We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“So lovely we had to stay an extra night!”

Review of The Bower House

Sitting area with picture window. Wonderful view of the Pennines from the two sofas.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting area with picture window. Wonderful view of the Pennines from the two sofas.
Looking towards the sleeping end. One large studio room gives great sense of space. The comfortable double bed. Can easily be folded away but few people bother.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Sitting area with picture window. Wonderful view of the Pennines from the two sofas.
Looking towards the sleeping end. One large studio room gives great sense of space.
The comfortable double bed. Can easily be folded away but few people bother.
Kitchen with bathroom beyond. Well equipped galley kitchen with all facilities.
Wood burning stove and TV. Books, maps, stereo, digital radio, free WiFi.
Magnificent view to the Pennines. Private sandstone terrace has field access and splendid open views
The Jacuzzi hot tub is normally available to guests for a small charge.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jola-Rich
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“So lovely we had to stay an extra night!”
Reviewed 1 May 2013 for a stay in March 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Bower House over the Easter bank holiday weekend. We had originally planned to stay for just 3 nights (Friday-Sunday) but we loved the property and area so much after the first day that we spoke with Freddy the owner about staying an extra night!

The cottage itself was exceptionally clean with all the home comforts you would expect (including wifi) however our favorite thing has to be the wood burning stove - it was just so lovely to curl up on the sofa after a day out walking, gazing out of the picture window with the fire crackling away and enjoying a nice glass of red wine!

There is a lovely little bistro in the centre of Morland which serves up fantastic food on a Saturday evening (Fridays are pizza night) however if you are looking to dine here you will probably need to book a table at least a couple of weeks in advance (there are only 5-6 tables in total). It's only a 10 minute walk from the accommodation and really is worth a visit if you can get a table.

We would definitely recommend the Bower House to anyone thinking of staying in the area - it was the perfect base from which to explore the wonderful surrounding countryside.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, wood burning stove and the tranquility.
Liked least: Nothing - it was all fabulous!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilly1907...
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Brilliant place to stay, peaceful and comfortable, lovely views, lots to do.”
Reviewed 29 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Bower House. It has a lovely feel to it, beautiful views to enjoy through large picture window whilst relaxing by the log burner and it has been thoughtfully and stylishly converted and has a personal feel to it. We found lots to do with walks from the door, great cycling and enjoying this special corner of Cumbria. Freddy, our host was really helpful and the cottage was spotlessly clean, we look forward to returning soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kekelambi...
Livingston, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL COTTAGE, BEAUTIFUL VIEWS, AND FAB LOCATION”
Reviewed 30 January 2013 for a stay in September 2012

We stayed at the Bower House mid week and loved it. It was great waking up to beautiful views in the morning after quiet, restful nights sleep. The cottage was well equipt with most of the things we needed, and we really enjoyed our wee break. The village of Morland is lovely and was in an ideal location for the purpose of our break - to see a stage of the Cycling Tour of Britain. To add to our delight, Team Sky were also visiting a pub in a local village a few miles away which was a great experience. When we had any issues, the owner, Freddy, was always on hand and happy to help out. Such a great guy! The highlights of the cottage were the views and the wood burning stove, which was such a novelty. I had tears having to leave the cottage as I enjoyed my stay so much. The only drawback for me was I have a huge fear of spiders, and being in the country, there was an abundance of them and cobwebs both inside and out which made me very nervous.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wood burning stove
Liked least: Spiders
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location was stunning
Liked least: Having to go home!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing