We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage, great location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Strawberry Fields

Strawberry Fields is located in the heart of the Polperro & just 2-3 mins walk from the harbour
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Strawberry Fields is located in the heart of the Polperro & just 2-3 mins walk from the harbour
Strwaberr Fields with it's sun drenched front patio/seating area Comfortable lounge with log burner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Strawberry Fields is located in the heart of the Polperro & just 2-3 mins walk from the harbour
Strwaberr Fields with it's sun drenched front patio/seating area
Comfortable lounge with log burner
Fully equipped kitchen
Lovely bedroom with vaulted beamed ceiling
Luxury bathroom with roll top bath and walk in shower
Sun drenched front patio/seating area
sun drenched rear patio/seating areas
sun drenched rear patio/seating area
Strawberry Fields is located in the heart of the Polperro & just 2-3 mins walk from the harbour
Strawberry Fields is located in the heart of the Polperro & just 2-3 mins walk from the harbour
Strawberry Fields is located in the heart of the Polperro & just 2-3 mins walk from the harbour
Strawberry Fields is located in the heart of the Polperro & just 2-3 mins walk from the harbour
Strawberry Fields is located in the heart of the Polperro & just 2-3 mins walk from the harbour
Strawberry Fields is located in the heart of the Polperro & just 2-3 mins walk from the harbour
Strawberry Fields is located in the heart of the Polperro & just 2-3 mins walk from the harbour
Strawberry Fields is located in the heart of the Polperro & just 2-3 mins walk from the harbour
Strawberry Fields is located in the heart of the Polperro & just 2-3 mins walk from the harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Polperro, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MV69
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, great location”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Strawberry fields is a lovely cottage in the centre of Polperro. It has almost everything you could wish for in holiday home. However, if you don't like waking up with the sound of seagulls I suggest you buy some ear plugs. Besides this minor 'problem' the curtains in the bedroom are very light and thin, so if you have troubled sleeping unless it is dark, you will need to bring an eye mask.
As other guests have pointed out: the streets are very narrow and to get to the parking place you can't go around them. So if you are renting a car, don't go for the upgrade!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The terrace
Liked least: The parking space
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2015
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Strawberry Fields and since we take all comments on the cottage very seriously we have already ordered a set of heavier curtains with black out lining's to ensure you rest easier when we hope you return to Strawberry Fields, regarding the roads to the private secure car park I agree they are narrow but I find if you take it easy you will have no problems, I drive a Freelander with so far no scratches!
Thank you for taking the time to send in a review and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic getaway”
Reviewed 22 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Have been to Polperro a couple of times now and this cottage is one of the best. The interior decoration and exterior facilities are far superior to standard holiday cottage fare and the property is well looked after. We intended a romantic getaway and we got it - lovely log fire (augmented with efficient central heating) and comfy sofa, plus an amazingly modern bathroom and shower for such an old building. Yes, as a previous review notes, the toilet is on the middle floor which isn't ideal, but given it's a 200 year old building and the general level of excellent comfort inside this is hardly a big deal.

The cottage is really pretty outside and gets plenty of admiring comments from passers by.

Location wise, it's within easy walking distance of all of Polperro's pubs and restaurants - if you're worried about coming to Polperro out of season, don't - most outlets seem to be open. The cottage is by the road into/out of the village and opposite a small car park where delivery vans stop and the village car park tram terminates...the same previous review notes about the noise and, in high season, there's likely to be a fair amount of activity outside. However, I disagree that this is an issue as, when night falls and day trippers disappear, there is no noise, indeed far less so than cottages by the harbour with lots of seagulls. During the day, you should be out walking the cliff paths!

Whilst the cottage has a reserved car parking space a minute's walk away, those who (a) have a large (especially length wise) car and (b) are of a nervous disposition, may be better off parking in the main village car park, approx 1/2km up the road, as navigating your vehicle around the narrow street to get there can cause premature ageing:-)

Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2015
Thank you very much for your excellent review of our Strawberry Fields cottage, we are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. We endeavour every year to improve the cottage and facilities and this year we have installed Sky TV for your entertainment and a bigger and better Barbecue for your outdoor enjoyment, we always appreciate any comments on how we can improve the facilities and look forward to welcoming you back to Strawberry Fields.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OK-George
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage for two in the heart of Polperro”
Reviewed 4 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We booked a 4 night stay at this cottage which had been recommended by a friend of ours.
The cottage was well equipped with everything you could possibly need, although we didn't do much cooking as you are within easy walking distance to plenty of good pubs and a great restaurant we went to called Couch's which is well worth a visit to see Richard Mc Geown the owner.
Also well worth a visit was The Blue Peter Inn, staff there are very friendly and they do fabulous food.
We have booked again to go to Strawberry Fields in March and we would definitley recommend this lovely cottage.
Don't be put off by the cold weather as they have a great central heating system so it's really cosy and warm when you come back from your coastal walk.
Looking forward to going back already and would definitley recommend this lovely cottage.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2015
We would like to thank you for your Trip Advisor review and extremely
happy you enjoyed your holiday in Polperro at Strawberry Fields, we
always endeavor to make the cottage as comfortable as possible for our
guests and always appreciate the time guests take to make a review.
We look forward to see you again at Strawberry Fields
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendsford
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A perfect get away”
Reviewed 4 November 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

It's taken a while to get around to writing this review, a whole year in fact !!. We arrived on a windy Nov 1st for a quiet and cosy weekend for two . We loved Strawbery Fields. We loved the cosy kitchen, the comfy living room with the wood burner and the ace window seat from which to watch the world go by. The Ship was handy for a Sunday carvery and the harbour and the fireworks were the perfect backdrop to get engaged in front of . If of course they hadnt cancelled the blinkin fireworks!!!. We still got engaged in polperro whilst at Strawbery Fields though as nothing was stopping that !!! :). Polperro and Strawbery fields will always be that special place for us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2014
We would like to thank you for your very nice comments on your stay at Strawberry Fields, we are extremely happy that you enjoyed your Holiday and look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottNort...
northants
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in beautiful polperro”
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We visit polperro about three times a year and have stayed at most b&bs and a few cottages in thrill age. We found this cottage via a cottage letting company and recognised where it was from the pictures as it's very different from the other cottages. I'm guessing the owners are Thai as there is a strong Thai influence inside and outside of the property.

The cottage has been nicely modernised and feels really cosy / homely and very clean. It has everything you need for a couple although there were no large plates which was a bit odd but as we eat out all the time, not really a problem. There is allocated parking just a few minutes walk away although it's a tight fit so leave your range rover at home....

Just one constructive observation for the owners, as it's a very small property, a bit of a de clutter of some of the nick knacks around the property would give it a bit more of a airy feel.

We would definitely book it again and recommend it to some friends who already booked it for the first weekend of December...

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Strawberry Fields as we are always open to comments and suggestions. If you decide to return to our cottage again you will find four large dinner plates located in the plate warming draw located under the oven. If you are unsure about any of the facilities in the cottage our House manager Jan is only too pleased to help and advise. Regarding the tight parking unfortunately the lanes in Polperro were built long before cars were invented so care and is required when driving and parking, especially with larger vehicles like my Freelander.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future and do appreciate your feedback. Best wishes, David and Jing, (British and Chinese)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing