We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
142
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
142
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self catering accommodation lovely hosts a lovely cream tea cooked breakfast great shower fresh fruit mark barbara cottage dairy uk fi labrador
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2017

Oh WOW, this place is amazing. Its a little off the beaten track but don't let this put you off.

We arrived and were met by two really lovely hosts who made us feel really welcome. A lovely cream tea and the most fantastic room and lovely comfy bed. The bathroom was fantastic with a great shower. Even had our own sitting room where breakfast was served. The breakfast itself was perfect, fresh fruit each day, toast and a cooked breakfast with a daily special. Nothing was too much trouble and my request for a bacon sandwich was simply met with a smile and "no problem". There were loads of maps and booklets of things to do locally and plenty of advice of places to eat each evening.

This was the VERY BEST B&B we have ever stopped in don't think twice book it today.

Although we didn't stop in the self catering accommodation we did get chance to view it. Clean tidy, very well cared.

The owner had lovely labrador dog who is very keen to play ball! We were told minute one or day one fi we didn't like dogs they would ensure she was kept out of the way ... but you'll not be able to resist her.

I cannot recommend this accommodation highly enough

Room Tip: Stop looking elsewhere, book this one. Close to St Mawes and loads of nice places to eat close by
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chrisla9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarknBarb, Owner at Roundhouse Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Thank you so much for your kind review, so glad you had a lovely time. Lucia the labrador is indeed a hit with most guests, but we always understand if people are wary of or don't like dogs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

We loved Cockle Cottage on our precious visit and confess we were a little sad to have missed he chance to rebook there for our late Feb holiday ... never fear ... the Dairy is lovely! If fact we felt a little disloyal to find ourselves thinking we may just like it slightly more!
A warm welcome from Barbara, Mark and the lovely Lucia, who is so excited to meet new people and share a game of ball, was the start to a great week in the Roseland. Windy and wild, at times, but amazing walks and sunshine too!
The Dairy has everything you need , well equipped kitchen, cosy lounge, super bathroom, with great shower cubicle and bath. Above all though, for us, huge comfy bed, where we slept soundly, after our lovely long coastal walks, Thee are some great walks on the doorstep too ! The courtyard is sheltered and we managed to sit outside a coup,e of times.
We look forward to returning soon.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ALF64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarknBarb, Owner at Roundhouse Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

So glad you had a lovely stay and that February weather was reasonably kind to you for the week. We have ordered another SuperKing Hypnos bed for Cockle too so soon that will be just as comfy - which cottage will you choose next time?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

My wife and I wanted a Xmas detox and this was the perfect place to do so!
There was a generous spread laid out for us (box of celebrations, bottle of wine, scones, Xmas crackers etc).
We'll Definitely come back!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

This is truly a perfect holiday home to stay! If it's unspoilt location and accommodation you're after and where every little detail is catered for, you'll never go wrong with Roundhouse Barn! Mark & Barbara Sadler have nailed self catering perfection just for you! 3 fabulous cottages - The Dairy, Cockle and The Carthouse. My most recent stay was in the latter. Modern decor throughout but sympathetic to the traditional build. Comfortable King Size bed and fully equipped kitchen. You'll enjoy complete privacy throughout your stay, but if anything did go wrong you're never more than a few steps away from your hosts and help! Loads of brilliant places to visit are all within good driving distances; Trelissick Garden, Lost Gardens Of Heligan, St Ives, Mevagissey, Falmouth and Truro just to name a few! You're also in the beautiful unspoilt Roseland - so plenty of opportunity to take a good walk inland and along the fabulous coastline! I love this place and can confidently endorse a visit to anyone else checking this review!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
2  Thank Peter157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016

We stayed in Cockle Cottage for a week in mid September and used it as a base for coastal walking. The cottage was spotless, charming, comfortable and a very high spec, (particularly the bathroom which far exceeded expectations). There are lovely countryside views along one side of the cottage and we also enjoyed the outside space, a private patio. We found the informative tourist information provided extremely useful and the welcome pack was a nice touch.
Roundhouse Barns is situated in beautiful countryside. Poldark, Series 3 was being filmed down the road during our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank HRH001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews