We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WE'LL BE BACK”
Review of Kenton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kenton Hotel
Ranked #28 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We have traveled the 900 mile round trip for more than 10 year's now,so this Hotel must have something.
Could be the warm welcome we receive on arrival and the helpful friendly service all through our stay that makes us keep coming back.
So much so we feel like part of the family.
The view's from the Hotel can't be beaten.
We recommend the Kenton to anyone.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
Thank tomcrozier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 74 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2011

Where do I start! If you want to stay somewhere that gives you a home from home feel with a family bond then this is the place for you.

This family run hotel offers you an experience that keeps you wanting more! On arrival, you are welcomed with a warm and friendly smile and a refreshing drink, day or night.

The rooms are spacious offering plenty of storage and comfort to rest your weary head after a long day. A selection of beverages await you that can be consumed whilst watching T.V and / or Freesat. The bathroom has showering facilities and little luxuries such as handsoap and consumables. They are well lit and clean and presentable.

The reception area has a sea view lounge with comfortable seating and plenty of reading material including magazines and brochures detailing places of interest.

The bar area has a wide selection of alcoholic and soft drinks, catering for the smaller people in your party. The games room comprises of a pool table and dart board for the sporty types whilst being in full view of the bar, there is never an issue of not being able to watch your children.

At the rear there is a T.V room that offers some peace and tranquility to watch your favourite soap or just have some 'me time'.

The dining area is arranged so you may eat with or without a sea view and even with all the glass it never feels too hot or too cold.

The menu is day specific where no two items are repeated in the calendar week. For breakfast, there is a small selection of cereal, including a fruit juice or porridge, with the choice of a great english breakfast. Evening meals are also varied and the menu caters for children and vegetarians. If you have an allergy to certain foods, an alternative is offered even if it needs to be ordered in! You only have to ask!

Outside, there is ample parking at the rear served by a side driveway access from the service road at the front. The driveway is wide enough to take a family saloon or people carrier without the worry of damaging your paintwork.

The garden and outdoor seating is a must when the sun sets over the sea view. A photographers paradise.

In summary, if you want a relaxing stay with a friendly, efficient service and a family welcome then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: A sea-view room is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M4rt1nMcC0rm4ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

A pleasant atmosphere in a wonderful location on top of the cliffs. Lovely view of the beach and the setting sun and excellent walks starting from right outside the front door. No shops, or clubs close by, just the beach and the cliffs, so don't come to Porth for the night life!
Been coming here for a few years now and can recommend it if you want a quiet and welcoming place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidA47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

The Kenton is a very friendly hotel with probably the best views in Newquay--the rooms are very comfortable and of a good standard--everyone at the hotelgoes out of their way to make the stay a pleasant one and after staying there for the last 3 years we are booking again for 2012. If you are looking for a friendly well run hotel-where you can enjoy a relaxing break--then try the Kenton.

Room Tip: rooms at the front have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ace89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

The views and the location are very good. Howvever, I would agree that the hotel needs updating. They rooms are small. Our TV did not work and neither did the window, poorly shutting. The book that comes with the hotel is a bit lengthy, even for a lawyer like me. No flushing of the toilets after 11, mainly because the plumbing is awful, No food is allowed in the rooms, apparently beause of the smell, which is strange as you can bring in a dog to your room. I Also the curtains are paper thin so if want a rest in the morning, unless you have a pillow over your hear you are not going to get one. I would also agree with previous regarding the female staff, seem to be trying but the father, stroke alpha male, is very unwelcoming. The food is average and offers the usual English breakfast. But take it from an Englishman, please please be original try something different! For the price I would say it is a BIG DISAPPOINTMENT. Also I would say that this is NOT a hotel but a guest house, I really cannot understand the pretensions to be a hotel. Also there were hairs i the room from the previous occupants. I also could smell other people smoking in the rooms. I really want to give this "hotel a better rating but could not under pain of death, sorry!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank john1968b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenton, Manager at Kenton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2011

I am speachless! I Always find bad reviews very upsetting as we work so very hard to try and please everyone, even though our huge database of returning customers always asure me that you will never please everyone, and we are doing a good job! I find it especially odd that this review makes references to my hard working father whom was away at the time of this guest's stay at a family funeral up country so am not sure what father figure they found so unwelcoming as it was just my mother and I here at the time.

We offer a full english breakfast, along with veggie breakfast, continental and porrige which for a small seaside family run hotel i feel is quite a large choice. We ask people not to bring take away foods into the hotel as the bedrooms are not designed for eating in, plus we do have a restaurant here ourselves and can offer evening meals at a cost of £12.50 for 3 courses if people are too tired to go out and get a meal. We have never asked people not to flush toilets at any time as that would be quite disgusting and unhygenic, so am unsure what gave the impression that you could not do so after 11pm.

PLEASE PLEASE if people have problems understaning how to work televisions or get hotwater or close windows or any other problems, you must tell us at the time as we are human and may have overlooked something! If you bring our attention to it we will sort it out for you or move you to another room if necessary. Had this guest have done this they could have had a much happier time with us, once you have left there is nothing I can do to rectify any problems you may have had!

We are a totally non-smoking hotel but unfortunatley no matter how many times you ask people not to smoke you will always get one who thinks it is their rite to smoke with no regard to anyone else, which is also similar to people who bring in take away's or come in very late and make it their mission to wake as many people as possible. so I can only appologise on their behalfs for any discomfort it may have caused other guest's at the time.

Whilst I am upset, I also feel that most comments made are more to do with personal likes and dislikes which no two people are the same so would be impossible to please everyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
2.6 km away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#19 of 37 in Newquay
206 reviews
1.7 km away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
2.7 km away
Priory Lodge Hotel
Priory Lodge Hotel
#7 of 37 in Newquay
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#12 of 37 in Newquay
958 reviews
0.7 km away
Porth Lodge Hotel
Porth Lodge Hotel
#26 of 37 in Newquay
141 reviews
2.6 km away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#21 of 37 in Newquay
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenton Hotel

Address: Watergate Road, Newquay TR7 3LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: ₹ 4,567 - ₹ 6,893 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kenton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kenton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenton Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing