We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carnson House
Nearby Hotels
US$ 235
US$ 218
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Penzance(Penzance)
US$ 194
US$ 189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marazion Hotel(Marazion)
US$ 191
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Gannet Inn(Carbis Bay)
US$ 283
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cottage Hotel(Carbis Bay)
US$ 116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 129
US$ 120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 472
US$ 391
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boskerris Hotel(Carbis Bay)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
24
23
12
6
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
23
12
6
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationroom was cleanone night staywest cornwallnight's sleepfriendly welcomeplace to staytea and coffeeminute walktown centrerobensuitestopoverrailtoiletries
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2010

We stayed at the Carnson Hotel, the evening before a day trip to the Isles of Scilly, as it was the only hotel I could find that would take a one night booking.
When I made the booking over the telephone, I spoke with the owner, who said the rate would be £58 for bed and breakfast. I explained that as we were visiting the Scilly Islands, we would not be there for breakfast and how much it would be without breakfast. He said "still £58".
We had to pay in advance, there and then.
We drove down from South Wales and found this hotel very easily. The hotel is conveniently located close to Penzance town centre (about a 10min walk) and opposite the railway station.
On arrival, we were greeted by a pleasant lady who showed us to our room. She said that breakfast would be served from 7am the next morning. I explained that as we were on the first helicopter in the morning, we wouldnt be there for breakfast.She didnt comment.
Our room was ok and looked quite clean.
The bed was very uncomfortable with many lumps, a very irritating duvet which made me scratch a lot!
The room had tea and coffee making facilities (which were ok) a small tv with freeview, a sink, and furniture that looked sorry for itself.
The toilet and shower room (exclusively for our use) was just accross the corridor. It was very clean and tidy and served our purpose.
We left the following morning without seeing anyone.
This hotel was ok to stay for just one night - if you cannot find anywhere else.
I was dissapointed that they couldnt even leave some milk and cereal out for us, especially as we had paid the bed and breakfast rate, and also that I did say from day one that we couldnt make breakfast.

By the way make a visit to the Isles of Scilly, Very beautiful place.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keving18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2009

We stayed at the Carnson House B&B for six long nights. On arriving Rob was welcoming and pleasant enough, he showed us to the room and explained how the TV worked and what time breakfast was. The room was very small for a double with very little space, the bed took up most of the room with about a 2 foot space between the bed and the walls. The furniture was in very poor condition in the room, the pine chest of drawers and a wardrobe had seen better days. There was no desk to work on (which I thought was a requirement for three star accomodation) and the single small chair was pretty useless. The bed was uncomfortable and sagged on one side! It had one of those awful matress protectors on it which was so uncomfortable to sleep on we had to sleep on top of the duvet with a thin cotton thow over us as the matress was making us sweat so much. We struggled to shut the window and this meant that the noise from the main road and pub next door was very annoying. The biggest issue we had was with the cleanliness of the room, fixtures such as the bedside lamps were covered in dust, and the bathroom was extremely dirty, in the shower cubicle we found two foot long black hairs stuck to the wall and the shower unit itself was caked in grime. When we complained to Rob about this there was no apology he just said "I'll clean it" His attitude towards our complaint wasn't very professional. Despite the complaint the shower cubicle was not cleaned and I had to clean it myself with baby wipes. I can't comment on the breakfast because after the state of the shower we weren't keen on eating food in this establishment the constant smell off rancid chip fat/cooking oil that permiated the whole building and got worse at breakfast time put us off eating there. We only booked this B&B as we were unable to find anywhere else available at short notice, we spent half of our first full day in Penzance looking for another place to stay but unfortunately did not find an alternative so were forced to stay for six excruciating nights. We weren't exspencting the Ritz for £60 per night, but this is 2009 and you'd at least expect your room to be cleaned properly. Extremely dissapointed with the Carnson, basically this place is one step up from sleeping on the streets. The one redeeming feature was the wireless internet. If you book this place you must be a glutton for punishment.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

We visited Carnson House for a 3 night wkend break. On arrival Rob greeted us and made us feel very welcome. He explained certain things to us inc breakfast time. He helped carry our bags to our room and showed us where our bathroom was as it wasn't ensuite. We stayed in room four which was a twin room but the beds had been pushed together to make a double bed and the bathroom was opposite the room. The room had enough space for clothes and it was clean. The mattress was very old and definately needs replacing, we had to sleep on top of the duvet so that the springs were not digging into us, so we were lucky we didn't visit during colder weather. Rob served a variety of cooked breakfasts, this was ok, also had choice of cereal, fruit & juice. The Carnson is on the main road, Irish pub next door, train station across the road, couple of minutes from town and very close to harbour. If your looking to stay somewhere basic with a good location for visiting anywhere in Cornwall & that's cheap, the Carnson would be an ideal choice!
During our stay we went to Landsend, Mousehole, Newlyn, St. Ives, St, Micheals Mount and Gweek see the Seal Sanctuary. We also spent time exploring Penzance and would definately return.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Meandfletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2009

Visited Carnson House earlier in the year with my wife for the first time. Absolutely ideally situated a few minutes walk from both the rail and bus termini. Rob (the owner) and his staff are good hosts.The rooms are clean and good value for the price you pay.
Both of us are elderly but didn't have having problems with the stairs. It's an ideal base for accessing rail / bus services to tour West Cornwall. 5 minutes after leaving the front door you could be on the open top bus leaving for St Ives or Lands End or going to Mousehole to sit on the quay and watch the sun go down. 5 minutes and you're at the shopping street. 10 minutes and you're at the local cinema. 20 minutes and you're walking with your loved one along the seafront heading for the Dolphin Pub for lunch.
The Guest House is adjacent to an Irish Pub which may or may not be attractive dependent on if you want a drink in the evening to sit and watch the world go by. Nearby next to the bus terminus, is Sullivan's Cafe where you can get a huge meal for next to nothing. Sit with the locals and, again, watch the world go by.
We love Carnson House. We visited twice last year (2008) and will visit twice this year (2009) taking our 5 year old grand-daughter.
Give it a try. You'll like it.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CornwallMightymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2008

B and B was alright. Slightly dated and my room was on the main road which meant it was noisy. The window was also a little rattly...

Full English Breakfast was nice and host was very friendly and polite.

Did the job but by no means luxury!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews