We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch”
Review of Archie Browns

Archie Browns
Ranked #23 of 196 Restaurants in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Archie Browns is a thriving health food shop and vegetarian café, with shops in Penzance and Truro, Cornwall. We aim to provide people with the choice of a healthy lifestyle, and empower them to look after their own health by providing a friendly helpful service with an all round uplifting and inspiring environment.
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

Archie’s never fails to satisfy, whether the Penzance or Truro branch. They’re excellent for GF, veggie and vegan whole foods and the associated beveridges are also good. They go for ethical options when possible and shop local and support local businesses.
The shop is also great and has a good selection of foods, though some are a little pricey tho seeds seem quite reasonable.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank louisecE8578US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2018

Had coffee here years ago but this was our first visit for lunch - now regretting that we didn't try it before. Staff were friendly and mixed fruit juices were superb, We had quesadilla - tortilla with refried beans with cheese, sour cream, guacamole and a generous topping of mixed salad/cole slaw - and baked field mushrooms on garlic mash with cheese, cherry tomatoes with balsamic vinegar. Everything was delicious and reasonably priced. Will most definitely be visiting again.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

We found this by accident when browsing the health food shop! Nice cafe and the first that I have come across to offer alternatives to ordinary coffee (eg dandelion coffee or barley coffee). I had the barley coffee which was delicious. What spoilt it for me though was the addition of chocolate (without checking first) and although the little biscuit on the saucer was delicious too, no doubt this was loaded with sugar. I note that there are various 'syrups' on offer to add to coffee. I think that there is far too much sugar in food these days which I feel does far too much damage to our health - and as it is so addictive, it is very difficult to steer clear of! Still, all in all, a good cafe.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Devonmaid62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

A lovely selection of food for the non meat eater … I thoroughly enjoyed the quiche with smoked Cornish cheese. The accompanying salad was a refreshing change from the "norm"; an interesting and tasty selection of beans, grains, slaws etc rather than some limp leaves!

Sadly, as a diabetic wanting a cold drink there was little choice that wasn't sugary (either naturally or from added sugar) …. so it was just water for me.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Visited with family this week for lunch: very good Homity pie, delicious home made quiche and fresh and tasty salads with flavoursome dressing. Coffees a bit hit and miss, but the cakes looked delicious - we just didn't have room for them!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ruthe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Archie Browns also viewed

 
Penzance, Cornwall
 

Been to Archie Browns? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing