We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Pub with Rooms”
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Lovely Pub with Rooms”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We had a lovely stay at the Queens, with our two young children. We stayed in a family room which was a decent size, clean and nicely decorated. The pub is centrally located so very convenient for all the local beaches, etc. The breakfasts were fantastic, using locally sourced products and you could taste the quality. The family room was located on the top floor which was positive for not hearing the noise from the pub, not so great for lugging the pushchair up loads of stairs - but this was only a minor issue. Just to note, that the main entrance to the pub is on a busy road and you have to go up 2-3 large steps to enter the pub. Again not a major issue, but if a single parent is travelling with young children this might prove tricky. We stayed 3 nights and managed all these things, which were very minor. Overall we had a lovely time, even though the weather was dreadful, and we'd definitely consider staying again, as it was very reasonably priced for St Ives.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivacioussarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    132
    41
    12
    7
See reviews for
63
207
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and found it to be great. The bar area where you aso have breakfast is lovely with plenty of seats and tables and had a great atmosphere. Our room was nice enough but a little cramped. We were facing the main street but not bothered by the executed noise of traffic etc. Very professional friendly staff and great breakfasts.
St Ives is a great place to stay and Queens is very well positioned.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol and mick g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

A great hotel with a really friendly staff and excellent food. I have stayed here twice now and would definitely return. My one criticism would be that the bar/restaurant is VERY cold in the winter. Apart from this, there is a laid back and welcoming atmosphere with fantastic food.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cakestandcrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Arrived in st ives at 8pm with still nowhere booked, found the queen's hotel on laterooms.com and decided to go for it.

From the outside not particuarly attractive, one of those pubs full with drunk men between the ages of 20 and 40: a true sausage fest! Once checked in and past the chavy suspects we went upstairs and the more you go up the better it gets.

Our room was on the top floor and what a room!!! This is the kind of room you expect to get in a 5* guest house and not above a chavy looking pub! En-suite of course and the view from the window was average (on the roof) but just the room itself how briliantly it was decored, how comfortable the bed was, it just shows how the little details make such a big difference!

I'm just going to sum it up this way: if you're going to st.ives don't fork out £80 on a fancy bed and breakfast, settle for this £60/night, excellent location in the town center and the quality of a 5* guest house.

I would definitly recomend it, this is excellent value for money!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max2609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

After a wet and windy walk along the coast path we stayed at the Queens Hotel.

A great location with friendly welcoming staff. We were shown to our room, which we had been told was small when booking, but the photos on the Internet did not do it justice. Plenty big enough for an over night, or two, after all in a place like st Ives a hotel room isn't for sitting in!

A comfortable room ,good shower is all we needed and the hotel delivered

Breakfast was yummy with a good choice but I am always disappointed when the chef decides I want a pinch of pepper on my poached egg! However it was recooked without any fuss.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.9 km away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.6 km away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
0.3 km away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.1 km away
Western Hotel
Western Hotel
#15 of 21 in St Ives
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
2.2 km away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Property: The Queens Hotel
Address: High Street, St Ives TR26 1RR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in St Ives
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#10 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,347 - ₹ 10,834
Hotel Class:2 star — The Queens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queen's Hotel is a late-Georgian, three-story building in the heart of picturesque St Ives. 5 mins from the harbour and beaches, we have ten en-suite bedrooms, which have been redecorated with vintage furniture and Cornish artwork hanging on the freshly painted white walls, plus sparkling new bathrooms with new showers. Downstairs is a relaxed and friendly bar with delicious pub food that was awarded an AA rosette in 2011. Everything is prepared on the premises - the menu is chalked up on the board daily using the finest local, seasonal ingredients Cornwall has to offer. Bread baked daily. Homemade ice-cream. Local beers. Warming fire. Children are very welcome: upstairs a camp bed and a travel cot are available to borrow, all windows have black-out blinds; downstairs there are boardgames + toys in the light and airy bar, baby-changing, and children's portions available. The harbour front and Fore Street are under five minutes walk away. Selected by Alastair Sawdays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing