We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Falling to bits”
Review of Carnson House

Carnson House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carnson House
Ranked #61 of 81 Penzance B&B and Inns
Leicester, England
Level Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Falling to bits”
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Stayed here for just one night, which is OK, but no more.
The place is literally falling apart. Everything everywhere was falling off the wall.
The reason we stayed here was that it was the only B&B left in Penzance not booked up. And we can see why. The room was overpriced and very small. All frames and paintings were falling off the wall, the towel rail was falling off the wall. The bathroom door was a sliding door which did not close properly. Not a good thing when I ended up getting food poisoning and my husband was trying to sleep while I had to spend the whole night in the bathroom. The noise from outside was very loud as this is next door to a pub and on a main road with train station directly outside. There is no parking and you have to try and find a space on the busy side streets. The only thing this place has going for it is the location for if you are going on the ferry. I cannot comment on the breakfast as we opted not to have it. The reason being that I got food poisoning the night before and with the whole B&B stinking of fried fat when we left in the morning only made me want to vomit again. I guess it is good that the breakfast starts at 7:30 though for if you have to catch the ferry early. The man who runs the B&B seems nice and explain things well, even the odd key system. This place just needs a make over badly, some extractor fans and a car park.
Oh, and as we were leaving the picture frames on the wall by the stairs were falling off the wall. By no means am I implying anything here, but after one night in this B&B half of my husbands underwear and socks had disappeared.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellas_adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    21
    11
    6
    9
See reviews for
11
34
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

We stayed at the Carnson Hotel, the evening before a day trip to the Isles of Scilly, as it was the only hotel I could find that would take a one night booking.
When I made the booking over the telephone, I spoke with the owner, who said the rate would be £58 for bed and breakfast. I explained that as we were visiting the Scilly Islands, we would not be there for breakfast and how much it would be without breakfast. He said "still £58".
We had to pay in advance, there and then.
We drove down from South Wales and found this hotel very easily. The hotel is conveniently located close to Penzance town centre (about a 10min walk) and opposite the railway station.
On arrival, we were greeted by a pleasant lady who showed us to our room. She said that breakfast would be served from 7am the next morning. I explained that as we were on the first helicopter in the morning, we wouldnt be there for breakfast.She didnt comment.
Our room was ok and looked quite clean.
The bed was very uncomfortable with many lumps, a very irritating duvet which made me scratch a lot!
The room had tea and coffee making facilities (which were ok) a small tv with freeview, a sink, and furniture that looked sorry for itself.
The toilet and shower room (exclusively for our use) was just accross the corridor. It was very clean and tidy and served our purpose.
We left the following morning without seeing anyone.
This hotel was ok to stay for just one night - if you cannot find anywhere else.
I was dissapointed that they couldnt even leave some milk and cereal out for us, especially as we had paid the bed and breakfast rate, and also that I did say from day one that we couldnt make breakfast.

By the way make a visit to the Isles of Scilly, Very beautiful place.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keving18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2009

We stayed at the Carnson House B&B for six long nights. On arriving Rob was welcoming and pleasant enough, he showed us to the room and explained how the TV worked and what time breakfast was. The room was very small for a double with very little space, the bed took up most of the room with about a 2 foot space between the bed and the walls. The furniture was in very poor condition in the room, the pine chest of drawers and a wardrobe had seen better days. There was no desk to work on (which I thought was a requirement for three star accomodation) and the single small chair was pretty useless. The bed was uncomfortable and sagged on one side! It had one of those awful matress protectors on it which was so uncomfortable to sleep on we had to sleep on top of the duvet with a thin cotton thow over us as the matress was making us sweat so much. We struggled to shut the window and this meant that the noise from the main road and pub next door was very annoying. The biggest issue we had was with the cleanliness of the room, fixtures such as the bedside lamps were covered in dust, and the bathroom was extremely dirty, in the shower cubicle we found two foot long black hairs stuck to the wall and the shower unit itself was caked in grime. When we complained to Rob about this there was no apology he just said "I'll clean it" His attitude towards our complaint wasn't very professional. Despite the complaint the shower cubicle was not cleaned and I had to clean it myself with baby wipes. I can't comment on the breakfast because after the state of the shower we weren't keen on eating food in this establishment the constant smell off rancid chip fat/cooking oil that permiated the whole building and got worse at breakfast time put us off eating there. We only booked this B&B as we were unable to find anywhere else available at short notice, we spent half of our first full day in Penzance looking for another place to stay but unfortunately did not find an alternative so were forced to stay for six excruciating nights. We weren't exspencting the Ritz for £60 per night, but this is 2009 and you'd at least expect your room to be cleaned properly. Extremely dissapointed with the Carnson, basically this place is one step up from sleeping on the streets. The one redeeming feature was the wireless internet. If you book this place you must be a glutton for punishment.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Penzance hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
dover
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2009

We visited Carnson House for a 3 night wkend break. On arrival Rob greeted us and made us feel very welcome. He explained certain things to us inc breakfast time. He helped carry our bags to our room and showed us where our bathroom was as it wasn't ensuite. We stayed in room four which was a twin room but the beds had been pushed together to make a double bed and the bathroom was opposite the room. The room had enough space for clothes and it was clean. The mattress was very old and definately needs replacing, we had to sleep on top of the duvet so that the springs were not digging into us, so we were lucky we didn't visit during colder weather. Rob served a variety of cooked breakfasts, this was ok, also had choice of cereal, fruit & juice. The Carnson is on the main road, Irish pub next door, train station across the road, couple of minutes from town and very close to harbour. If your looking to stay somewhere basic with a good location for visiting anywhere in Cornwall & that's cheap, the Carnson would be an ideal choice!
During our stay we went to Landsend, Mousehole, Newlyn, St. Ives, St, Micheals Mount and Gweek see the Seal Sanctuary. We also spent time exploring Penzance and would definately return.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meandfletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2009

Visited Carnson House earlier in the year with my wife for the first time. Absolutely ideally situated a few minutes walk from both the rail and bus termini. Rob (the owner) and his staff are good hosts.The rooms are clean and good value for the price you pay.
Both of us are elderly but didn't have having problems with the stairs. It's an ideal base for accessing rail / bus services to tour West Cornwall. 5 minutes after leaving the front door you could be on the open top bus leaving for St Ives or Lands End or going to Mousehole to sit on the quay and watch the sun go down. 5 minutes and you're at the shopping street. 10 minutes and you're at the local cinema. 20 minutes and you're walking with your loved one along the seafront heading for the Dolphin Pub for lunch.
The Guest House is adjacent to an Irish Pub which may or may not be attractive dependent on if you want a drink in the evening to sit and watch the world go by. Nearby next to the bus terminus, is Sullivan's Cafe where you can get a huge meal for next to nothing. Sit with the locals and, again, watch the world go by.
We love Carnson House. We visited twice last year (2008) and will visit twice this year (2009) taking our 5 year old grand-daughter.
Give it a try. You'll like it.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CornwallMightymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.1 km away
The Longboat Hotel
The Longboat Hotel
#51 of 81 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.9 km away
Sea Waves B&B
Sea Waves B&B
#71 of 81 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
1.2 km away
Westbourne Guest House
Westbourne Guest House
#31 of 81 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Dolphin Tavern
The Dolphin Tavern
#11 of 81 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
1.2 km away
Duporth Guest House
Duporth Guest House
#43 of 81 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.6 km away
Artist Residence
Artist Residence
#7 of 81 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnson House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnson House

Property: Carnson House
Address: 2 East Terrace, Penzance TR18 2TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,038 - ₹ 9,107
Hotel Class:4 star — Carnson House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Carnson House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnson House Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing