We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (705)
Filter reviews
705 results
Traveller rating
404
180
83
17
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
404
180
83
17
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool bar caravan park sea view porthmeor beach main building lovely hotel stayed for nights lovely room leisure centre short break steep walk hotel is situated amazing views town centre tate gallery out of season night break
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 705 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2018

We just got back from a two night stay at The Garrack and were very impressed with the room we were given. We were pleasantly surprised to be given a room with a sea view, with absolutely beautiful views. We were able to use the pool during our stay and after a quick word with the bar lady she kindly put the sauna on which was wonderful. We didn't have breakfast included, but a 15 min walk down hill was a Wetherspoons pub, perfect if you are on a budget. We will definitely be back!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveTravel458918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

We brought our elderly mother, who is in a wheelchair for a 4-day 3-night break and from start to finish the staff were delightfully efficient and friendly. The views over the sea and down to Porthminster are amazing, which can be enjoyed from the terrace bar all year round. The lounge is cosy with a lovely roaring fire and deep couches. Now the food, which was amongst the best we’ve ever had. We had steak beautifully cooked , fresh fish of different types, pork and chicken all accompanied by beautiful sauces and perfect combination of vegetables. I thoroughly recommend this hotel and guarantee once you have stayed, you will want to return as we do.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ruttle19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018 via mobile

It’s our fourth visit to this hotel & the staff are always lovely and the scenery stunning as well as the wonderful food to enjoy. sadly however planning has been put in place to change the hotel into retirement accommodation & as such there are areas which are looking a little tired if you look close enough. It is very sad that the this wonderful location will no longer be a hotel, a home from Home. We will miss it ☹️

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank woodsie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at The Garrack Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Thank you for reviewing The Garrack. I can assure you, the Hotel will be operating for a little while yet and i hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018

My wife and I had an upstairs room on the first floor. It was quite a large area and looked back over the lane. The bed was very comfortable but the bathroom was a bit dated and in need of a refresh. The shower was tempremental. This property is in need of maintenance. On check in we asked about booking for the restaurant and were told it was part closed for a private function. It was implied we should have booked earlier and not in a very friendly manner. Cases had to be carried by us up the stairs with no offer of assistance. There was good carparking at the rear of the hotel. We eventually ate dinner at the leisure centre and this was pretty basic but ok. Breakfast the next morning was very good with a wide enough range to satisfy most people. The view from the leisure centre down over the town and bay was magnificent. Its about a ten-fifteen minute walk into St Ives all downhill. You can catch a public bus back to the lane entrance.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Seagullz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

The Garrack almost has it all: delicious food, friendly staff, great views, great facilities. But the rooms are a bit characterless which takes it just out of five stars. I would definitely recommend it though.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Richardb222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at The Garrack Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Thank you for your review of The Garrack. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews