We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
113
9
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
113
9
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great hosts on arrival five minute walk useful tips small tv full english breakfast great place to stay porthminster beach yogurt twin room home away from home ives harbour on site parking our night stay top floor fantastic breakfast b and b
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2015

Angela and Barry were the perfect hosts. The bedroom was more like a boutique hotel, and beautifully kept. Breakfast was not only delicious but was an event in itself as Angela brings a birthday cupcake, card and balloon for guests celebrating their birthday. Barry's beautiful photography of the area also decorates the house. Outstanding hosts and outstanding good value.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ellendoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2015 via mobile

Just spent a long bank holiday here and had a great time. Angela and Barrie are the perfect hosts- welcoming and friendly. Rooms are modern, exceptionally clean and tastefully decorated. Breakfast is great with plenty of choice. Nothing is too much trouble and Angela is keen to ensure you know what's out and about. Perfectly situated a few minutes walk away from the centre of town. Would definitely recommend it and hope to return often.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ktaylor5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2015

We booked to stay 3 nights at the Rivendell on a recommendation from a colleague. We were very impressed by the hospitality and the lovely warm welcome we had after a very long drive. On arrival we were greeted by Angela (who we quickly fell in love with) who after showing us to our room (with an amazing sea view) offered us a coffee/tea and some homemade cakes and goodies, what more could you want! Angela took the time to sit with us and explain places to see in the area that were well known and also those little hidden gems (which in all fairness she didn't have to do). Room was very clean, could not fault it. As for the breakfast (cooked by Barrie)......NOM NOM! such a nice variety of local goods all served perfectly cooked and presented. Each morning also consisted of an update from the previous day where other guests suggested places to go and things to do. Needless to say a good start that ended with an even better finish. Its safe to say we had the Rivendell blues when we left.......and we cant wait to go back :)! A big must for all! Thank you again Angela and Barrie for making our trip so special.

Room Tip: For very good sea views pick room 5!
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank emmaashley2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2015

We've just returned from a lovely weekend in St Ives & doubt we could have found a better place to stay! Angela is so friendly, made us feel totally welcome & upgraded us to a sea view room on arrival as they were quiet, a gesture we really appreciated as the room was beautiful. The guest house is light, airy & spotless, with a fab cooked breakfast provided. The location is also excellent, with just a short walk into the town. We would definitely recommend staying here - it's a real gem!

Room Tip: Room 6 is amazing!
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pixie_theo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2015 via mobile

Rivendell is the best in Cornwall to stay, fantastic couple who own it, so friendly, clean, fantastic breakfasts, so convenient for the shops, quaint cafes and beach. A must for anyone wanting a great holiday. We loved it there.

  • Stayed: February 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews