We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very nice place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Avoca Cottage

Situated above Porthmeor Beach and the Tate Gallery with views of the Island
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Situated above Porthmeor Beach and the Tate Gallery with views of the Island
New upstairs lounge in 2015 Walking distance to the Beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
34 reviews
Situated above Porthmeor Beach and the Tate Gallery with views of the Island
New upstairs lounge in 2015
Walking distance to the Beach
New kitchen diner in 2015
Main bedroom with garden view
room for 3 kids (with the z bed, not shown)
En-suite bedroom
two bathrooms
Ample space to seat 6 for dinner.
well-appointed kitchen
All electrical appliances
Single Bedroom (off upstairs lounge)
A spectacular balcony view for spring 2015
Feel on top of the world in our upstairs lounge with panoramic views of the ocean
Short walk to the Tate Modern
Great shopping and arts and crafts.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
St Ives, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
melandpet...
Salford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay”
Reviewed 25 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Lots and lots of reasons to stay at this property. It has great views, car parking and is very large. We really enjoyed our stay. It is located up a steep hill but I just drove down the hill and then picked up my partner at the bottom. Overall one of the better places we have stayed in

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, space and car parking
Liked least: A bit of a steep hill
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roarsm
1 review
“As the others say, truly a home from home with spectacular views an incredible bonus”
Reviewed 28 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

It has all you could want for a seaside escape, and the incredible train journey down from London worth the trip alone

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maz0606
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic holiday in a spacious, clean and well equipped cottage”
Reviewed 19 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a fabulous and memorable holiday in a clean, spacious and well equipped cottage! All rooms were a good size, having two bathrooms was a bonus with an abundance of hot water. We enjoyed the books and the games. The garden was large and very well maintained. The upstairs additional lounge with its fantastic sea views, and velux balcony was a great place to relax. The baby and kids equipment (cot and cot bedding, feeding chair, bed guard, lovely little wicker chairs for the kids and the list goes on... ) demonstrated the owners clearly have high regard for their guests and in making their visitors' stay as comfortable as possible.

The accommodation itself is very well located, approximately 10 mins walk downhill to the sea front, so very close to the beach. For tired legs and small children, there is a bus service that runs from the sea front and will drop you outside the bungalow private road.

St Ives is a beautiful place with gorgeous, clean sandy beaches. The local people are very friendly and helpful. Lots to see and visit, many beaches close by. Only wish it was closer to London, so we could visit more often!

All in all, we had a really fun and memorable holiday in a lovely cottage.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharons29...
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 25 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely cottage, three good sized bedrooms a family bathroom and an en suite, the new up stairs lounge is wonderful, with a lovely view and plenty of room for the six of us, we spent most of our time up there. Do remember to take the owners directions as is it a little hard to find without them ( we know, I forgot). I would say this was ideal for families with a great garden and within walking distance of the beach, and we would definitely stay again. If you are looking for a five star hotel this is not it, if you are looking for great value for money, an accommodating owner and home comforts this is it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yoonnee Y
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great trip”
Reviewed 18 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Its very clean and fully equipment for kitchen, baby and children. very good location too just a walking distance to the town and sightseeing area. Will come back again.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;