We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Headland House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Headland House
Ranked #8 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We found Headland House via Mr & Mrs Smith which has always recommended great boutique hotels, and this is one of the best!!! We stayed for seven very cosy and relaxing nights, owners Mark and Fenella are perfect hosts, friendly, chatty (but not intrusive) and welcoming, just what you want from a boutique hotel. The Hotel is very calm and decorated in a traditional heritage style with warm greys and subtle wallpaper. the rooms are designed to a very high spec with lovely soft beds, a roll top bath and TV and DVD player for sleepy days in bed. The breakfast was amazing, Mark takes charge of the breakfast and a full English (amongst other options) is offered with great locally produced ingredients which is always nice to see. In the afternoon's Fenella lays out a complimentary home made cake to enjoy - her carrot and chocolate cakes are just brilliant with a cup of coffee. The Hotel also has a honesty bar in the evening and has a great library of DVD's to borrow for your room. Fenalla and Mark have a great list of restaurant recommendations, each one we tried was amazing, St Ives has a great standard of food on offer, even fish and chips on the harbor is a must. I would definitely recommend Headland House and before we left we couldn't resist booking in for the following Easter its that nice!!!!
It gets booked up fast so get in there quick!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_and_Laragh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    21
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
283
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Great welcome in a relaxed setting. Really enjoyed our time here. The breakfasts were awesome, absolutely incredible. Most of all Fenella was incredibly welcoming and accomodating; a fantastic host. Absolutely great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanuq2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2011

On a recommendation from friends we stayed at Headland House in Carbis Bay when we recently visited Cornwall for a few days.
On our arrival we were greeted very warmly by the owner Mark & being pensioners he carried all our luggage up to our first floor bedroom.The bedroom with en-suite shower room was exceedingly clean, tastily decorated & with a spectacular view over Carbis Bay.We found the bed extremely comfortable & so experienced three very quiet, peaceful,relaxing nights sleep.
At breakfast the first morning we were greeted by Fenella ,Marks wife,whom we found as equally charming as her husband.She served us with our plentiful,hearty 'full monty' breakfast whilst at the same time being the local tourist guide advising us of places of interest to visit & local restaurants to eat including St Ives which can be easily accessed by the train which is only about a three minute walk from the hotel.
An added & welcome bonus to our stay was the honesty bar in the lounge & 'fridge' in our room. We could drink wine & mingle with the other guests in the lounge [refraining from indulging in the cake] or sit on our bed drinking chilled champagne admiring the lights of St Ives.
In our opinion this is an idealistic,well priced B & B that needs to be visited for its charm,hospitality & location.
Thank you Fenella & Mark for a wonderful stay & we will see you again next year.
Rio & Edward.

Room Tip: Front rooms overlook the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edward c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wotton-under-Edge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2011

This was our first stay at Headland House and it certainly won't be our last! After a long drive we were met by Mark who was warm, friendly and informative. The house was warm and stylish with a lovely relaxing feel. Our room had a super comfortable bed with far reaching views over the bay. The small touches like a slice of cake on arrival and the honestly bar were really nice as were the delicious breakfasts served with chilled music and a variety of juices and organic yoghurt. A very well priced B&B which we will certainly be recommending to our friends. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crumblethecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milton keynes
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Headland house is FANTASTIC! We had an amazing time here and wanted to stay longer. Fenella and Mark are perfect hosts, and the other guests a pleasure, its amazing what you learn over chocolate cake!
Fenella will give you a list of places to eat, we went twice to Alfresco, the food was amazing and they really made a fuss of us-thank you!
The train runs from Carbis Bay into St Ives, so park up the car and walk or take the train.
Rooms are fab and very well done, breakfast, well what can i say apart from AMAZING, The first day i ate far too much, on reflection should have stuck with my full english instead of one of everything!
Will definately go back, was a perfect get away for our wedding anniversary.

Room Tip: sea view rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiltonKeynesKez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.5 km away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.4 km away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
1.5 km away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.7 km away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#6 of 21 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.8 km away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headland House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headland House

Property: Headland House
Address: Headland Road | Carbis Bay, St Ives TR26 2NS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,500 - ₹ 14,147
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Headland House Hotel St Ives
Headland House St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing