We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small portions”
Review of Sea Palace

Sea Palace
Ranked #77 of 195 Restaurants in Penzance
Price range: US$ 16 - US$ 24
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 19 September 2018 via mobile

We have visited Sea Palace many times, the decor never changes, its always cold, smells musty and is dirty but the food was the best in Penzance this is no longer the case, the portion sizes are small, the food no longer tastes authentic also served on dessert plates presumably to fool their customers into thinking the portion sizes are the same... the waitress was attentive but we won't be going back

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Bev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2018

I went to this restaurant with three others, it had been my birthday the week before and as a treat we decided to go to Cornwall. We had starters, Bang Bang Chicken, Crispy duck and hot & spicy chicken soup. The crispy duck was ok but the Bang bang chicken was made with salad cream and very little chicken while the soup was a bottle of Uncle Bens stir fry sauce. We cancelled the main course and paid for our drinks and the crispy duck. Every one we asked said it was the best Chinese in town. We tried the Indian down the road, PERFECT!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank russellrebrab2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaPalacePenzance, General Manager at Sea Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Hi russellrebrab2018,

We don't actually have a "Hot & Spicy Chicken Soup" on our menu (and even if we did, it certainly would not come out of jar of Uncle Ben's) and the only restaurants "down the road" from us are two pubs and a meadery.

Perhaps you have us confused with another restaurant?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

The food is authentic, lovely atmosphere and very good value for the size of the dishes.
I’d recomend aromatic duck.

Date of visit: September 2018
2  Thank João V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

Poor cleanliness, layers of grease and stained prawn crackers. Fire alarm went off randomly for couple of minutes. Over-charged for beers. Bean sprouts tasted like they came from an old tin. Mains were tasty however.

On the plus side, the used car salesman and his Thai wife appeared to be enjoying the ambience.

I enjoyed the retro decor - must have looked good 30yrs ago. Worth a visit to rubber-neck.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Horatio H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018 via mobile

We went in here after a trip to the Isles of Scilly (one for the bucket list) and I must admit I planned it beforehand.
The food and service was EXCELLENT, from working away from home for many years I found certain areas Asian cuisine was not quite to my liking but this place was bang on.
I thoroughly recommend.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank O320YNsimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sea Palace also viewed

 

Been to Sea Palace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing