We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Escape
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This was the first time i have stayed at Escape, the welcome, atmosphere and overall service was spot on. you can relax and feel comfortable. There are not many places you can go and they will give you a box to put on your head for part reasons. I will be coming back next time i am in Newquay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leighton C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

267 - 271 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2012

We recently visited the Escape for my stag do and was welcomed by Gerry on the car park who was very welcoming and accomodating in view we had travelled up to 9 hours.

The rooms are basic however for what you pay they are very clean,comfy, presentable and when on group holiday (Stag / hen / holiday with the boys) you hardley see the room so it is the perfect venue.

The bar is fantastic, again great servcie and very atmospheric.

One of of Group had got lost in the night and not returned home however Gerry didnt think twice about locating him and collecting to ensure he got home safley. Great servcie and great comitment ensuring our service was enjoyable and complete.

Thanks Gerry and the team, we will be back !!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garry k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Just got back from the stag do after spending the weekend in the escape, and i got to say it was everything you want from the place, the food was great well cooked lots of flavour,loved it and the bunk beds and rooms were clean and tidy, thay were everthing you needed ,s,s,s & sleep then back into town litrally 5 min walk and a bar to come back to ,so for large groups of peaple was perfect, staff were brilliant , gerry the owner is great guy ,was brilliant with us, sorted the coaststeering out for us which was lots of fun. gerry your a top bloke and thanks for making us so very welcome,would defonatly stay at the escape again with my mates! great place had a great weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LASHER75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I was there over easter 2012. Part of a 36 man stag do. We were in one of the larger rooms (16 people) there was a bathroom with 2 showers, a wardrobe and bunkbeds. If your looking for somewhere which is a good location and fits everyone's budget this is it. Newquay is a 'party' place so the chances are your not going to spend a lot of time in the room. The bar area is good with a pool table and serves till 4am! we actually had more fun there than our in town.
We had a Thai meal in the restaurant which was fantastic! it was preordered as part of our package and the food just kept coming till 36 lads were full - was the best value and tasty food all weekend.
We also did the coasteering which is worth a look at - just watch out for choppy seas as it gets a bit hairy.
This isnt a place for a quiet weekend with the missus or for a family holiday!
Jerry could not do enough for us and was very chilled - a great weekend

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrandMrsWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

The Escape is in a brilliant location 2 minutes walk and your in town :) I just came back from my friends stag party and this place ticked all the boxes. It has got a really good bar downstairs with a brilliant sound system and makes for a great start of the night before you go out, it has a restaurant too but i didn't eat there as i was mostly to hung over

Drinks are fairly priced and the owner is a good guy who will do anything to help your party along.

The rooms are basic bunk beds so dont expect the hilton, its literally some where to get your head down then party on down stairs!

Had a great time and would go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for the double beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craigmctaggart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 km away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.9 km away
Ocean Lodge Newquay
Ocean Lodge Newquay
#3 of 79 in Newquay
392 reviews
0.2 km away
Blue Reef Lodge
Blue Reef Lodge
#57 of 79 in Newquay
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
1.6 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Escape? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Escape

Address: 1 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Price Range: ₹ 3,015 - ₹ 8,442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Escape 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Escape Hotel Newquay is a new type of Budget Surf Lodge that holds 150 people with wicked facilities and really friendly vibe run by young people for young people. Wifi is available and free parking.The rooms are mostly en-suite and the beds are in a bunk style. The Bar has a late residential licence open most nights till 4 am with pool table and a Bose sound system. Stag & Hen parties, same sex groups & under 18's are all welcome. We organize activities such as surfing, coasteering and go karting.The premises also hosts its own Thai Restaurant and take-away called "The Bird" offering traditional Thai cruisine cooked by Noam our chef all the way from Koh Lanta, Thailand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your The Escape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Escape Hotel Newquay
The Escape Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing