We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and close to sea front.”

Pencrebar Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pencrebar Guest House
Ranked #60 of 107 Newquay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 August 2011

I have stayed here twice while holidaying in Newquay now, and there is a reason I went back a second time! It's clean everywhere, nicely decorated and they don't generally accept young groups of people, so the atmosphere is quite relaxed and the people are generally small families, couples and an older generation(speaking from a 25 year old point of view!) the showers are a little lacking, but that's really the only complaint. Whilst there both times we were met mostly by mike, who even when busy is friendly and will have a quick chat, the full English breakfasts were a bit on the small side, but were really nice, and the general ambience of the place is lovely! I would recommend mostly to couples of any age, but if you're going to Newquay to party, this b&b isn't for you.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twistedstar85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for Pencrebar Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2011

We stayed with Mike and Gill over the Easter Bank Holiday, we called at the last minute and Mike and Gill were happy to put us up for our two night stay. Mike and Gill are happy to take your custom no matter how many nights you want to stay, unlike other B&B's in Newquay who want you to stay a minimum of three nights over a bank holiday!!!

The B&B is located very close to the town centre, handy for the beach, eating at drinking. You can arrange off street parking with Gill and Mike at a cost of £3 per night, we had a small problem during our stay but after reporting it to Mike he sorted it straight away.

Our room was lovely and clean, however the bathroom door doesn't give much privacy. There was a fridge in our room which we thought was a really nice touch.

A good choice for breakfast and if you have food allergies Mike and Gill will cater to your needs.

During our stay the fire alarm went off due to miss use of other customers, Mike was very professional in dealing with the situation.

Some other reviews are a little unfair, yes there are a few signs around the hotel, but it is Mike's and Gill's home as well as their business and they want to keep the place nice.

This is a good B&B for the price you pay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbnJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

stayed here for one night, with a pal, we were part of a big hen party (we couldn't afford the Hen's hotel) so we sourced this place, what a find. Lovely welcome by Mike, fantastic beds, very comfy, brilliant breakfast. would definately recommend this place, may even book up again and take my kids for a treat. very welcoming. walking distance to town. nothing negative to say about it. thanks :-)

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2011

My sister and I booked on the same day we were we due to travel down and they took us in with no problems. The room and breakfast were excellent value for money offering a wide range of food. We had a twin room with ensuite - all very clean and welcoming. The b&b itself was literally in the centre of Newquay and we managed to find a couple of very nice and lively bars and pubs.
Recommend to check out the Aquarium and the Zoo and also local beaches/bays. And not forgetting Padstow!
We had a lovely stay, even if it was only for a couple of nights!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duckabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

Went to newquay as a foursome with another couple. stayed here for 2 nites the price wasnt bad considering we were right in the town centre. not far too walk anywhere. Lovely owners the man was extra helpful and couldnt do enough for us. cant remember his name sorry!! made us lovely breakfast and made sure we were happy with everything made us feel very welcome. Also came with free parking.
nice rooms and en suite.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chepstowcat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.6 km away
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
1.0 km away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#22 of 78 in Newquay
64 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#21 of 37 in Newquay
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.5 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 km away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pencrebar Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pencrebar Guest House

Address: 4 Berry Road, Newquay TR7 1AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range: ₹ 1,757 - ₹ 2,460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pencrebar Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Pencrebar Guest House Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing