We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We enjoyed our stay very much! Very relaxed atmosphere.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Shoreline Guest House
Ranked #39 of 87 Penzance B&B and Inns
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“We enjoyed our stay very much! Very relaxed atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

For some days of Cornish hiking,sight seeing, and food tasting this location was fantastic: public transport around the corner, nice restaurants as well (we got great tips), and a beautiful view onto the terrace and the sea. Once can enjoy and meet other on the nice terrace, have some wine at night, relax. The (typical Cornish sized ) room was small but comfortable, everything was very clean and thoughtfully decorated and done. We found tea and coffee utilities, cookies, binoculars, a detailed map and kind guests who exchanged news during breakfast. All our expectations were met (we had emailed back and forth before). Liv and Susan were very caring and helpful with everything.

Room Tip: Our room was looking towards the Promenade, so with open window one hears some traffic of course. Ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elke w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    20
    10
    6
    6
See reviews for
9
63
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

The pros for us were that it was a reasonable price,very clean, tidy and modern. We could park on the road outside the b&b, lovely breakfast with a great choice, ideal location for evening sea strolls or catching the ship to sail to the Scilly Isles. A nice place to stay if travelling alone as there were quite a few people on their own there.

The cons were that in room 2 there's no view. It is a very small room so wouldn't recommend for any longer than a 2 night stay if you're travelling in a pair. The room was dark so had to have the light on all the time. Although modern and in excellent condition, there's no room for toiletries in the bathroom because it's so small and the shower's very compact.

That said we would stay here again, we booked last minute as we were travelling around Cornwall so only the cheapest room was avalilable.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adventurers56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

We stayed 3 nights in Room 1. The room is great, with a lovely panoramic window overlooking the sea, en-suite, mini-fridge & the typical kettle/cups etc. There was a wide choice for breakfast, from which I chose a typical English.

Parking on the street out front is free if you can get a place. On the three occasions we needed to park, we were able to get a place either immediately or after a second lap.

The welcome was warm and friendly and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmj0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2010

Liv's welcome was exceptional with unexpected special treat placed in room for wife's birthday. Room compact (as described) but immaculately decorated and very clean. Lots of little unexpected extras. Breakfast laid out for us for a six o'clock start (well outside normal meal time) and of good quality and variety.
An unexpected gem which made a good break into an exceptional experience.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob195258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2010

Shoreline is - on the shoreline, ideal for Penzance, Newlyn, Mousehole, The Isles of Scilly via Helicopter, Skybus or Scillonian III ferry. Free parking is available along the sea front. Walk over the road and inhale and listen to the sea, watch the tide go in and out and forget all your worries. It is also only 5 mins from decent pubs, restaurants, lovely coastal walks and 8 mins from Penzance town centre..
The guesthouse itself is clean, neat and tidy. I stayed in room 3 for 6 nights which was more than adequate for my needs and I had an extremely comfortable bed. I really wanted somewhere where I could do my own thing and come and go as I pleased and Shoreline delivered this. I sampled salmon and scrambled eggs on a buttered muffin one morning and a full fry-up another...They were both excellent. Liv has a wealth of knowledge regarding the local area. I really enjoyed my stay and have already booked a return visit for early next year. I found it very hard to go home!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJFURLONGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.0 km away
Sea Waves B&B
Sea Waves B&B
#74 of 87 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.4 km away
Duporth Guest House
Duporth Guest House
#38 of 87 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.1 km away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#70 of 87 in Penzance
3.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Glencree House
Glencree House
#2 of 87 in Penzance
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.1 km away
The Corner House
The Corner House
#51 of 87 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.5 km away
Westbourne Guest House
Westbourne Guest House
#32 of 87 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shoreline Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shoreline Guest House

Property: The Shoreline Guest House
Address: 17 Marine Terrace | The Promenade, Penzance TR18 4DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,150 - ₹ 6,473
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shoreline is a small modern guesthouse, with a 4 star rating, situated directly on Penzance's promenade. 6 Rooms all ensuite. Rooms are modern and comfortable. Sea View rooms offer uninterrupted sea views, from St Michael's Mount across Mounts Bay to Newyln. Wireless interent access is available free to guests. A selection of delicious cooked breakfasts are available for our guests including a tradional Cornish cooked breakfast, Creamy scrambled eggs with smoked salmon or our French style pancakes stuffed to the brim with banana, blueberries, and topped with maple syrup. A warm Cornish welcome is assured. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Shoreline Guest House Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing