We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fsntastic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Minack Theatre

Minack Theatre
Ranked #1 of 63 things to do in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This open-air theatre is dramatically situated on the cliffs at Porthcumo, near Land's End, and hosts a season of plays and musicals from May to September.
Heywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
120 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Fsntastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

My family and I went during the February half term and we were incredibly lucky with the weather. The setting is beautiful and the story behind the theatre is heart-warming and rousing. Rowena Cade sounded an amazing plucky woman! We spent far longer than we thought we would looking round, about 2 hours. There are so many views, corners, crevices and places to investigate and photo. Our 6 year old was especially taken with the place, taking photos and sitting in various viewing boxes. We stopped off at the cafe before we left and had a drink, very reasonably priced. There is a fabulous atmosphere to the place, even when empty, we all loved exploring it. I can only imagine watching a show there.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheBrandts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,826
    445
    81
    27
    23
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“CAN'T WAIT TO RETURN AND PERHAPS SEE A PRODUCTION”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We were taken on a guided tour of Cornwall by David Hogg of Castle Tours - djhogg@castlecott.fslife.co.uk. He took us to Minack but the weather wasn't brilliant so the views were rather obscured. He asked if we could get a backstage tour and we were lucky enough to have a tour by Anne. She showed us the new changing rooms and the balcony which is only generally accessible to staff and actors. The sound system and lighting shed was very interesting - especially to my husband.

After the tour, we went to the cafe and had the best cream tea we have ever found in Cornwall.

The shop has lots of interesting items for sale - I bought a t-shirt for my neice saying 'Drama Queen' on it. That will suit her well.

We will definitely visit again.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Spectacular Setting, Unique Theatre.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

As 'locals' (20 miles) my wife and I have visited on many occasions, day and evening. By day, the setting is amazing and the views even more so. Entry is about £4 as I recall and that gains you access to the visitor centre, cafe and theatre. The cafe is nice but basic (pasties, coffees and cake) small and slightly overpriced...a la National Trust Tearoom. The theatre is an incredible feat of building and worth a viewing, particularly on a sunny day. The gardens above and the plantings around the theatre are lovely. Cliff plants and succulents abound and there's a plant stall too. Access for the disabled is by it's very nature, restricted somewhat. Parking however is free and close by. We have been to several performances here and have both enjoyed and disliked the experience. If a play is riveting and sound competetantly projected, it is worth putting up with the bring-your-own cushion and flask of hot Bovril ethos but if the performance is lacking the usually cramped and less than comfortable seating test ones hardiness somewhat. We saw a G & S Pinafore there and it was magical against the seas backdrop and a lifetime theatre experience. Likewise we saw another performance there which was inept enough to have us reaching for the cigarettes and car keys. Be selective. Kids are likely to be restless if not wholly entertained. If visiting, allow enough time to explore the delights of Porthcurnow Bay, it's a gorgeous area. One grievance...we called in one afternoon just for a coffee and were expected to pay for entry (£8) to gain access to the (empty) cafe. Not a revenue optimiser for them or a thirst-quencher for us.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank CalifornianMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Windsor, Connecticut
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The atmosphere of this part of Corwall is breathtaking!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

The atmosphere of Cornwall's famous open theatre reminded me of the Mediterranean. It's absolutely beautiful and you must see it if you are in the area.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Wayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A truly beautiful site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

What a beautiful setting! Lovely location, amazing scenary and what a labour of love. Great to read all about the history behind this lovely theatre. Would love to see a play there!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Visitor047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Minack Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Minack Theatre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing