We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (332)
Filter reviews
332 results
Traveller rating
123
99
60
27
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
123
99
60
27
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub play area car park steak fresh towels cooked breakfast open fire twin room full english breakfast breakfast was excellent stayed one night lovely atmosphere old post office port isaac warm welcome yogurt castle
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 332 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here last Saturday. The room was dirty and smelt damp. The pub needed a good clean. Breakfast was ok considering the cleanliness. Our windows in our room were broken and locked. (No keys). This is a health and safety risk which needed to be addressed immediately. Had we have seen this the night we came we would not have stayed. If a fire had started in the hallway we could not have escaped. Shocking to say the least. We did report to a member of staff who said he would tell maintenance! Judging by the entire building inside and out I doubt very much that it has been sorted. See photos. I put a 1 rating as I could not put a zero!!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jules G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

We stayed in Tintagel and went to this pub during our time here in the evening to eat. The food was good and the menu was varied. This meant we didn't have to double up on our visits. We will be heading back there again.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

We came here last year and it was pretty good, but this time it had so many flaws! Rooms are damp and bathrooms need a good clean, very very noisy at night, music blaring until 2 and people talking and shouting outside on the pub patio still at 3 in the morning, not good when you have a two year old trying to sleep, sick outside on the patio the next day (sane as last year). Used tampons in the car park right next to the playground! Playground literally falling apart, baby swing chain had snapped off. I had been asking for a cappuccino for days always being told that they only do filter coffee, even though the coffee machine was behind the bar, then on our last morning sitting whilst having breakfast, the owner of the hotel or manager was sat having breakfast with her family and she shouted from her table that she wanted a "proper coffee, double expresso" then suddenly the coffee machine started working!!! We were all so disappointed and for the money you pay it really was awful! Definitely not coming back next year

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Adventure612810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

We booked for 2 nights. Room was a good size, clean, comfortable bed. Good facilities. Down side room smelt damp. There was damp on the walls and light fighting,had a musty smell I'm asthmatic so had some problems.
Breakfast ok good choice available.
Cons: bar is for locals and they are very loud, I'm writing this at 23.45 and still very loud. Blinds in the rooms would be better than nets as we could be overlooked by the bar. The door could also do with some privacy screening ,as again overlooked from the bar.
Good location and easy to get around . Beautiful village had a great time

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank kazw66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018

good location, friendly staff well cooked food BUT has issue with decor, cleaning and general lack of an eye for detail.
The place needs a facelift and a general de-clutter. Staff helpful but seem to lack confidence in what they are doing.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank shorttripper893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews