We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Penzance

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Penzance
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

My husband and I had a lovely three day break in this excellent hotel. We had booked via a Telegraph deal but that did not matter to the staff who unfailingly treated all the guests with politeness, courtesy and (with one or two exceptions) a smile. Big comfortable bed, bath nice enough to make me take one and with a good shower over. Afternoon tea available - and we were encouraged to partake of the free tea and cakes - but we were having too much fun exploring the local area and then enjoying coming "home" to Hotel Penzance. Have to say that we were split 50/50 in the restaurant; he was very impressed with his food, I was less so. Oh, but the eggs Benedict for breakfast - really bad for you; really good to eat!!

Penzance is a bit of a disappointment if you are not an art lover, but Minnack Theatre, St Ives (what fabulous beaches) and Newlyn are all within easy reach. For some REAL history take a short drive out of Penzance to Chysauster and look at the remains of an Iron Age settlement lived in about 2000 years ago.

We will return - when we've saved up.

Room Tip: Room 10 St Cleer; St Michael's Mount in one direction, the harbour in the other; great bath and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Weerder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    186
    61
    21
    14
See reviews for
77
462
84
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We visited Hotel Penzance as a birthday treat through a Groupon deal. As soon as we arrived we knew we had come to a special place. We were met by Peter who introduced himself as our host who's job it was to make our stay as comfortable as possible. We can only say that in every way this was the case. We had a room with a sea view... not huge but big enough and very comfortable with large bath towels and bathrobes provided - perhaps a little warm sleeping under an enormous duvet! We booked dinner on the first evening and also for the third evening. The food was out of this world with a first class chef preparing extremely palatable meals. One has to be prepared to pay for such quality (the steak is probably unbeatable) and though the dinners were more than we usually pay, we expected it and so did not feel we were being ripped off. There was free tea and coffee and cakes provided every afternoon and we were treated as if we really mattered to them as customers. All the staff (mostly foreign!!!) were extremely friendly, very efficient and did all they could to make our stay as pleasant as possible. As it happened the weather was not as good as it might have been but the fact that we had a lovely place to return to after our wanderings made it totally OK. We are really amazed at the treatment we received particularly as we were not paying the full hotel rates. We would not hesitate to return (when we can afford it) neither would we hesitate to recommend the place to anyone for a long or short break. The only negative thing for us is that it is so far away from where we live and that we cannot get to it without a 5 hour journey by car; but for a treat it's brilliant. You will be amazed!

Room Tip: Just ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We were allocated room 17 which had fantastic views; the harbour from one window and St Michael's Mount from the other. The quality of the staff and of the food matched the quality of the room. I have no hesitation in highly recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We really felt welcomed. Staff were delightful, and the room was comfortable, clean and quiet.
Lovely sitting rooms which people actually used, with tea and cakes provided, and views out over the bay.
Also good for people who don't have a car, as it's very near train (and bus) station. We went out to St Ives and Lands End area for walks easily using public transport.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank playlist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northants.uk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

As with all hotel cutomers with all have differing options.
Positive Points:
Reception: We found this very good, but with exceptions(see below). Peter the Guest Relations Officer was 1st class as excepted from an ex serviceman.
Restaurant & Catering: Restaurant manager Mr David Scotter made guests at easy,he was very confident and positive. I'm sure he would do well at any top end hotel. His staff were very well informed and gave that little bit extra that made your experience better. Head Chef and his brigade once again were 1st class and would do well at a Michellen star restaurant.
Accomodation: Room 21. small but comfortable, house keeping again good but with some exceptions(see below).
Negative Points:
Reception: Seating in the reception area for afternoon tea and cake you can listen to the dulsit tones of the afternoon receptionist. Moaning and groaning about everything and everyone.......lets call her 'Sybil' from Fawlty Towers!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Her telephone manner is something to marvel at when people are making enquires. Asking for afternoon tea was a task, not a smile, not a comment about how your day was etc....not a people person at all wrongfully employed in this position as it is the 1st point of call for all guests.
Accomodation: I read comments from 2010 regarding updating etc, the bath in our room my be the standard size... however.....it was far too narrow in fact I felt like a cork being pulled from a bottle of wine. At one point my wife thought she would have to call 999!!!!!!!!!.
The mixer tap on the bath was very hard to regulate.

For the price of the room, I think the room should have a shower at least.

Room Tip: make sure you get a seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank renpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penzance
1.2 km away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
3.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
7.1 km away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
1.4 km away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.2 km away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
9.8 km away
Tregenna Castle Resort
33.8 km away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 25 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Penzance? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Penzance

Property: Hotel Penzance
Address: Britons Hill, Penzance TR18 3AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,324 - ₹ 17,482
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Penzance 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star independent Town House Hotel. Converted from 2 Edwardian merchant's houses and perched on a hill overlooking the busy Penzance waterfront and harbour. 25 individual rooms over 3 floors with warmth, comfort and service a priority. Open all year with a 2 rosette restaurant - The Bay Penzance - Ideally situated for all the sites of West Cornwall from The Lizard to St Ives and the Isles of Scilly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Penzance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Penzance Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing