We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb situation”
Review of Pedn Olva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pedn Olva Hotel
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Fantastic views of Porthminster beach from our room, although it was a real inconvenience having to squeeze past the end of the bed whilst crossing the room - it was rather small but OK for a weekend. Great leaving the glass door tilted open to hear the waves, and the bed was supremely comfortable - walls a little thin. A friendly welcome and good service throughout, kedgeree and porridge for breakfast were first class on both mornings. Bar meals were rather uneventful, not unpleasant, but somewhat lacking in flavour and presentation so we did not dine in the restaurant. If you can secure a good deal then the experience should be a good one.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobbuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,044)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

893 - 897 of 1,044 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

Just back from a short stay at the Pedn Olva and felt that we had to write a review.
As regular visitors to St Ives we wanted to find a place to spend our last child free weekend for sometime (7weeks and counting to our newest arrival) From our first scouting visit to the hotel, where the staff took great pains to show us different rooms that were available, to making our booking and during our visit, all the staff that we encountered were happy, polite and could not be more accomodating. The room we chose could not have a better view which encompassed the whole of St Ives bay.

The interior spaces of the hotel were clean & smart and the views from nearly every window were spectacular.

The best test of any place is the 'would we visit again?' and in this case it would be yes, though I do think that headline prices for the rooms are a little high (we had winter special deal) when the waves are crashing into the rocks under your window and whole bay lit by sunshine there a few places I would rather be.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

This hotel is a bit special, so if you are in the West Country and have the chance to stay go for it. We have stayed at the Pedn Olva several times over the last few years, tried other St Ives hotels, but always come back, this speaks for itself. Spotlessly clean rooms, nearly all sea facing, some with balconies. Delicious breafast, friendly staff. Go sleep with the sound of waves gently lapping below and the lights of St Ives twinkling across the harbour.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cornishlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

In the evening, when we arrived, we could just enjoy a discrete dinner in the hotel restaurant and the warm atmosphere of the lounge. We got a room with balcony, quite small but very well furnished. The bed was like a soft hug overnight. A big window separated us from the ocean, it was late so no landscape to admire, just darkness outside.

But at the first lights of the day a spectacular view wake us up and we felt like being in the right place to live a unique morning.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Just returned from the Pedn Olva and I must say I was very impressed! Managed to get an amazing deal on Laterooms at the end of last year for room only at under £50 for the night so decided to give it a go. On check-in we were told we had been given a comp upgrade (being a Thursday straight after Christmas I suppose they were quiet). What an upgrade it was - a spacious room with big windows right over the rocks and the sea - couldnt believe how close it was! We ended up sitting in the room for 2 hours with a drink just admiring the view! Excellent room facilities for a 3 star hotel, staff frienfly, and the bar warm and inviting with its modern open fire. Excellent location and only a couple of minutes from the main street. Only downside is that the walls are very thin, so we were awake from 6.30am as the room next door was a family with small children, but it is an old building so can understand the problem. Overall really liked it and will definately look to go back again soon.

Room Tip: Try room 16 - Wheal Dream - no balcony but spacious room, with big windows in 2 directions - so clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJB_383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 km away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.6 km away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.7 km away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
319 reviews
1.1 km away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#8 of 21 in St Ives
646 reviews
0.4 km away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#7 of 21 in St Ives
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pedn Olva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedn Olva Hotel

Address: The Warren, St Ives TR26 2EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#4 Family Hotel in St Ives
#6 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: ₹ 10,736 - ₹ 19,668 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pedn Olva Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pedn Olva, with the sea only thirty feet below and flanked by golden sands, is founded on blue-black granite rocks on the southern shores of St. Ives Harbour and Bay. Contemporary, romantic and breathtaking are but a few ways to describe the Pedn Olva, with its 30 distinctive bedrooms, restaurant, bar, terraces and outdoor heated swimming pool that make it an ideal stay for a getaway break, special meal or relaxing lunch. The plethora of windows facing the sea allows our guests to be as close as you can get to floating on the sea without leaving dry land. A safe haven for watching winter storms in front of a granite open fire, or seeing dolphins and seals playing in the bay from our sun drenched terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Pedn Olva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedn Olva St Ives
Pedn Olva Hotel St Ives, Cornwall
Hotel Pedn Olva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing