We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”
Review of Sandy Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandy Lodge Hotel
Ranked #23 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel after booking a self drive holiday through Majestic. The staff were very welcoming and all public areas, and our room were spotless. The sheets and towels were pure white. Entertainment was really good. I used the small gym a couple of times and the pool, although small, was as warm as bath water and the jaccuzi even warmer - lovely. The floor boards were a bit creaky but didn't really cause us a problem (we were on the 1st floor). It's quite central - we walked to Newquay Zoo, less than 10 minutes walk away. The beaches and town were also near enough to walk. The food in the pleasant restaurant was excellent and waiting staff very friendly and obliging. We would definitely recommend this hotel to others and will definitely be going back there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gina060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (453)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

369 - 373 of 453 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2012

My wife and I booked for Monday pm to Friday am via Majestic Tours self-drive.

We visited the Eden Project on the way and it (and the fine weather) made a very good start to our break.

At the hotel there are a number of parking spaces available, although several were used up by the two coaches based there for the five days.

Reception staff in general were smiling and accommodating.

Our room (111) was a good size and well decorated. The view out both windows was onto the building next door - not a problem for us. The bathroom had no bath, but did have a shower - again not a problem for us. The standard of cleanliness in the room was good and the cleaning staff were friendly.

The entertainment lounge was large and comfortable. During our stay the entertainment was good (based around 1960s music) and two singer / comedians appeared. One in particular
Freddy Zap was excellent! Drinks prices were reasonable for a hotel bar. There is also large comfortable TV lounge.

The restaurant is well decorated, spacious and the furnishings looked good. The menu is posted each day and lists a range of tasty food for the evening meal. A wide choice of help-yourself puddings were available too. Unusually for hotels, coffee was provided after the meal, which made a nice change - the coffee tasted good quality. The staff waiting on tables were friendly and eager to please. Our particular waitress, Christine, was a smiling, jolly soul and very efficient. Breakfast was self-service, well cooked and plentiful.

The hotel has a small gym, small indoor pool, Jacuzzi and sauna. The gym equipment looked somewhat tired, but worked, and the pool was a good temperature.

In summary the five days were very good value for money (special offer, £89 each) and we would certainly revisit.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Our first time to this hotel with a coach company, - Majestic.
From past experience we expect mediocre accomodation. But what a pleasant experience at the Sandy Lodge, everything was perfect: our room, dining, recreation facilities, comfortable public rooms, and entertainment if we wanted it, or quiet rooms if we did not. And another plus point - no Bingo!

Room Tip: We had a family room which was bigger that our friends' rooms, but none of our group of ten in s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank eiddew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

The management and staff were "Brilliant". They always went the extra mile to ensure our stay was as pleasant as possible. We stayed in room 220 from 13-02-12 until 17-0212 and again from 21-02-2012 in room 135. Both rooms were immaculate very, very clean and comfortable.
The standard of food and service were excellent with a menu and choice that should suit all tastes.
We were not on holiday or booked through a coach company but booked direct with the hotel, our visits were last minute bookings as my brother, who lived locally was critically ill in Newquay Hospital on our first visit and second visit was to attend his funeral.
The management and all the staff went out of there way to ensure that all our needs were catered for and cannot be faulted in any way. Excellent value for money - "BRILLIANT" We will be back as the customer care and Hotel was first class.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

just returned from our first coach trip after visiting sandy lodge many times over the years in the past self drive.
it is a clean & tidy basic 2* but the staff & food make it much more.as we were in quite a big room we asked for extra heating & got it straight away,also for an extra chair.a lot of staff have worked there many years & are very good,the food is excellent-we believe the chef has worked there for many years.
more often than not you get what you pay for,sandy lodge is very good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank malcolm h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 km away
Cliffdene Hotel
Cliffdene Hotel
#28 of 37 in Newquay
356 reviews
0.1 km away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
0.3 km away
Bay Beresford Hotel
Bay Beresford Hotel
#14 of 37 in Newquay
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Priory Lodge Hotel
Priory Lodge Hotel
#7 of 37 in Newquay
316 reviews
3.0 km away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#12 of 37 in Newquay
944 reviews
0.8 km away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Lodge Hotel

Address: 6-12 Hilgrove Road, Newquay TR7 2QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Price Range: ₹ 5,583 - ₹ 5,660 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandy Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandy Lodge Hotel in Newquay is a great family run hotel based in Cornwall's premier resort. Situated close to the seafront, the hotel features en-suite bedrooms with Freeview TV & Tea & Coffee making faciities. The Hotel offers excellent cuisine including our "all you can eat," Breakfast Buffet with friendly, informal service. Entertainment is provided most evenings and the public areas of the hotel have ramped access to facilitate wheelchair users. Free Parking is also available for hotel guests for up to 50 vehicles.Our ideal location means that you will only be a 150 yards away from the beautiful seafront of Newquay Bay and the local shops and town centre only a short walk away. We deliver high quality service and our rates are very competitive if you are looking for a great value hotel in Newquay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandy Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Hotel Newquay
Sandy Lodge Newquay
Sandy Lodge Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing