We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful cottage in a fabulous location”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
St Ives, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
chrisali3...
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A wonderful cottage in a fabulous location”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Oh my word! We were incredibly lucky to find this cottage available for the week that we wanted and what a true delight it turned out to be. Location - right in the heart of St Ives just a 2 minute walk to the harbour and the beautiful Porthmeor Beach. Just around the corner is Norway Stores, a convenience store where you can buy your essentials but the major supermarkets will also deliver to your door. The cottage itself is spread over 3 floors and is beautifully furnished. There are 3 bedrooms and a bathroom on the top floor, a lounge and an area that we used as a boot room on the middle floor and a large kitchen diner on the bottom floor. The lounge contained many board games, books and toys for children of all ages eg a car mat which was a lovely touch. It was nice to know that families were indeed welcome. My favourite place in the whole house was a window seat in the lounge where I would tuck myself away once the children were in bed and watch the world go by. Parking could be a problem but we followed Charles advice and used a website called JustPark and booked a space in a driveway a 15 mins walk away. Whilst we didn't mind the walk and were just relieved that we could park the car anytime we wanted, those with walking difficulties could find that a problem. Communication with Charles was also without fault, a rare luxury! We adored this house and will definitely be returning as soon as we can.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and ambience
Liked least: Just 1 bathroom but we knew that was the case when we booked
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2015
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in our cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayda...
2 reviews
“Great spot.”
Reviewed 31 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Great house, helpful owner, will return to this property.A central location in the old town, convenient for all beaches and amenities. A relaxing holiday in a lovely house which was well equipped and clean.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
64bev
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 18 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Having stayed in St Ives approximately 15-20 times over the last 30 years, this was the first time we stayed in Downalong. We loved it. Such a charming part of the town that we got to explore a little more this year. The cottage was so lovely, and well appointed that I wanted to buy it! I travelled with my husband, our two children aged 21 and 19, and our son's girlfriend aged 20. All of the younger ones love St Ives as much as we do, and are happy to come with us every year. Our favourite place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all of it
Liked least: the stairs down to the kitchen!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Reviewed 10 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cardiff
Reviewed 31 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing