We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bakers, terrible service!”
Review of The Honey Pot

The Honey Pot
Ranked #2 of 5 Dessert in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 6 - US$ 30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Just off town centre in Penzance, 40-cover café/restaurant serving wide range of high-quality coffees, cakes, salads, soups and 'World Food'. Using local and seasonal ingredients where possible, the specials board offers vegetarian and vegan options, as well as a wide range of gluten-free dishes. Warm and homely with an eclectic menu and décor, furnished with antique tables and chairs and cosy cushions.
Reviewed 31 October 2018

Encouraged by (most of) the reviews, my boyfriend and I headed over for cream tea. We were served the tea very quickly but had a long wait for the rest (scones, jam, clotted cream). We had to remind them we were still waiting! As we paid, we asked for a bag to take away our one uneaten scone and then received incorrect change. She charged us for the scone. I explained that it was one of the scones from our cream tea -- apparently my American accent was difficult for her to understand because I kept having to repeat it to her. She eventually gave me the correct change...in small coins! Cream tea was good enough and they have a blackboard with a variety of appealing offerings for lunch. However delicious, I can't recommend them -- service and attitude were poor!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HuntressCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelG3767, Manager at The Honey Pot, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2018

We are so sorry that you didn’t get the best service from our team when you came to see us.

Apologies for the misunderstanding about the take away bag and your change. Unfortunately when we've had a busy breakfast or lunch service we do occasionally run low on change.

We try to serve everyone quickly, but it’s not always easy at busy times. We bake our scones every morning and believe they are best enjoyed warm, however, you certainly shouldn’t have had to remind staff that you were waiting.

If you are passing again, we’d love to have a chat about your previous visit over a complimentary coffee & cake :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2018

Did not receive much of a welcome, especially after saying we would not be ordering lunch, and our drinks were brought to the table without comment. Coffee was awful, very strong and bitter, and the honey-pot sugar bowl was empty and not very clean. Bathroom facilities are very basic and accessed by squeezing through the kitchen area. Sorry Honey Pot, not a very good first impression.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelG3767, Manager at The Honey Pot, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018

Thanks for your feedback and for visiting us, we're very sorry to hear that you didn't get the usual Honey Pot experience.

We are monitoring the taste of the coffee very closely, following your feedback. We have spoken with our supplier, and resolved an issue with our coffee machine which we hope will improve the flavour. I'm sorry we didn't pick up on this on the day for you.

We usually top up the sugar pots in quieter periods so the team can prioritise the busy lunch service, however, they should not be empty and certainly not dirty. We will be keeping a closer eye on this in future.

We would love to have more space in our tiny cafe as this would enable us to offer an alternative bathroom facility. We appreciate it's not ideal to have to pass through the kitchen.

Thank you for bringing these points to our attention, we'll be looking into this further and making sure it doesn't happen again. If you happen to be passing through the area, please come back so we can discuss your visit, and offer you a complimentary drink & cake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018

I bought a piece of the apple cake and brought it home....heated it up and ate it with some Greek yogurt. Perfect food!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank mandymunch22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelG3767, Owner at The Honey Pot, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2018

Mmm sounds delicious with Greek yoghurt! Thank you, glad you enjoyed it and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

Loved finding this in Penzance.. asked a local and they directed us off the beaten track to The Honey Pot!! Hubby got Cream tea but I opted for a homemade soup and garlic bread which was delicious but people next to us got a lamb dish that looked AMAZING! Talk about food envy

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Megsncol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelG3767, Owner at The Honey Pot, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Thanks very much - so glad you enjoyed your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

What a find. Discovered it by accident and enjoyed superb food and great service. I would certainly return if in Penzance.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Shelagh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelG3767, Owner at The Honey Pot, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Thanks for your kind review, so glad you stumbled upon us and enjoyed your visit. Look forward to seeing you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Honey Pot also viewed

 
Penzance, Cornwall
 

Been to The Honey Pot? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing