We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent views but smells of damp!”
Review of Carnmarth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carnmarth Hotel
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent views but smells of damp!”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

All in all our stay here was a pleasant one. When we arrived on the Sunday we were told we would be the only guests on that night - was very quiet but thats expected during December I suppose.

Our room was at the corner of the hotel with amazing views over Fistral Beach but the room had a very strong smell of damp in it!

Breakfasts were fine and all of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dills405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    127
    59
    10
    11
See reviews for
91
196
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Brockenhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed in a double room at the front of the hotel. Beautiful views across the golf course and Fistral beach. Room very clean - most comfortable, big bed we have stayed in! Staff very friendly and helpful. My girlfriend left her necklace in the room after we checked out, the staff happily posted it back to us with no charge - really appreciated!

Location is fantastic. Walk down to the beach in wetsuits (2 mins), go for a surf, then the staff are happy for you to walk back through the hotel in your wet wetsuit - makes it really easy and you dont have to worry about getting changed at the beach etc. We were to check out on the sunday - staff happy for us to delay our check out so we could get some morning surfing done!

Breakfast is great. Love the fried bread - might be nice to have 2 slices instead of one?

Wish we could have stayed longer. Really hope we can return at some point. Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2011

The budget single room was about the size you might expect, i cant really fault it appart from the walls that were thin so i could hear everything from next door. But for me its all about the location, perfect, the views from the terace at the front are over the golf course and fistral beach. A cool bar dowstairs, great staff in the bar and at reception and i cant fault the breakfast. Gets my vote.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattk2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2011

My mother and i stayed at this hotel as close to wedding venue we was going to. The staff was very friendly and helpful, to the point off allowing us to take the room before check in time, and ringing taxis for us, as well as supplying extra milk as im big tea drinker. the room was very clean and the beds well we where sad not to take them home with us as super comfortable and refreshing to have decent and good pillows. Also there was tea/coffee facitites, hairdryer, also nice touch was an alarm clock, tv, radio heated towel rail with towels and complimenty shampoo and soaps. from the reception, bar and waiters we found very polite and gave us a warm welcome. the breakfast in the morning was unbelievable as again few more items added then expected. Definalty would recommend this hotel and stay again , for the price charged for this hotel we was pleasantly surprised to all the thoughfulness shown. the view is also second to none we faced a huge golf course and Fistcal Bay

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharonjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
evertonmint
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

really enjoyed our stay, our room no 28 fantastic view , exceptionally clean and decor lovely. As far as the cooked breakfast it was really well cooked and very filling with extra toast cereal fresh fruit and yoghurts for you to just take, im very critical of food as im a cook! all the staff were very friendly and helpful in everyway. Also the evening meals available were lovely and well priced, plenty of people not staying at the hotel eating here. The hotel is well positioned for fistral beach and the lovely coastal walks, we walked for a lovely 3 and a half hours with some amazing views. and only 15 min walk approx into newquay town centre. we were glad we chose this hotel as its in a quiet position and not in the middle of what is locally known as party street. We found the hotel great value for money for what we paid for 4 nights bed and breakfast it was amazing and compered well with hotels we had stayed in , in bournemouth and brighton that were twice the price. cant understand earlier comment about length of beds as ours was a normal lenght bed you would have at home. I know from speaking to staff at the hotel that a lot of building work will be taking place in the winter, enlarging rooms and redecorating to make the rooms more comfortable. also on there website the rooms clearly are priced economy too best. We really were thinking about staying the rest of the week but due to family issues we had to come home and were really upset to be leaving but will definatly be back. Also Pat the nightporter was a brilliant source of information about the area , pubs and all things newquay

so thanks to Will and his staff for a lovely stay !

Room Tip: front of hotel does have views over the golf course and fistral beach , but back of hotel has views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evertonmint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.2 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.2 km away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
1,001 reviews
0.4 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
1,345 reviews
1.3 km away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
845 reviews
0.5 km away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnmarth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnmarth Hotel

Property: Carnmarth Hotel
Address: 22 Headland Road | Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,210 - ₹ 11,175
Hotel Class:2 star — Carnmarth Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carnmarth Hotel is a family owned and run establishment. It commands a magnificent position with South facing, uninterrupted views over Newquay Golf Links and Fistral Bay. The Hotel currently has 31 bedrooms, all ensuite with TV, tea & coffee, radio, hairdryer. Four of our rooms have private balconies, offering that little extra something for your stay. There is a large bar & terrace serving local food & drink. There is also an indoor luxury marquee suite, ideal for Weddings, functions, parties etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carnmarth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnmarth Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing