We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable and spacious, with complete privacy...”
other travellers have booked this property
St Michaels Mount nearby
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
St Michaels Mount nearby
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
43 reviews
St Michaels Mount nearby
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Penzance, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Ruth S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Comfortable and spacious, with complete privacy (own entrance)”
Reviewed 27 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had a lovely week's stay in the school room. The room is very spacious and comfortable, with a great shower in the bath room. Breakfast was delivered promptly each day: croissants and fresh berries. It's just a 15 minute walk into Penzance and the car was useful for going further afield- St Ives, Falmouth, the minack, etc. it was lovely with fresh towels half way through the week, but I think my only suggestion for improvement would perhaps be to have some kind of system for washing up the plates/cups etc- didn't feel great to rinse them out in the bathroom sink, and perhaps for longer stays like ours, it would be nice with a clean/ emptying the bin midweek! However, this was just a minor thing and we had such a lovely time!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artemiswo...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Didn't meet our expectations - dirty utensils and plates”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We booked this intriguing-looking B&B for a few days' stay in April after reading the good reviews on TripAdvisor. We were holidaying in southwest Cornwall and Penzance seemed to be a sensible place to base ourselves. The B&B is actually located a short distance outside Penzance, less than 10 mins drive by car, in the village of Heamoor.

The property was situated in a converted roof/attic space, so there is a flight of stairs to negotiate. This didn't pose a problem for us, and we were happy with the decent size of the room and the small but adequate en-suite bathroom. The "nook" with an extra mattress is really mostly a crawl space and might suit a small child. We had wifi internet access which was reasonably speedy and a very small TV was provided. We don't watch TV so it wasn't important to us. The bed was firm and comfortable.

Breakfast was sent to us promptly every morning in a basket delivered to our door by one of the owners. It consisted mostly of pastries, a bowl of fruit and some milk and juice. There were small variations to the theme from day to day, like strawberries instead of grapes etc. However, the cutlery provided in the room was dirty; we were unpleasantly surprised to find bits of food still stuck onto the plates and forks, presumably from the previous guests. There were also tea and lipstick stains in the cups. It was not easy for us to wash our own cutlery and plates in the bathroom sink without proper soap or washing utensils, but we had to try our best! For the entire duration of our stay, the cups and saucers in the room were not taken away and washed even once, and it appeared as if our bed was only tidied up once. Although this is adequate as a reasonably comfortable place to sleep for a few nights, it is most definitely not a "luxury" B&B and this fact is probably reflected in the price. You also need to bring your own shower gel and shampoo.

Although we enjoyed our stay in Cornwall in general, we were very disappointed at the shoddy (or non-existent) cleaning. There also wasn't a wastebasket provided in the room, apart from a very small one in the bathroom, and we had to discard any rubbish we had ourselves when we went out, or leave it in the room. So sad to say, we cannot recommend this place based on our own experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Lack of cleanliness!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2015
Im sorry to hear you didnt enjoy your stay with us. I can only put things right if guests tell me about problems at the time. I did have trouble with my dishwasher a while ago so thats the only thing i can put the dirty dishes down too. As for the products i do supply shower gel shampoo and handwash, however ive only started doing that a few months ago so maybe since your stay. Ive taken on board the bin comment i will buy a 2nd bin immediately. I do find this review unfair and upsetting. As you can see from the other reviews it is not how other guests have found their stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyRowe
Perranporth, United Kingdom
1 review
“The School Room”
Reviewed 23 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Room was brilliant, really unusual, very comfortable and clean, everything you could possibly need. Service was first class at the time stated with an amazing breakfast. Lady was very friendly and asked about our trip. Thank you for a wonderful experience

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The uniqueness of the room
Liked least: The loo, it was a little bit cramped
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidfLan...
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable accommodation”
Reviewed 30 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

As the name suggests, the accommodation forms an upper part of an old school house. There is a large bedroom, with an en suite bathroom consisting of a shower toilet and washbasin. There is an adjoining room, which is small. I am only 5ft 5ins tall, and could not stand upright in this room, but it could be suitable to sleep a small child.
The facilities are as one would expect, tea/coffee facilities, and TV. There are no cooking facilities, but Kate provided a continental breakfast at a time of my choosing. In addition, Kate provided a small fridge.
The accommodation is situated in the village of Heamoor, a village situated about a mile and a half from Penzance. There is a half hourly bus service to Penzance. The village has a good pub, a post office and general store, a convenience store a cake shop and a fish and chip shop, which is very good considering the size of the village.
On further point which may be of interest. There are two schoolrooms in Heamoor, which confused the taxi driver, who took me to the wrong schoolroom! The Old Schoolroom is next to the British Legion club.
All in all an enjoyable stay, which I would be happy to repeat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location. Helpful and friendly host.
Liked least: Fairly steep stairs from door to flat. Not a great problem, but would be difficult for people with limited mobility
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean S
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 2 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This was a welcome reprieve for a weekend away. The owners were always helpful and lovely to talk to, willing to point us in the direction of an attraction or somewhere tasty to eat. Well worth it, stay if you can

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 98
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing