We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a good 'un.”
Review of Carnmarth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carnmarth Hotel
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's a good 'un.”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I've stayed at this hotel a couple of times over the last year, and it's been welcoming, comfortable, very clean and reasonably priced for what you get. More comfortable than a Premier Inn, and a bit cheaper. The Carnmath is the perfect place to retreat to after a hard day's work. Newquay is rammed full of hotels, surf lodges and b&b's, and some of them are pretty grotty, but the Carnmarth is the best one I've stayed in so far. It's a shame it was closed for the few months that we were in Newquay during the winter, because we ended up in some pretty shabby hotels instead! As for the food, I've only had breakfast there, and it was decent. The hotel is a stone's throw from Fistral beach, which was nice; it was good to get a gulp of sea air in the mornings before we set off, and pleasing to watch the gigantic waves barrelling along in neat tubes when it was windy. Must be excellent for surfers wanting somewhere a bit better than your average Newquay surf lodge. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turbinengineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    125
    59
    9
    11
See reviews for
89
193
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
redditch
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2012

When looking for hotels in newquay i came across the carnmarth hotel. Pictures looked brill. Started to read the reviews had mixed feelings. But went with my gut and booked it. Upon arrival from the outside it looked really nice. And as soon as i walked into reception i knew it was going to be a brilliant stay. Me and boyfriend arrive at about 1pm but we couldnt check in till 2pm. We was greeted by a nice receptionist and when asked if we could check in early she was happy for us to check in there and then. When going up to our room as it was on top floor we decided to take the lift which was scary thought it was going to stop. When opening the door to the room it was lovley. We had superior room with balcony which was nice as had the view to fistral beach and the golf course. Bathroom was ok. Beds where ok. We only had breakfast in th hotel which was part of package and thought meals at hotel was abit to pricey. We would recommend to eat at the fort just a few mins walk from hotel was good for your money also has park for kids and a really nice view. Breakfast was nice, But there was a girl that seemed really moody and never seemed to crack a smile. Nice few mins to walk to beach and town only used car once to go to padstow on our 4 night stay. Also when asked for more milk and new duvet cover (as dropped choco biscuit on it) they was happy to help. Only downside was could here next doors TV and sometimes people walk past our room heavy footed and the door slam as we was the first room by the door. Fire alarm was going off 4 times at stupid oclock time and was above our heads think someone was smoking in room. There was also a leak to out balcony door as rain the night before but was sorted when mentioned. Also was abit windy and there must of been some lose seal on balcony door it all u could here all night. Overall a brilliant stay for me and my boyfriend. Will book again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunseasand1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobs65
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I had my wedding here last year and have to say that the staff are just magnificient! A family run place which has been renovated since our visit a few years ago; the hotel is smart, crisp and clean.
The wedding planner, Emma was amazing. She couldnt do more for us and i was a typical worrying and somewhat persistant bride! The day panned out beautifully with a stunning background and a fraction of the price of what the nearby hotels quoted and a much more relaxed 'newquay' feel.
The ensuite room we had boasted a big decked patio and was spacious and clean and the bed leant us a good nights sleep.
I had a get together the night beforehand and 30 of us tucked into good food and reasonably priced drink.
Theres also a surf school attached so theres a hybrid of different vibes which is nice.

I really rate this hotel. Its simple, fresh and has some of the best views in Newquay and the staff are the biggest selling point.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobs65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

My partner and I have just got back from a 3 night stay at the Carnmarth Hotel. My partner has been to Newquay many a time but this was my first. We live in SE London and left very early in the morning to drive to the Carnmarth. We arrived at about 10am to beautiful sunshine and were met by a smart looking Carnmarth Hotel. Although check in wasnt until 2.30pm we thought it would be polite to let the staff know we had parked and that we intended to go for a wander around. The reception staff were absolutely lovely and said that we could check in if we wanted. Our room was room 24 and was really big, with a huge bed- one of the biggest we have ever stayed in! The room was really clean and had all necessary items such as hair drier/ iron and board, lovely fluffy towels and tea and coffee bits- also bottled water which was really nice touch. The view from the room as spectacular- right over Fistral Beach and the golf course. The view was made even better by having a really lovely balcony so you could take in all the views. Breakfast was brilliant- all freshly cooked to order and nothing seemed too much trouble even when we requested loads of toast to go with our fry up one morning to try and soak up all the cocktails from the night before. We had a few drinks in the bar and every night we were there there was a function which was nice to see the hotel being well used in the off peak season. The drinks were very reasonably priced, a bit more than pub prices in town but we expected that. It took us about 10 minutes to take a slow wander into the town and literally 2 minutes to Fistral Beach- we didnt use our car once whilst we were there! Overall a really lovely hotel with fantastic, attentive staff, amazing views and great breakfasts and we will definately be back. Thanks Carnmarth!

Room Tip: Room 24 had amazing views over Fistral Beach and the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missymoo_Brighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

All in all our stay here was a pleasant one. When we arrived on the Sunday we were told we would be the only guests on that night - was very quiet but thats expected during December I suppose.

Our room was at the corner of the hotel with amazing views over Fistral Beach but the room had a very strong smell of damp in it!

Breakfasts were fine and all of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dills405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.4 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.2 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.2 km away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#8 of 38 in Newquay
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
1,334 reviews
1.3 km away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
832 reviews
1.5 km away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnmarth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnmarth Hotel

Property: Carnmarth Hotel
Address: 22 Headland Road | Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,090 - ₹ 12,233
Hotel Class:2 star — Carnmarth Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carnmarth Hotel is a family owned and run establishment. It commands a magnificent position with South facing, uninterrupted views over Newquay Golf Links and Fistral Bay. The Hotel currently has 31 bedrooms, all ensuite with TV, tea & coffee, radio, hairdryer. Four of our rooms have private balconies, offering that little extra something for your stay. There is a large bar & terrace serving local food & drink. There is also an indoor luxury marquee suite, ideal for Weddings, functions, parties etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carnmarth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnmarth Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing