We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandy Lodge Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$ 85
US$ 77
Official Site
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$ 265
US$ 259
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$ 74
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Best Western Hotel Bristol(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$ 297
US$ 245
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 251
US$ 244
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Porth Lodge Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$ 105
US$ 102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Minerva Hotel(Newquay)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (483)
Filter reviews
483 results
Traveller rating
154
175
80
37
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
154
175
80
37
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdavid urquhartmajestic tourssweet tableself drivecoach triptesco expressbreakfast was buffet stylesmall gymturkey and tinselthe dining room staffevening entertainmenttea and coffeebudget hotelplenty of hot waterwalk in showertown centreweekend break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
397 - 402 of 483 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This was our first time at the Sandy Lodge as it was part of a coach trip organised by Diamond Holidays. The hotel was a bit of a worry before we went, not knowing what to expect etc. A very nice surprise we are glad to say, the room was on the small side, but was in good condition (first floor) and everything worked! The shower lacked power but was quite adequate. Sleeping was a bit of a problem, not the Hotels fault, it was other guests who came in late and slammed the room doors with no thought for people who had already retired for the evening. Another slight irritant was that the floor boards above us were very creaky and at times it seemed as if a football match was taking place!!
The staff were very friendly especially in the dining room and nothing seemed too be to much trouble for them. We stayed on a B&B + Dinner basis and found the food to be of a good standard especially the fried eggs at breakfast! normally our experience of mass produced fried eggs in a lot of Hotels is that they would be better employed as door stops!! not here, they looked and tasted just as they should. Overall an excellent experience and without doubt value for money

Room Tip: A room on the top floor may be ideal if you want to get a decent nights sleep?
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank holidaymad8449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel after booking a self drive holiday through Majestic. The staff were very welcoming and all public areas, and our room were spotless. The sheets and towels were pure white. Entertainment was really good. I used the small gym a couple of times and the pool, although small, was as warm as bath water and the jaccuzi even warmer - lovely. The floor boards were a bit creaky but didn't really cause us a problem (we were on the 1st floor). It's quite central - we walked to Newquay Zoo, less than 10 minutes walk away. The beaches and town were also near enough to walk. The food in the pleasant restaurant was excellent and waiting staff very friendly and obliging. We would definitely recommend this hotel to others and will definitely be going back there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gina060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

My wife and I booked for Monday pm to Friday am via Majestic Tours self-drive.

We visited the Eden Project on the way and it (and the fine weather) made a very good start to our break.

At the hotel there are a number of parking spaces available, although several were used up by the two coaches based there for the five days.

Reception staff in general were smiling and accommodating.

Our room (111) was a good size and well decorated. The view out both windows was onto the building next door - not a problem for us. The bathroom had no bath, but did have a shower - again not a problem for us. The standard of cleanliness in the room was good and the cleaning staff were friendly.

The entertainment lounge was large and comfortable. During our stay the entertainment was good (based around 1960s music) and two singer / comedians appeared. One in particular
Freddy Zap was excellent! Drinks prices were reasonable for a hotel bar. There is also large comfortable TV lounge.

The restaurant is well decorated, spacious and the furnishings looked good. The menu is posted each day and lists a range of tasty food for the evening meal. A wide choice of help-yourself puddings were available too. Unusually for hotels, coffee was provided after the meal, which made a nice change - the coffee tasted good quality. The staff waiting on tables were friendly and eager to please. Our particular waitress, Christine, was a smiling, jolly soul and very efficient. Breakfast was self-service, well cooked and plentiful.

The hotel has a small gym, small indoor pool, Jacuzzi and sauna. The gym equipment looked somewhat tired, but worked, and the pool was a good temperature.

In summary the five days were very good value for money (special offer, £89 each) and we would certainly revisit.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Our first time to this hotel with a coach company, - Majestic.
From past experience we expect mediocre accomodation. But what a pleasant experience at the Sandy Lodge, everything was perfect: our room, dining, recreation facilities, comfortable public rooms, and entertainment if we wanted it, or quiet rooms if we did not. And another plus point - no Bingo!

Room Tip: We had a family room which was bigger that our friends' rooms, but none of our group of ten in six separate rooms had any complaints ,- and none of us chose or upgraded our rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank eiddew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

The management and staff were "Brilliant". They always went the extra mile to ensure our stay was as pleasant as possible. We stayed in room 220 from 13-02-12 until 17-0212 and again from 21-02-2012 in room 135. Both rooms were immaculate very, very clean and comfortable.
The standard of food and service were excellent with a menu and choice that should suit all tastes.
We were not on holiday or booked through a coach company but booked direct with the hotel, our visits were last minute bookings as my brother, who lived locally was critically ill in Newquay Hospital on our first visit and second visit was to attend his funeral.
The management and all the staff went out of there way to ensure that all our needs were catered for and cannot be faulted in any way. Excellent value for money - "BRILLIANT" We will be back as the customer care and Hotel was first class.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews