We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay at a lovely hotel”
Review of Hotel Tresanton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Tresanton
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in St Mawes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2017

We stayed at Tresanton for three nights in October 2017. We have been to the hotel before, but not for many years. It was as lovely as we remembered it, as was St Mawes. The hotel almost reflects the village, windy routes with little rooms dotted here and there, which in design acknowledge its location next to the sea.

We had a family suite (room 32), which was slightly away from the main hotel. It had two bedrooms (not large, but large enough) and one bathroom (two would have been nice). It also had a sitting room with a log burner and a well-appointed kitchen. It also had a fantastic terrace, which was large enough to sit out on and had amazing views of the harbour and out towards Falmouth.

We really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is great. It has a relaxed atmosphere with very good service. The sitting room is lovely, but the jewel in the crown has to be the dining room, which is bright and white and looks out to the harbour and sea and has a fantastic terrace where you can eat when the weather is good.

Room Tip: Room 32 - family suite with kitchenette and living room and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Londontripadviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (658)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 658 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2017

Again another hotel on the Bucket List! It is really stunning but you do need to be fit to stay here. A lot of stairs and no lifts!
Still that said it is a gorgeous property with a lovely team dedicated to looking after you. Our bedroom was located on the second floor with a stunning seaview. Very comfortable - definitely fitted out by a lady as everything little detail had been thought about. The public areas were beautiful as well. It is no surprise that many of the guests staying during our visit were repeat customers.

Room Tip: Room 22 - great view but quite a few stairs to negotiate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Our fifth visit to Tresanton and it was as wonderful as ever.

The food is incredible, the views are unrivalled, the beds are big and ridiculously comfortable, the sofas are the perfect level of squishy and homely to fall back into and enjoy a drink.

But...You would expect all of that if you are paying £250-£500 a night in a hotel.

However, for us it’s the little details and the personal touches that make Tresanton so special.

We first visited in 2011 and over the years some things have changed (new manager, some new staff, some new artwork, a big new very colourful light fitting, an extra balcony or two, and a lovely new beach club) but, actually nothing has really changed and that is why it is our favourite place on earth.

The team that have been there since we first visited are still sensational (professional, engaging, thoughtful, knowledgeable and most importantly human)! The new team members are equally talented and crucially, the whole team have personality and are not corporate Hotel robots.

St Mawes is a special place and the recent investment in The Idle Rocks and St Mawes Hotel potentially could have derailed Tresanton. But whilst both of those properties have a number of positive aspects, neither come close in comparison to Tresanton. When it comes to providing authentic, high quality and understated luxury, Tresanton is peerless.

Tresanton is unique and a cut above any other luxury hotel we’ve ever stayed in.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MWCOD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

We keep returning to Tresanton. It is quite simply fabulous. Hoteling (is that a word?) at it's absolute best. Tresanton is a beautiful property, cleverly and expertly styled in that casual luxe way, perfect for its Cornish village setting in the pretty village of St Mawes. They just 'get it right'. We've stayed in lots of the rooms over the years and our latest little hideaway is room 21, tucked away at the end on the second floor of the main house. It's one of Tresanton's smallest rooms yet perfectly formed! The bathrooms have been upgraded and so this room is now shower only which isn't perhaps my preference yet it still worked for us. Being on the end we love that no one is above us and so it is a quiet room. I don't think there is a bad room at Tresanton. Breakfast is gorgeous and on our last morning we sat out on the sunny terrace. Dinner is a real treat with highly skilled cooking. Service is impeccable throughout the hotel. Highly, highly, highly recommend and can't wait to go back... soon I hope.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wwsinging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

We loved our time here. The place is full of charm and character and very comfortable. We had a suite with a terrace and great views; can't speak to all the accommodations. Breakfast was great. Dinner was good, although not exceptional. One fish dish was overdone. Cocktails were good and could be enjoyed on the terrace. Staff was lovely and helpful, and a massage was excellent. The spot is lovely and convenient to town. We would come back here in a minute.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALHMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mawes
0.5 km away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#1 of 5 in St Mawes
419 reviews
0.3 km away
The St Mawes Hotel
The St Mawes Hotel
#3 of 5 in St Mawes
200 reviews
11.4 km away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
216 reviews
5.4 km away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rosevine
503 reviews
0.4 km away
The Ship and Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tresanton? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tresanton

Address: 27 Lower Castle Road, St Mawes TR2 5DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Roseland Peninsula > St Mawes
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in St Mawes
Price Range: ₹ 16,121 - ₹ 31,812 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tresanton 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Tresanton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tresanton Hotel St Mawes
Hotel Tresanton St Mawes, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing