We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVELY”

The Bakehouse Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 180 Restaurants in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 26 - US$ 45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Located in the most historic part of Penzance, the Bakehouse is tucked away in its own secluded palm-filled courtyard. It is just off Chapel Street, which was runner-up in the Great British Urbanism Awards 2013.The Bakehouse is set on two floors, each with its own atmosphere. It is modern and contemporary yet warm and inviting, with displays showcasing local artists.Since 2004 owners Andy and Rachel Carr have been delighting their customers with the quality of their food and service. They are passionate about using only the best Cornish ingredients, sourcing their produce as locally as possible.The philosophy has been to take fantastic produce, cook it simply and let its flavour and quality shine. The food is colourful and bold, and the flexibility of the menu ensures that there is always something for everyone. It has the best selection of chargrilled steaks Penzance has to offer alongside the finest fish Newlyn fishermen can catch!The Bakehouse is included in The Good Food Guide 2012 and 2013 and holds the Trip Advisor certificate of excellence.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“LOVELY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

We arrived as they opened, not sure they liked the look of our grandchildren as some places don't but that's fine we are used to that. We ordered and they offered smaller portions for the children I had mussels and my husband had cod, all was beautifully presented hot and totally wonderful.
As the place filled up I could see people looking at the children but as they know how to behave in a restaurant again not worried about them.

Food was hot and served in the correct time i.e. fresh cooking time from order to serving.
Desert was chocolate killer something very sorry I just can't remember the name, what I can remember is it was one of the most beautiful things I have ever eaten and I did finish it, and would happily eaten it again.

We had coffee including the children who were offered Babychinos as they had been so well behaved.

We booked for later in the week as we were so impressed but couldn't go which is something we were very sad about but there is always next year and we would go again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebandJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

743 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    555
    128
    40
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Epsom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food OK, but overpriced and slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

There was nothing really wrong with the food, and the staff were friendly enough (although for the price you would expect a lot more), the main thing that let this place down was how slow they were to get going. It took 1 hour 15 after being seated for our starters to arrive. This sort of thing can ruin an evening and we were left wishing we had just gone somewhere else.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HERTFORDSHIRE
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The most amazing meal, service and quality in all of Penzance - very glad we booked in advance!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

We have just come back from a superb evening at The Bakehouse restaurant. After some really disappointing meals in Penzance during our 1 week stay (see other reviews) we have just had the most amazing experience at The Bakehouse. From the welcome, through the meal to when we left the service of all the staff, and in particular the owner Rachel was second to none.
There is no childrens menu, but no issue, as basically they make whatever you want based on core food in the regular menu - so chicken and chips for our son was superb and excellent value! We opted for starters chicken livers with pancetta (out of this world) and my wife had the Scallops on the half shell equally amazing. Mains we went for the mussels and pan fried king prawns - tremendous! and really good portions as well. Dessert have to recommend the chocolate nemesis!
Please please book if you are intending to go on a Friday or Saturday evening, as they were reluctantly having to turn people away who had no reservation.
Also, great coffee. Oh and I forgot to mention what a great cocktail they also make!
We will definitely go back and can only say that if you are staying in Penzance, you have to go to this restaurant! But save it for the end of your stay - it is really special! Actually no, go there early on in your stay and then enjoy it again before you head home! Lots of locals in there as well, so clearly a local favourite too!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AJRWATFORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and great value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

This restaurant is a gem. I have eaten at Michelin starred restaurants but this place beats them all..
Delicious food, wonderful flavours, good portions,lovingly prepared and excellent value.
Good wine list and not extortionate prices.
The staff are excellent too; attentive but not over the top like some restaurants.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daisyherts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“great food, great service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

We dropped in straight after work and the early bird option is definitely recommended and good value although food so good had to order more wine. We were first in but place soon filled up, great food, great service.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bakehouse Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Bakehouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing