We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
76
17
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
76
17
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews parking permit grade ii reserved parking lovely big bed original features three nights real milk close proximity short walk tea and coffee fridge with fresh milk would stay again location is ideal wine glasses little gem centre of town bottled water
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

Tucked away. But also right next to parking, and the steps to centre of Dartmouth. This accommodation is secluded and beautifully done, in a street crowded with lovely architecture. Room one is large, and nicely decorated. The owners are very much to hand, and have thought of everything - fridge, tea tray, hairdryer, privacy blinds, lovely big bed, hanging space, tidy bathroom, information folder. I couldn't fault this - clean, light, fresh, cosy. Just a skip and jump from all the best bits of Dartmouth.
Hoorah!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank jjandherdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018 via mobile

Booked to stay for our anniversary and was pleased with our communication with the owners who were really pleasant and with the quirky Grade II Listed accommodation which was close to the harbour/ shops. The self check in and parking permit was a bonus and we felt free to come and go visiting some neighbouring towns and beaches. We enjoyed going to different local cafes for breakfast especially Cafe Al Resco and the dining table fridge and complementary cutlery/ plates in the room gave us freedom to have our own breakfast or a takeaway. The bed was large and comfortable. The room was a little on the cold side and the heating and shower a little tricky to work out but overall very clean and comfortable and we would stay again.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

This is the second time we have stayed at The Captain's House and it was exceptional again.

It's in the perfect location and the lovely couple that run it could not be more helpful! (Even letting us keep the permit for an extra couple of hours - Which saved us much fuss on the first day of the regatta)

We'll be back!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DO123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018

The Captains House is a Grade II Listed Georgian Townhouse located in the old town of Dartmouth and only a few minutes walk from the quay and town center. The room was very comfortable, the bathroom modern and clean. The additional touches such as a fridge with fresh milk and bottled water were much appreciated. Staying at the Captains House is on a room only basis, breakfast to be taken if, so desired, at one of the many establishments situated in Dartmouth - a new experience every day. The room comes with free designated reserved car parking space for use during the stay, which in busy location like Dartmouth is extremely useful.

Room tip: As this is a Georgian Townhouse, access to rooms not on the ground floor could be challenging if you have difficulty climbing stairs.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

Lovely, large room with bath. Thoughtful extra touches included the fridge with a pint of milk, a very informative folder with ideas for eating out and a picnic basket with plates, cutlery etc. Excellent location, the harbour was a few minutes walk as were all the shops, restaurants etc. Free parking a bonus.
Try Alf Resco for a lively breakfast. experience

Room tip: We had room 3, a large double/twin with spacious ensuite that had a bath and shower.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LesleyAndGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews