We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful weekend retreat.”
other travellers have booked this property
Kittiwake Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kittiwake Cottage
Kittiwake Cottage in the sun Front Bedroom - made up as twin or super king bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Kittiwake Cottage
Kittiwake Cottage in the sun
Front Bedroom - made up as twin or super king bed
Front living room with views of the harbour
Dining room with courtyard garden
Kitchen, new grey tiles, tap, wooden floor and wooden worktop for spring 2018
Breakfast in the courtyard garden
Hallway
Bathroom - family
King bedroom with ensuite bathroom
Door to the ensuite in king bedroom
King bedroom on the first floor
Front Bedroom - wake up to sea and harbour views
Stairs to the lookout bedroom on top floor
The Lookout twin bedroom - double aspect views over St Ives
The Lookout - twin beds
New wood burning stove - perfect with a glass of wine!
Heated outdoor shower - perfect to wash off the sand after surfing!
the amazing view taken from the Lookout room
Summer in St Ives
Porthgwidden Beach - a little secret beach!
St Ives Harbour beach- a working fishing harbour and always a sunny spot for a coffee
Porthmeor Beach - for surfing and for rock pools
Portminster Beach - big, sandy, family friendly, gentle waves
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
St Ives, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
dawnthorp...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful weekend retreat.”
Reviewed 4 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We travelled to st Ives for a family wedding.
The cottage is in a fabulous location and only a few minutes walk from shops and the harbour area.
The beds have to be one of the comfiest I've had the pleasure to sleep in.
It offers every utensil needed for a home from home holiday.
Beautiful log fire too which we used on a cold evening.
The views from the top floor room were amazing and the children loved it.
Would definitely book again.
Thankyou so much for a wonderful memorable stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2016
Thank you dawn for writing us a lovely review, come and stay again one day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weebaldy
South Glous
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tastefully decorated , convenient location for local amenities.”
Reviewed 17 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We have never been to St Ives before so our visit to Kittiwake Cottage brought lots of new experiences. There were 4 of us and 2 small dogs so there was plenty of room ' in fact, leaving one bedroom spare'! That said, the accommodation is fairly compact but decoration and furniture is of a high standard. Chic and classy with very much a nautical theme,totally in keeping with St Ives.
Conveniently located on the edge of the town centre, everything is in walking distance. There are fantastic restaurants and bars in the town and on the beach. Porthminster cafe ( don't be fooled by preconceptions of the word cafe) is exceptional and worth the visit on its own!
There are some minor negatives, mostly traffic related. The cottage is on a virtually blind corner with no footpath and we literally had to wait and listen for any traffic coming before stepping out from the front gate. In the town it feels like 'pedestrian v traffic ' in most of the narrow streets, many of which again don't have pavements. Last negative is probably the most important, finding it! If you just put the postcode in to your sat nav, it will take you to the leisure centre car park! My advice would be to just put in 'Park Avenue', use the car park there and walk down Tregenna Terrace to the cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central location
Liked least: Road with no pavement
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatWF
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“A cosy comfy cottage!”
Reviewed 14 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This was our second stay and we again had a wonderful time in this lovely cottage. Traffic problems apart, St Ives is a lovely place to visit and it was great to come 'home' to a wonderful log fire. We are already talking about when we can come again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TwiggyBlo...
Exeter
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We all loved Kittiwake Cottage from the second we walked in.”
Reviewed 20 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Kittiwake cottage has been lovingly refurbished with great attention to detail. The welcome hamper with proseco, biscuits, coffee and milk was greatly appreciated. A lot of thought has been put into making sure the guest has everything they need. We loved the comfy beds with soft white line, the very efficient recently installed wood burner with all the the wood provided and state of the art central heating system, all made for a very cosy stay. The kids loved the top room with nautical theme and great sea views. Charlotte was very helpful and happy to share her decorating tips and the great paint colours she used. It is definatly the loveliest cottage we have stayed in in St Ives and would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2016
Thank you Vicki for your great comments - really nice to know you all had a lovely time in St ives. Pleased to hear you enjoyed the new wood burner it has been a long time coming!! Good luck with your holiday lets too and we would love to welcome you all back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BimboDarl...
Surrey/Hants border
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed 30 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My parents booked the cottage. They were sure that we'd (myself and the boyfriend!) love it and they were right! We were a little perturbed initially by the single beds (parents took a double room each and left us with the twin) but the views and just being snuggled up listening to the rain on the roof made up for it! We were really lucky to have mild weather which really made our trip. The house was really well equipped, especially the kitchen. Cooking in it was a real pleasure. The one thing that would have been great was a little hook in the room somewhere to hang my dressing gown, but otherwise everything was perfect. The cottage was dog friendly and felt very cosy. There was a nice bottle of bubbly waiting to welcome us and a very useful folder containing useful information and tips. The only issue we had was with all the traffic whizzing around St Ives and past the cottage. It's a real shame the the town itself isn't pedestrianised. It wouldn't put us off returning though, sadly the town we live in has similar problems, so we are used to dodging cars!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a lovely review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay! We will put some hooks up in the top room as its good to know what our guests need! Double glazing is on the list for one day too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing