We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough”
Review of The Slipway B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Slipway B & B
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Port Isaac
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

Nice staff, great breakfast , lovely choice of fresh fruit and pancakes to die for
Will be better when the new windows go in as the frames were so fragile I didn't want to risk opening the window . I do understand there is a full renovation undertaken so will look forward to returning

Stayed: October 2017
1  Thank janesmithmiddlesex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

I can't imagine a better place to stay and enjoy Port Isaac. The lodging is clean and comfortable and all the staff provide outstanding customer service. I highly recommend The Slipway and hope to return again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at The Slipway. The location was directly in front of "the Slipway" so right in the heart of the village! We had booked a twin room that was suppose to be converted to a double by the time we arrived. However this was not the case so we were offered a complimentary upgrade to the top floor attic room which gave us a small lounge with attic window looking over the Slipway & a seperate bedroom with plenty of room & window looking over the village. As with all Pt Isaac buildings we had low beamed ceilings so lots of ducking took place however that added to the charm. Considering The Slipway was built in 1527 the amenities & comfort the hotel offers its guests is very good. Breakfast is included & was excellent. The only downside is you cannot park your car here due to the location of the hotel so we had to leave it in a public carpark that's a good 10-15 minute uphill walk away, & it costs £5.00 for 24 hours. Considering the size & layout of this beautiful little fishing village it's a small price to pay. I would recommend The Slipway.

Room Tip: Top floor attic room, lots more stairs but lots more room too & a good view of the Slipway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Travellife11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

We bought my mum and dad here for a surprise wedding anniversary as they honeymooned in Port Isaac....being in a prime location with lovely views we thought The Slipway would be a lovely hotel to stay in... we weren't disappointed. This is a lovely old and quirky hotel with a lot of character right in the heart of it all. We had rooms 1 and 2 (1 being slightly larger than 2) both had balconies and were well equipped, the beds are comfy and nice hot showers with complimentary shampoo/conditioner and soaps etc and nice fluffy white towels.
I've read other people's comments about rooms sizes and sloping floors...it's a 600 year old building and full of original character so if you're expecting level flooring and a massive suite style bedroom then maybe this hotel isn't for you.... maybe reconsider another destination other than Cornwall... if you can't get on with s sloping bedroom floor then the hilly cobbled streets are sure to cause a problem. The breakfasts are absolutely amazing and could not fault anything, there is a huge variety of cooked foods and the usual cereals and fruit etc. Our evening meals were also 1st class and all the food tasted fresh and was nice and hot... no long waiting times either. I would recommend booking a table for dinner anywhere in Port Isaac as they do get busy.
We found the location perfect for visiting Padstow, Boscastle and Tintagel and even managed to squeeze in the Eden Project too. We found parking very reasonable, as you cannot park around the hotel due to narrow streets there is a car park which is £5 (if I remember rightly) for a 24hr period and a lovely 5 min coastal wall from the car park to the hotel.

Phil and his team were all very friendly and accommodating and nothing was too much trouble.

Keep up the good work Phil and we hope to return next year !

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

we stayed in room 2 for one night which is suffering very badly from damp. The room is very small it and the furnishings had obviously seen better days and the bedroom floor sloped due to the age of the room but the bed legs had not been adjusted accordingly and when in bed it felt like you were sliding down.
the breakfast which is included in the rather expensive price is amazing although it takes ages to be served.
The hotel is up for sale so maybe once someone loves it again it will reflect its surroundings and be amazing.

Room Tip: the rooms on the front have amazing sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank joybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwiphil, Owner at The Slipway B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear Joybabe
The Hotel is not up for sale. not sure where you got that from?

The room you stayed in is indeed very old, however the bed, mattress, carpets and soft furnishings are all less than 6 months old. I have slept in that room and wilst the floor is indeed on a slope, i have not noticed it when in bed.

The prices we charge are average for our village and the entire North Cornwall coast.

Its not damp the room is suffering from but basically some old ( over 400 years) cement has become porous and with recent storms has penetrated into the corner of the building. ( if you had enquired, you would have known that I have a mason started yesterday to start rather large and expensive repair and restoration works to the building).

As for your comment about the building not being loved. I consider that to be rude, ignorant and oafish. Maybe next time you stay somewhere with age and character, you should chat with the owner and get some facts, before jumping onto this keyboard cowboy site!
All aside thank you for your comment on our lovely breakfasts although you should have mentioned you were in a hurry. the chef could have chucked something in the microwave for you and had it served in a jiffy. I dare say it wouldnt have been to our great breakfast standards though.

Regards

Phil
Owner
The Slipway ( not for sale)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Isaac
1.3 km away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
0.7 km away
Port Gaverne Hotel
Port Gaverne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Gaverne
558 reviews
0.2 km away
Old School Hotel
Old School Hotel
#1 of 4 in Port Isaac
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
The Cornish Arms
The Cornish Arms
#1 of 1 in Pendoggett
252 reviews
9.4 km away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
1,560 reviews
7.9 km away
The St Enodoc Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Slipway B & B? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Slipway B & B

Address: Harbour Front, Port Isaac PL29 3RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Port Isaac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Port Isaac
Price Range: ₹ 7,156 - ₹ 13,678 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Slipway B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Slipway is a 7 bedroom Bed & Breakfast. Directly across from the historic fishermans market, stands the slipway. originally built in 1527, the slipway has enjoyed a varied life and was converted to a guest house post WW2. The B&B covers the top 3 floors of the slipway building. Beneath is the Harbourside cafe & Terrace which provides breakfasts and other facilities to the slipway guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The Slipway B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slipway Hotel Port Isaac
The Slipway B & B Port Isaac, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing