We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B With Wasted Potential”
Review of Estoril Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Estoril Hotel
Ranked #40 of 82 Penzance B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 May 2011

From the website we expected quite a stay at the Estoril Hotel. Past reviews had commented on the superb breakfast offered and the price (£75 for two for one night in a superior double room) seemed very reasonable. When my partner called to book the owner Eddie informed him it would be £90 for the night, when he asked why it was different online, he huffed and said that £75 would be fine.

On the day we found the hotel quite easily, it's on a street along with numerous other B&Bs and is easily accessible from the road. We were met inside by a very lovely Thai lady who could speak English, but not at all fluently. It took us quite a few minutes to convince her that we had already booked. We checked the price that we had been quoted was still correct and then she escorted us to our room.

Obviously as my partner had told the owner (who we could hear complaining on the phone, but never saw during our stay) that he had seen rooms advertised for £75 he had decided to put us in what we suspect was the hotel's smallest and definitely not a superior room. There was just enough room for the double bed and our luggage, but not much else. It appeared that the room had recently been painted, but the carpeting had done been to a poor standard, it was curling up away from the walls in both the bedroom and adjoining bathroom. The room had pleasant enough views, but the single glazing of the building did mean that we were awoken by birds early the next morning.
We had been promised a treat in the form of morning breakfast before we left. Siting in the small dining room (which was absolutely lovely) we were met by a promising view. There were cereals available as well as fruit, yoghurt and croissants. We were met by the lovely hostess who had welcomed us when we arrived and were brought tea and coffee relatively quickly. We both ordered a full English breakfast (which on the menu promised bacon, choice of egg, sausage, mushroom, beans, grilled tomatoes and sautéed potatoes and toast). I ordered mine without bacon as it sounded like quite a large breakfast. When it arrived sometime later we were both disappointed to see that our respective eggs (mine poached, his scrambled) had been made in a microwave and were very rubbery. The sausages and bacon were obviously the cheapest you could buy as they were mainly gristle and fat. The grilled tomatoes were raw and halved. We had a sugar bowl full of baked beans to share and the sautéed potatoes never appeared, much like the owner. We were however given a large portion of toast which was unfortunately stone cold.
Then anxious to leave, we had to wait quite some time to check out. We were then forced to go into town to get change as the owner (who would not leave the kitchen) didn't have any.
£75 would be a decent price for most high standard B&B's, however this was not to a high standard at all. I felt awful that my partner had to pay that much (and worse for the other guests who had to pay £90). In reality, no-one should have been expected to pay more than £50.

I would recommend checking out one of the many other B&B's on Morrab Road. Penzance is a lovely place to visit and Morrab Road is a fantastically short distance from the centre of town. Also if you get the chance visit the Bakehouse restaurant - a hidden gem that really does deliver tasty food.

Room Tip: Don't quote advertised prices?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pontyprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 169 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2011

We stayed at Estoril for a week in early April and really enjoyed ourselves. The hotel has just undergone refurbishment and the new proprietors were keen to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. The room was quiet and clean with everything we needed and good working order. Also we appreciated that this was once a grand house built in the 1880s and much of the original character has been kept - so we had the feeling of fine living yet with all the contemporary amenities.

We loved the location with a short walk to the sea, two lovely parks and the town. Also we had parking there as we also explored the countryside to view some of the many gardens in the area etc. The only thing I can say that was a disappointment was that we couldn't stay longer! We're sure to visit again and will definitely want to stay at Estoril.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suemcghie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2009

This was our worst nightmare and ruined the start to our holiday. We had the most dreadful experience and the owners are awful. Had booked 2 rooms but were squeezed into 1. When we complained and said we wouldn't pay the full price they asked us to leave and called the police when we refused (it was Friday night in August and we only wanted 1 night so doubtful we would get in anywhere else and had 2 young children to consider, otherwise we would have preferred to sleep in our car). We had right on our side and the police negotiated that we could stay as long as we left early the next morning and didn't stay for breakfast. We were happy to agree as certainly didn't want to risk breakfast. Police had to be called the next morning as when we got up to leave we found one of our car tyres had been slashed!. Owners were horrendous throughout.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
6  Thank CarefullShopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2008

We spent 2 nights at the Estoril and were very impressed overall, Our room was very clean and it was clear that the fittings were being replaced and upgraded . Originally we thought we would be arriving very late ie approx 11 pm and had problems booking other B abd B's for this reason but no problem with the Estoril. Very good Breakfast . Staff were friendly and efficient and seemed keen to help with any queries ie ordering taxis , advising on local transport .
On a quiet road but good location only a few minutes from the promenade.
The property is well maintained and good turn of the century features ie tiled entrance , wide doors etc
When returning to Penzance , we would definately stay here again .

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hamster95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2008

During the past twenty years, my wife and I have stayed in a number of hotels and also Bed and Breakfast establishments in Penzance while on annual visits to my wife’s Cornish relatives in Penzance, Newlyn and Mousehole. We eventually decided that the overall best place to stay was the Estoril for the best value and the best food. Over the past twelve years we have stayed there a half dozen times, the longest stay was for about six weeks in 2000, in the attic “suite”’.

The excellent proprietors/owners/innkeepers at that time eventually moved away after their son finished school in Penzance.

The next innkeepers, a non-Cornish couple, one of which was not born in the UK, did not do a very good job. The service was poor, the housekeeping substandard, the meals were mediocre, and the female tried to overcharge us. That was about the time that the negative reviews appeared in the tripadvisor.com.

For several years then we either stayed at another B&B on Morrab Road or at a well-known hotel on the Promenade. When we heard that that the Estoril had new owners, the present ones, we stopped in to take a look and were pleased at what we saw, and at the hospitality of the new owners. The place had been repainted from top to bottom, there was new carpeting and much new furniture.

While my wife was attending Cambridge in January to April in 2007, we stayed at the Estoril three times, for about a week each time. The service was excellent, the whole place was neat and clean, and we had toast made from freshly baked bread for breakfast along with enjoying a full breakfast menu.

We have traveled extensively in Europe, Africa, Australia, Japan, and New Zealand and the Estoril is the best B&B that we know of.

Patricia and Marty Huebner
1995 McKinzie Drive
Idaho Falls, Idaho
83404 USA

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank patmarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penzance hotels
1.1 km away
Mount Royal
Mount Royal
#31 of 82 in Penzance
64 reviews
6.1 km away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
56 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Coldstreamer Inn
The Coldstreamer Inn
#1 of 1 in Gulval
142 reviews
1.6 km away
The Smugglers
The Smugglers
#1 of 5 in Newlyn
68 reviews
0.3 km away
Duporth Guest House
Duporth Guest House
#56 of 82 in Penzance
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estoril Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estoril Hotel

Address: 46 Morrab Road, Penzance TR18 4EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range: ₹ 7,523 - ₹ 7,906 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Estoril Hotel Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing