We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (737)
Filter reviews
737 results
Traveller rating
529
119
52
26
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
529
119
52
26
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach club private terrace junior suite alex polizzi luxury hotel sitting room attention to detail afternoon tea car park beautiful hotel hotel inspector the main house john dory sea view scones relaxed atmosphere roaring log fire
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 737 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Our fifth visit to Tresanton and it was as wonderful as ever.

The food is incredible, the views are unrivalled, the beds are big and ridiculously comfortable, the sofas are the perfect level of squishy and homely to fall back into and enjoy a drink.

But...You would expect all of that if you are paying £250-£500 a night in a hotel.

However, for us it’s the little details and the personal touches that make Tresanton so special.

We first visited in 2011 and over the years some things have changed (new manager, some new staff, some new artwork, a big new very colourful light fitting, an extra balcony or two, and a lovely new beach club) but, actually nothing has really changed and that is why it is our favourite place on earth.

The team that have been there since we first visited are still sensational (professional, engaging, thoughtful, knowledgeable and most importantly human)! The new team members are equally talented and crucially, the whole team have personality and are not corporate Hotel robots.

St Mawes is a special place and the recent investment in The Idle Rocks and St Mawes Hotel potentially could have derailed Tresanton. But whilst both of those properties have a number of positive aspects, neither come close in comparison to Tresanton. When it comes to providing authentic, high quality and understated luxury, Tresanton is peerless.

Tresanton is unique and a cut above any other luxury hotel we’ve ever stayed in.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MWCOD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

We keep returning to Tresanton. It is quite simply fabulous. Hoteling (is that a word?) at it's absolute best. Tresanton is a beautiful property, cleverly and expertly styled in that casual luxe way, perfect for its Cornish village setting in the pretty village of St Mawes. They just 'get it right'. We've stayed in lots of the rooms over the years and our latest little hideaway is room 21, tucked away at the end on the second floor of the main house. It's one of Tresanton's smallest rooms yet perfectly formed! The bathrooms have been upgraded and so this room is now shower only which isn't perhaps my preference yet it still worked for us. Being on the end we love that no one is above us and so it is a quiet room. I don't think there is a bad room at Tresanton. Breakfast is gorgeous and on our last morning we sat out on the sunny terrace. Dinner is a real treat with highly skilled cooking. Service is impeccable throughout the hotel. Highly, highly, highly recommend and can't wait to go back... soon I hope.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wwsinging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

We loved our time here. The place is full of charm and character and very comfortable. We had a suite with a terrace and great views; can't speak to all the accommodations. Breakfast was great. Dinner was good, although not exceptional. One fish dish was overdone. Cocktails were good and could be enjoyed on the terrace. Staff was lovely and helpful, and a massage was excellent. The spot is lovely and convenient to town. We would come back here in a minute.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Hotel Tresanton is located in the small seaside village of St Mawes, which in itself is reason enough to journey this small corner of Cornwall. Quaint does not even start to describe it. The hotel has prime real estate right on the sea, with many rooms having views out onto the harbor. We had a small room with outdoor terrace, and enjoyed access to hotel's own beach club. The staff were easily accessible for whatever we needed, including arranging parking for our large SUV. And breakfast each morning overlooking the harbor was more than plentiful, with something to cater to all tastes.
Tip: When arriving, check with the hotel if they have parking available in their own lot before looking for your own spot. They would be happy to accommodate if they can. Otherwise, there is a very reasonably priced public lot available just down the road.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

Came here for my Mum’s birthday with my family. Excellent, friendly attentive staff and an excellent meal of tuna tartare (pictured), Cornish lamb and Black Forest gateau (pictured). The wine was excellent, as were the Artisan, if pricey, G&T’s at the beginning. They looked after my two young nieces really well with nothing being too much trouble. Highly recommended for any really special occasion.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews