating house”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Walked across from Kingswear Station, last year using the coast path all the way which was a challenge, this time partly coast path then inland via Brownstone Farm which took just over an hour. Some great views and colour in the gardens which we explored for an hour or so. The house was also a delight, not too big, but I loved the style of it.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank k r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NTEnglishRiviera, Marketing Intern at Coleton Fishacre, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Thank you, glad you enjoyed your visit to Coleton Fishacre. Glad that you enjoyed the gardens, they really are at their best at the moment, so much colour and beautiful views to be explored. If you loved the style of the Coleton Fishacre house, we have a cocktail evening coming up soon which will hopefully really bring the 1930's art deco style house to life with traditional cocktails being served by our very own butler! All the details are on under events on our Coleton Fishacre website or call us on 01803 482382 if you would like to know more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place - great value for money”
Reviewed 19 May 2012

My partner & I visited Coleton Fishacre & loved it. The house was lovely but for us it was the gardens that were the star of the show. They are huge and there is so much to see, a lot of love, care, time & effort shows through in the result. As it is so big if there are a lot of visitors you are not on top of one another, but I would advise getting there early as it fills up quickly.

At the bottom of the garden is a gate that takes you to Pudcombe cove where you can go on several different and very beautiful coastal walks. I have not always left a National Trust site where I have felt like I got value for money, but in this case they came up trumps.

Piece of advice.....when walking round the house ask the staff in each room what they can tell you about the room they have lots of information, they all love the house and it helps to make the most of your visit.

Oh yeah...cafe was lovely too, lots of stunning looking homemade cakes...yum!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lou_Rolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NTEnglishRiviera, Marketing Intern at Coleton Fishacre, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Thank you. So glad to hear you enjoyed your visit and feel like it was good value for money. The gardens really are the star of the show at the moment, beautiful and very colourful this time of year. Also so lovely to hear that you really felt from our staff and volunteers how much they love the house. Our chef Lorraine in Cafe Coleton is such a star, all her cakes are homemade and fresh on site everyday. We hope to have some of her delicious gluten free recipes up on our Coleton Fishacre website soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Talbot Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Well kept secret”
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We have been to Devon many times but never heard of this place. I am a NT member so looked up places to visit. It was well worth it. The house was really interesting and you are able to get up close and personal. There is even a 'handling room' where you can pick things up and even try hats on.

Lunch was superb as were the gardens. We didn't make it down to the private beach for fear of never being able to get back up again.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank grandadChepstow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NTEnglishRiviera, Marketing Intern at Coleton Fishacre, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Thank you, we're so glad that you were able to discover Coleton Fishacre. It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed the handling room as it's completely new this season as part of our 'opening closed doors' project. There's some great hats in there for trying on in there as you said! Please do come and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Worth a visit for the gardens and house.House will not take long but worth a visit

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank John-met
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coleton Fishacre also viewed

 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Coleton Fishacre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing