We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice Cottage,nightmare parking”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Little Laney

Little Laney is located in the heart of the picturesque Polperro, Just 100 meters from the harbour
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Little Laney is located in the heart of the picturesque Polperro, Just 100 meters from the harbour
Lovely open plan living area with real fire Lovely open plan living area with real fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Little Laney is located in the heart of the picturesque Polperro, Just 100 meters from the harbour
Lovely open plan living area with real fire
Lovely open plan living area with real fire
Lovely open plan living area with real fire
Kitchen/diner
Master double bedroom with en-suite bathroom
Master double bedroom with en-suite bathroom
En-suite bathroom for the master double bedroom
Double bedroom on second floor
Double bedroom on second floor
Twin bedroom on second floor
Shower room and toilet on the first floor
Photos of picturesque Polperro in Cornwall taken within 1-2 mins walk of Little Laney
Photos of picturesque Polperro in Cornwall taken within 1-2 mins walk of Little Laney
Photos of picturesque Polperro in Cornwall taken within 1-2 mins walk of Little Laney
Photos of picturesque Polperro in Cornwall taken within 1-2 mins walk of Little Laney
Photos of picturesque Polperro in Cornwall taken within 1-2 mins walk of Little Laney
Photos of picturesque Polperro in Cornwall taken within 2-3 mins walk of Little Laney
Photos of picturesque Polperro in Cornwall taken within 4-5 mins walk of Little Laney
Photos of picturesque Polperro in Cornwall taken within 4-5 mins walk of Little Laney
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Polperro, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DMHMDT
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 22 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

I hate to leave bad reviews but I feel that our experience should be noted. When we arrived at the cottage it smelled damp - we did appreciate that we were minutes from the sea however this does not excuse mould on the walls. When we first contacted the house manager (the cleaner?) we were told that someone would come and wash the walls and that it was just condensation. It took some persuading to get Giles from Holiday Lettings to come and look and acknowledge our complaint properly. This mould did not grow over night and a cottage like this, which will obviously be prone to damp problems, must be properly looked after. We had our then 15 month old with us and this could have seriously affected her health - luckily it did not. But I would not recommend people with respiratory problems to stay here. We were given another bottle of wine from a friend or brother (still not sure!) as a way of an apology but surely this sort of thing is against some sort of health and safety regulations? In my view the cottage was not fit for purpose and we should not have to spend the first 2 days of our holiday trying to rectify this!
On a minor note there were no basics available in the kitchen - we must have been spoiled with previous holiday rentals! There was no washing up liquid, no washing up cloths, no bin bags... no salt and pepper and just 3 tea bags left in a box. There was one dishwasher tablet left for us for the week and we had to request more!! Not sure if this is down to the house manager/cleaner or the lettings agent but there is a lot here that could be improved.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2015
We thank you for your feedback for your stay in Little Laney during September 2015. Since your stay (about 6 weeks ago) the management company has changed the cleaning team for this cottage and as a result the issues you experienced have been rectified. As a marketing agent we take all matters of quality very seriously and are somewhat surprised by your comment that Giles took some pursuading to attend. he actually came out the evening you made the complaint which was at the end of the second day of your holiday. The cleaners then attended the next morning and made good. The bottle of wine was a goodwill gesture from the owner whose brother lives close by. We are sorry the cottage was not presented to the high standard we expect for our guests and changes have been implemented to ensure this does not happen again. We thank you once more for your valued customer feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwishamo...
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Some maintenance work required”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A charming character property, nicely decorated; but it felt damp and smelled a bit musty. Generously sized bedrooms and bathrooms but small living area downstairs and no outdoor space (kids got a bit of 'cabin fever'). During our stay it rained heavily, and the living room window leaked badly each day, from lintil above. Toilet cistern refill pipe also leaked over bathroom floor. Would have liked basic hand soap to have been provided, and more than one rubbish bag, given the lack of recycling. Lack of shower room extraction must add to the condensation problem. A couple of the lamps and kitchen lights had blown bulbs. We were welcomed by a friendly Gent and given a bottle of wine, which was lovely. A note on the wall said to call the lady when rubbish bag was full; which we did, but no response was received and the rubbish not collected.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The combined washing machine/dryer.
Liked least: Dampness, condensation and mustiness.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2015
Thank you for your feedback the issues you have highlighted are being investigated. PARKING - WITH EFFECT FROM 11TH SEPTEMBER 2015 A NEW PARKING SPACE IS INCLUDED WHICH IS A 3 - 4 MINUTE FLAT WALK FROM THE COTTAGE IN A SECURE PRIVATE CAR PARK.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ossiejoll...
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Nice Cottage,nightmare parking”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed at Little Laney for a family holiday.The cottage is very much as described on their website.
The parking however is something else, the free parking space is up a steep hill to a car park that has around twenty spaces marked out when there is only room for around sixteen cars, the steep hill you have to negotiate to get to this car park is narrow and has hazards such as homemade concrete ramps protruding into the road showing signs where cars have hit them,you also stand a good chance of meeting other vehicles coming in the opposite direction.
My advise to anyone staying at Little Laney who owns a decent car that is larger than a Nissan Micra is to forget the free parking space and buy a 5-7 day ticket on the main village car park and pay £32 as it is cheap compared with a new tyre and bodywork repairs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Parking
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2015
We thank you for your feedback on your recent stay in Little Laney, Polperro and are glad you enjoyed you time in the cottage and Polperro. Parking:- the parking provided is up a hill as described on our website and I should point out to readers of your review that all sizes of cars (and vans when making deliveries into the village) use the road - as with all things driving related care and attention are required but it is accessible to all. For example I have drive a 7 seat 4 wheel drive Shogun up and down it without any incident. The spaces in the card park are standard car spaces as you would find in any supermarket - so not massive but adequate. We are glad you enjoyed your holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flutterby...
west midlands
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Cottage delightful, cosy and comfortable.”
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Stayed here for for 4 nights lovely location Polperro.Handy for restaurants,shops and harbour.
The cottage was exceptionally well maintained and the beds comfy.
The photo,s don't do it justice. Would recommend it to all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy ,cean,comfy and great location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmckpostb...
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Polperro Cottage with character and charm.”
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

You know the anxiety when you first arrive at a property you haven't used before, will it match the descriptions you read or will it immediately put a downer on your stay? Well, don't be anxious if you're thinking or have booked in to Little Laney because you will definitely not be on a downer after you open the door to this Cornish character cottage.
The location is ideal for all the amenities in Polperro and the short walk home from a local Pub or Restaurant is a blessing when all you want to do is get home and go to bed at the end of another beautiful relaxing a day.
If you're a dog owner like we are you'll possibly find this funny, after the event for us. Wellington, our black lab decided on the first night to knock the latch down on the front door and when we arrived home from dinner we couldn't get in. Not the ideal way to introduce yourself to those managing the cottage but Dave handled the situation quickly and with no fuss only adding to the opinion that we had chosen to rent from the right owner.
As a potential visitor to Little Laney what are the plus points?
Clean, no hidden extra charges (electricity cost included and clean bed linen and towels supplied) ideal location, however, if you've visited Polperro before you'll know parking is a challenge. Little Laney has a free parking space on a Farm parking location but it is up a hill. My recommendation would be to use the local Taxi service to run your luggage from the main car park at the top of Polperro to Little Laney and buy a 5 - 7 day parking ticket for that car park. We paid £32.00 for this and had no regrets in doing so. If this is not for you and you don't mind the walk up the hill to the free parking space, every time you need the car, then not something to think about. Dave whom we dealt with representing the owner is an asset to them and a very pleasant and amiable man.
Negative points. Accepting there is one free parking space included in the cottage let, though not in an ideal outside the cottage position, then none during our stay.
We ate at various local places including "The Ship Inn", " Crumplehorn Inn and Mill" and "The Blue Peter." All were good, however, we favoured "The Ship Inn" more.
If you like someone else to prepare your breakfast then "The Wheel House" is just a couple of minutes walk down the street.
If you've never visited Cornwall before then you're in for a treat and staying at "Little Laney" in Polperro is a great place to start your visit from.
When going out visiting places do not look at distance the normal way as the beautiful scenic roads will take longer. Again not a negative just something to accept as the norm from the way of life that is beautiful Cornwall. Enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was as described and our interaction with Dave representing the Owners.
Liked least: Even though there is a parking space included the offsite location of the space is not ideal. A negotiated cheaper cost at the main Polperro car park would be better in my opinion.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing