We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food and rooms”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Watergate Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I stayed at the hotel for the third time as part of the Living Social offer. This included meals in the Brasserie, Jamie's 15 and lunch at the Beach Hut. Once again the food was excellent in all three restaurants. There was some building work with the new extension but this did not noticably interfere with the hotel.

The quality of finish in the rooms is to a very high standard.

It really is a great place to take a walk along the beach, eat and relax.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavegailCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,169 - 1,173 of 1,475 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2012

We have just returned from a 3 day Taste of the Bay booking. Everything at the hotel was perfect. We upgraded to an ocean view room which was definitely worth every penny of the additional cost. The meals included in the deal were exceptional and the additional food we had in the Living Space hotel bar was just as good. The whole experience at The Hotel was lovely and I'm sure we will return to see the new pool and spa facilities when they are open.

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor of the ocean wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julia15w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Just returned from Watergate Bay. We had a great break at what felt like a bargain price. We had the 3 night taste of the bay deal which included dinner at the hotels restaurant, the beach hut and fifteen cornwall.

We took our dog and were given a spacious room in the coach house. We seemed to be surrounded by others with dogs so this was great for us. Lots of people bring thier dogs here so it would not be good for someone who does not like dogs!

The rooms are beautifully decorated and have lots of little touches including DVD players, a fridge etc. The room had a view of the road and hill behind it, would have been lovely to have a sea view but obviously you pay for this privilege!

Meal at the hotel restaurant, the brassiere, was amazing! We really enjoyed it and I would go as far to say it was better than fifteen (although we did have a bit of an unfortunate incident here!). We also had drinks and a snack in the living space bar. This was quite expensive but we enjoyed the food and surroundings. Fantastic view of the bay from here.

Breakfasts were busy but we found if you avoided 9am, it was quiet enough to get what you wanted and enjoy it!

There is building work going on that is due to complete in early May and it really is starting to take shape. It did bot disturb us at all and I am looking forward to returning again to see it complated.

The very best thing about this hotel is the beach and views. We enjoyed some lovely long walks on the beach and on the coastal path to Porth (about 5 miles there and back) with amazing views.

We hope to go back soon!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vicky_taylor58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

This was a fabulous experience, the staff are all great, the food superb and the bath in the bedroom window fantastic.
Well done to all at Watergate you deserve all the success you are achieving. Will be back

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stupug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights on the Taste of the Bay promotion at the end of February 2012. Watergate Bay has a fabulous sandy beach with great coastal walks to the (not so picturesque) Newquay, as well as a fabulous restaurant (Fifteen), and a pub etc. Its great for people who like the outdoors and for surfers etc, with good facilities all linked to the hotel. So setting, nearby facilities and beach all get the 5 stars.

The hotel itself has some fantastic staff, with friendly reception, bar and restaurant staff all very helpful and polite.
As we were on a 3 day deal, we were allocated a standard hotel room, which we were prepared for. We got room 10 which is on the first floor in the main hotel part. The room as expected was small, but perfectly adequate for a couple with a very comfortable bed, nice tv, dvd, tea & coffee making, sleek bathroom (great shower/no bath).
Our only room criticism would be that it was extremely dark - there were 2 small windows which didnt open fully which looked out onto an enclosed tiny courtyard - no view whatsoever, apart from about 2 metres of decking onto a wall opposite. I would have prefered at least something to look out at - even just a carpark - but bear in mind if you get a house standard room that you may have this issue.
Now some useful things to know which lowered out ratings score from 4 to 3 stars:
1) Dogs - this is a dog friendly hotel. Great if you have a dog, but not great if you dont. Many bedrooms are dog friendly - BE CAREFUL booking a coach house room as these are dog friendly rooms - not everyone is comfortable occupying a room that has previously had a dog in it, despite excellent cleaning. Dogs are in the main bar area, and the main lounge area. we tripped over a dog water bowl, left by a previous guest, and didnt really appreciate just how dog friendly it was going to be before booking. Ask reception on booking if you want a room that isnt dog friendly (room 10 is a no-dog room).

2) The place seemed over-run with 2.2 well-healed Londoners - twenty something couples with small child and dog. Again I have no criticism of this apart from it is a bit more noisy and chaotic in the public area, and you need to bear this in mind that this is NOT really a place to get away from it all for peaceful romantic break.

3) The bar/public space area - the hotel has an odd set up whereby there is one massive open plan public lounge/bar/casual dining area - that means board games/internet /fish & chips/cocktails/lounging reading the papers/ children/adults/dogs all share this one big space at the same time with no seperate cosy bar area for adults etc. I appreciate its a particular style of hotel, and agree it is a nice area, but just be aware of this in advance

4) Meals - breakfast was like a package holiday abroad - a self serve system, with everyone crowding down at the same time - its busy, the staff are great - but this isnt a chilled out experience with a cooked breakfast to order you might have hoped. The juices and choices are all good, plenty of hot food, cereals, and cakes.

5) The Brasserie - our 3 day deal included a meal at the hotel's brasserie restaurant - it was fine, nothing memorable. Again the waitress staff were excellent as always, but we ordered the cod for the main course and it was far too salty. We asked if the chef had accidently dropped the salt in the pan, but apparently this was just his seasoning?? It tasted like it had been cooked on a bed of salt, so be aware. The advertised prices for the Brasserie seem too high for the dinner experience we had, so unless its part of your package, its not something I could recommend - although perfectly acceptable.

6) The spa - this will be amazing when finished - we will probably come back just for this. The setting is fabulous with views over the bay - its still being built, so check when its ready and building work is over.

A couple of great things - free car parking all 3 days in the carpark opposite. There are some amazing views from the terrace just off the public space area. Bar prices are good, very reasonable. We did wonder where everyone was on the Friday and Saturday evenings though - the hotel was full but the bar/public area had only a handful of guests using it.

Overall a good stay, just know what to expect in advance. The meal at FIFTEEN was brilliant - but this will be a sepeate review.

Room Tip: The hotel online plan is useless to work out the best rooms. The front of the hotel faced the carpar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CTE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
5.9 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
4.8 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.9 km away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,045 reviews
2.7 km away
The Scarlet Hotel
The Scarlet Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,633 reviews
5.7 km away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watergate Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watergate Bay Hotel

Address: | On the Beach, Watergate Bay, Newquay TR8 4AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#1 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#4 Business Hotel in Newquay
#5 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: ₹ 7,921 - ₹ 20,596 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a spectacular surfing beach on the North Cornwall coast, Watergate Bay Hotel is the perfect destination for a contemporary beach holiday. It’s a place that’s about the balance in life – being active, getting among the elements, eating and drinking well, chilling out and getting cosy. Most of all, it’s about having a good time. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hotel And Extreme Academy, Watergate Bay
Hotel Watergate Bay
Watergate Hotel Newquay
Bay Hotel Watergate
Watergate Bay Newquay
Watergate Bay Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing