We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Hip and fun place to stay in Cornwall!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Artist Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Artist Residence
Ranked #7 of 87 Penzance B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hip and fun place to stay in Cornwall!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed at the AR overnight on a week night having planned a day of sight seeing the following day, including a trip to St Michael's Mount. Our lovely host Charlie turned up the heating and brought us a tray of tea so that we were warm and toasty. I would definitely recommend the Muju World room as it is up high in the loft, is private and offers a beautiful skyline view.
Breakfast was in a lovely, creative gallery setting with so much art and furniture to admire!
The location is perfect for sight seeing and as we had a car we reserved a parking space in the tiny car park which got a bit tricky at times as we had to move the car a couple of times in order other guests could leave!
All in all, to be recommended!

Room Tip: Definitely recommend Muju World for the funky mural and privacy factor. You are really up in the sk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Salina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    117
    23
    8
    5
See reviews for
83
278
29
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
devon UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

We stayed here overnight en route to the Scilly Isles. We had a lovely warm welcome and were comfortably settled in our room with a tray of tea. Each room is very individually decorated and we loved them - so much to look at and inspiration for our own pathetic attempts at creativity!!The bed was soooo comfy and although some may say the rooms are on the small side they have everything you would need for a comfortable stay. Artists Residence is in a great location, handy for the sea front and the centre of Penzance. The street is really historic with some fantastic architecture! Breakfast was good with plenty of local produce. I would definitiely recommend this place to friends.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jojo3devonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Mersea
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stayed at the AR at very short notice recently having been washed up in Penzance with nowhere to stay. What a great find. Charlie the Manager could not have been more helpful and her infectious enthusiasm is just reflected all over the Hotel. We stayed in the Benbow room where the artwork really makes you feel like you are sleeping outside in Chapel Street!! Every room has its own theme and the excellent freshly cooked breakfast is served in a gallery full of work by local artists. This is certainly an off the wall place but we have to go back to try another room!!

Room Tip: Speak to Charlie first and then just choose the theme which suits you best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Country
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

I stayed at the Artist Residence recently and really enjoyed the experience. The decor of the rooms is really unique but they are also very comfortable. The hotel offers breakfast only but there are pubs, restaurants and cafes nearby which you can try out. The breakfast includes a lot of locally sourced ingredients and is taken in the artists' gallery, I can really recommend the apricot and elderflower jam! Charlie could not be friendlier. All in all a real find.

Room Tip: Best look on the website for this, they are all completely different!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillD1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Hotel is situated in the heart of Penzance convenient for seafront, restaurants, shops etc. Rooms are individually decorated by artists - the styles may not be to evryone's taste but they're certainly unique.

Rooms may be compact for a longer stay - we stayed a week and somewhere to sit other than the (spare) bed would have been helpful. More power points would

Staff were always friendly and helpdful, from a welcoming pot of coffee to restaurant recommendations. Any problems were quickly sorted out.

Ideal place for a laid back break in somewhere completely different from the standard seaside hotel.

Room Tip: Recommend trying to reserve parking at the hotel. Long term parking down the road is £6-8 (forget w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SomersetSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penzance
0.8 km away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
0.4 km away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
3.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.7 km away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
10.6 km away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.2 km away
Warwick House
Warwick House
#1 of 87 in Penzance
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist Residence? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist Residence

Property: Artist Residence
Address: 20 Chapel Street | The Georgian House, Penzance TR18 4AW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,671 - ₹ 13,480
Hotel Class:4 star — Artist Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on historic Chapel Street in the heart of Penzance in a Grade 2 listed Georgian mansion. All our rooms and apartments are individually designed. Our artist rooms feature individual murals painted on to the walls by local artists. Our house rooms are eclectically decorated in a vintage style with Farrow and Ball paint, reclaimed furniture and limited edition prints. All rooms have a flat screen TV, hairdryer, tea/coffee making facilities and are en suite. Cooked breakfast is available in our newly refurbished dining area and is made using the finest local ingredients. You can also relax in our rustic neighbourhood restaurant. The Cornish Barn is open all day for breakfast, lunch and dinner, offering a seasonal menu of seafood, meat and vegetarian put together by chef Gareth Spencer using local Cornish produce. The hotel is just a five-minute walk from Penzance train station making us the perfect base for exploring West Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Artist Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artist Residence Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing