We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Location, location, location...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Slipway

Slipway is located overlooking the historic, picturesque harbour of Polperro
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Slipway is located overlooking the historic, picturesque harbour of Polperro
Slipway is located overlooking the historic, picturesque harbour of Polperro Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Slipway is located overlooking the historic, picturesque harbour of Polperro
Slipway is located overlooking the historic, picturesque harbour of Polperro
Lounge
Lounge
View from the lounge
Kitchen, diner
Kitchen, diner
Kitchen, diner
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
View from the double bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
view from twin Bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
View from the kitchen door of Slipway
View from the kitchen door of Slipway
View from the kitchen door of Slipway
Slipway is located overlooking the historic, picturesque harbour of Polperro
Slipway is located overlooking the historic, picturesque harbour of Polperro
Photos of picturesque Polperro in Cornwall taken within 2-3mins walk of Slipway
Photos of picturesque Polperro in Cornwall taken within 2-3mins walk of Slipway
Photos of picturesque Polperro in Cornwall taken within 1-2 mins walk of Slipway
Photos of picturesque Polperro in Cornwall taken within 3-4 mins walk of Slipway
Photos of picturesque Polperro in Cornwall taken within 1-2 mins walk of Slipway
Polperro firework display each November (weather dependant)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Polperro, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
310barry
Peterborough, New Hampshire
2 reviews
“Location, location, location...”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Probably the best location in Polperro, right on the harbor. The private parking was nearby too. This property is well maintained, quiet, and a pure delight. We used it as a base going out every day to explore Cornwall, but couldn't wait to return each evening.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sleepyjan...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just Fabulous!”
Reviewed 18 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

In a fantastic location, this cosy cottage couldn't be any closer to the harbour without getting your feet wet! Always something to see from the windows and perfect for a cosy curl up by the opne fire to watch the boats bobbing on a chilly day.
The cottage is comfortably furnished with a well equipped kitchen and a bath as well as a shower, for those long post-clifftop-walk soaks,is a real bonus in Polperro. The upstairs WC is also plus as the spiral stairs are a little steep for night time forays, but the overall ambience of this cottage is simply magical. The parking space being so cloase in The Ship Inn made a nice change from the usual hike in fromthe top car park too. I didn't want to leave and can't wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Views and Open Fire.
Liked least: Pound coin meter for electric - very 1970s!
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanadianN...
Natal, Brazil
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderous location”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Polperro is a gift that keeps on giving each day you are there. The rental property is right on a set of stairs going down to the water (or mud if it's low tide). The best thing about Polperro is the people, the locals are wonderful.

While the location is quite wondrous, the managing of the property isn't as much.

1) We arrived late on Saturday, when all the shops were closed, and they neglected to tell us we would have to deposit 1 pound coins into an electrical box for electricity. Thankfully we had a few at hand, otherwise we would have had a very cold night.
2) To complicate matters more, there is only one ATM in the post office which was closed when we arrived and closed on Sunday. Most places in town don't accept cards either! Since we didn't have any cash, we were out of luck. Thanks to the little restaurant, which name eludes me, beside the bridge that offered to feed us and we could pay the next day. Faith in humanity restored.
3) When we first arrived, it was dark and we couldn't turn on the electricity, but I was very thirstry. I took a glass, filled it will tap water, and took a swallow. Something was in the water, so I spat it out and got my mobile flashlight out, and it was a nasty looking bug that must have been caught up in the pipes prior.
4) The lower room smelled really badly of mold and took a day to air out with the windows wide open. We have a 6 month old daughter who got quite sick (before we opened the windows) because of the mold. Her nostrils closed up so she had a hard time breathing, and coughed a lot. We moved her upstairs and the next day she was fine, but it was a concern.
5) We've been renting cottages for weekly terms quite a bit, and it was very odd that we never met the owner or manager of the property. We did receive a phone number, but it was very unpersonalized service. Not sure if this is a good thing or bad, just different.
6) Cars can't drive up to the accommodation because the roads are so small, so we had to park a ways away and haul up all our luggage through town. To top it off, someone had parked in the parking spot intended for the accommodation, so we had to wait for the jerk to come back and move his car from the reserved spot. Not the fault of the place, but it was annoying upon first arrival.

Overall it was a positive experience, and the location is absolutely superb. You can look out the windows to see all the amazing boats in the harbor. But I would recommend the owners

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views of the bay from the windows
Liked least: Coin operated electricity and moldy smelling room.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2014 for a stay in January 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Leaving!!!!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing