We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“best all girls surf holiday!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Matt's Surf Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Matt's Surf Lodge
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best all girls surf holiday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

i could not have prepared myself for the amazing kindness of the staff at matts. They really know the town and most of them were holiday makers who ended up staying for years, and almost convinced us to do the same. They showed us where to surf where to go on a night out and how to play guitar!! They were like your new bezzers for the week! as well as all that, whoevers working is always up for a chat and equally cant do enough to help me and the girls had an amzing week thanks to these guys! Dan, Jen, Chad, James, Howard, Tim, lyn, sam and Jade not to mention the others and thier personal friends who also welcomed us. thanks for showing us the newquay way to live!

Lots of love from the northern girls :) xx

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7 at the front with a double bed and 3 singles, and an en-suit shower and loo room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebbeca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    11
    0
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
7
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Finished my A levels and wanted a change of scenery for the summer so thought I'd try a season in Newquay, working surfing and making friends and I couldnt have done it at a better lodge! I was one of eight 'long termers' staying at the lodge over summer and despite not really knowing anyone it took only 5 minutes before i felt welcome and one of the group among them and the staff.. then about a week later at a mass matts lodge roast they felt like family.
The staff and those that live there are what made my summer so great creating from the moment you step foot inside a friendly chilled out vibe, you would have to really try to dislike the people and the atmosphere. Moreover the staff whether your a long termer or a stranger and so accommodating and lovely, they really do just want to give everyone thats staying a good holiday.
Then alongside this the rooms are comfortable, the lodge cleaned everyday, the shower nice and hot (perfect after a surf) and the kitchen fully equipped with 2 oven and stoves, 2 fridges and plenty of cupboard space.
I was there for almost 3 months in total and I dont have a single complaint! Only fantastic memories so thats pretty damn good! All this and for the cheapest price you can find! I fully recommend this lodge to anyone and am currently planning some trips down to see the staff and the lodge which holds a lot of wonderful memories.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ace237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

Fare enough, we rang up 2 days before arrival, they got us in at such late notice, paid half over paypal so the commitment bond was there, turned up to the lodge and walked in the back entrance, ye it had that surfer vibe, but was pretty minging compared to other lodges just crap everywhere. We then paidd the other half of the remaining balance and told we all had to pay £10 each for DEPOSIT, we weren't informed on the phone of this, but as hostels go, we all paid. Deposit being the operative word, for damages, mess etc.

Anyways, we were shown to our rooms, 4 in one 3 in the other, The 3 bed was alright if youre a fan of spooning and okay to share a double, well one of those bunk beds that they say is a double, neither room had any space to move or get ready. The 4 bed was a pit, mouldy bummy smelling sheets hanging off the bunkbeds, basically being used as a laundry room, the guy working there sheepishly came and cleared them out. This room also had no plugs inside, for 4 girls to try and get ready in there it was a nightmare, had to sit on the landing and blowdry/straighten our hair in the full view of the other lodgers. Neither rooms had en suite, which was fare enough we hadn't paid for that, however an en suite room was £2.50 more! For us, we had to use one of the 2 shower/toilets available in the whole lodge the showers stank with no ventilation and the toilet had no loo roll! again 7 girls waiting for a shower, whilst other lodges are waiting too, not fun!!

Also...when we were initially shown to the room we were greeted with a stench of weed, from the adjoining room, none of us are into that so we made a point of it, the guy on shift knocked on the door and said 'can you take it outside please' and that was it, nothing of a no drugs policy at all, its alright to stink out the whole place.

We were only there for the night so we got on with it anyway, we all got ready and moved into one room for a casual game of ring of fire, o i failed to mention you aren't allowed any drinks in your room as the lodge has its own bar, if you can call it that. but we did it anyway, we played our music, we sang a bit, just like girls on a night out do, it was getting to about 11pm, we were near enough ready to head into the town, when a staff member came up and asked us to keep the noise down and turn the music down, so we did...then we went out.

We returned at 4 in the morning all in a more than merry state, and the lodge was still lively, 3 people chatting on the sofas, a group of guys and another group of girls coming back from town, so the atmosphere was quite loud. half of our group went to sleep while the other stayed up, the boys next door were making a racket, trying to get in our rooms, running up and down etc..general banter. the girl on shift came up and asked us all to keep the noise down. We shut the door and carried on drinking and speaking, then she come up again and said she could hear us stomping around, i think she was hearing things as one of us was in a drawer under the bed, one having a feast and the others passed out...she said we had lost our BEHAVIOUR BONDS.....our what????

Behaviour bonds being our deposit! The deposit supposedly counteracts as a behaviour bond, what are we 12? Supposedly for being too noisy we had lost our £10 each, so £70 for giggling? The girl said for coming up 3 times, she didn't know what to do with us?? that we were keeping people awake and that 3 people had to go downstairs as we were too loud, if we were too loud keeping people up, surely they would have said something..and there were 3 people sat there when we came back!!!!!!!

We all went to sleep and the next morning cleared our mess up ready to check out, of course we questioned the bonds...'good girl bonds' we were told we would not receive them back due to our behaviour, however the group of lads taking drugs and shouting all received theres and the other noisy girls. There was a heated debate in the corridor, but the staff were adamant we were not receiving our deposits, what about the 3 who went straight to sleep. We were then told that the deposits would be going to an open bar for the guests we disrupted, turns out the staff who makes the complaints gets to keep it, nice little money make for you there!!

all in all, it appears all friendly but they target big groups and make as much money as possible. 22.50 a night turns out to be 32.50 complete RIP OFF!!!

if you read below its happened before....

Id personally head to Belushis, St Christophers inn, so much better!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattsSurfLodge, Owner at Matt's Surf Lodge, responded to this review, 10 June 2012
We are not the Fun Police, but we are at hand to ensure all our guests have a good time.....all the time!
We remember this night well as the persons writing the review were responsible for keeping fellow guests awake until the early hours and upsetting both female staff members, who were on duty.
Before the group arrived, we confirmed by email the exact description of the rooms reserved and our policies relating to the £10 good behaviour bond.
It is a dishonest review as many points raised are simply untrue, so we will keep our response concise but we can assure you all our bedrooms do have plug sockets, communal facilities are cleaned several times a day and private bathrooms upon request.
We do operate a strict drugs policy and the authorities will be informed if we suspect taking drugs on or off the premises.
We appreciate that our guests are on holiday and here to enjoy themselves, we are friendly and work on the basis of mutual respect, this was in fact the only good behaviour bond taken in 2011.
Please ignore this review.
Matt &co.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

Matt's Surf Lodge is, without doubt, Newquay's best kept secret. In a once small fishing town now overrun with tourists out on stag do's and hen nights, the true essence of surf culture, on which Newquay's initial popularity was based, has been lost in commercialisation and capitalists eager to rip you off with substandard accommodation (a good example of which... I probably shouldn't name, but let's say it rhymes with "qwerties").
But Matt's Surf Lodge is one of the few places that keeps the authentic surf culture alive. Upon entering, the various murals on the walls and surf-themed brands and photos throughout gave this vibe. The staff and guests were all so open, friendly and easy-going that it was often hard to tell which was which. When I first entered the kitchen (with the intention of making burgers for the first time) I had no hesitations in asking where to find pans, plates and the like, and within a minute or so I was being made a cup of tea by one of the staff, before sitting down with some of the other staff/guests to watch a film. All within a few hours of checking in!
With pool games at 40p a pop instead of £1 like most of the other pool tables in the town, and drinks (of the alcoholic kind) at £1.20 rather than £3.50, it's mind-boggling to think that it doesn't have a six month waiting list!
I could take all night offering other plus points about the Lodge in detail, but put it this way: WHY, at peak holiday times, would you spend a night in a poxy room with a view of a roof-top air conditioning unit, no parking and an en suite without even soap, as well as drinks at about £3.50 each and meals starting at £5 cheapest (because guests can't enter the kitchens) and pay £29.50 a night for the pleasure; WHEN you could spend a night at Matt's Surf Lodge, with a room with a great sea view, free on-site parking, ample shower and toilet facilities and a welcoming atmosphere, with drinks starting at £1.20 and free facilities to cook your own meals or even help yourself to a free continental breakfast, all for only £25 a night!
I just hope it will remain a secret, so that it doesn't become another faceless, tourist-trap chain like most other lodgings in Newquay.

My only regret is that I only stayed one night!

Room Tip: Room 10 is the business... especially for 2 people!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackyG17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Padre Island, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2011

Matts surf lodge is what you pay for but the atomsphere is priceless. the people there are so friendly and wecloming, there help with whatever you need and thats jus the staff, the other people staying are just as friendly and always up for a chat...prob about the surf lol I found that the place gets ahold of you and you dont wna leave as i found, there are some people that have gone for a few days and stayed for a few years lol The place in genral is your average surf, skate, chillaxing sorta place, its not your white wash walls and sparkling stainless steel cuttlerey BUT every inch has a quality that overcomes that. The rooms arent very spacshish but amazing views ( the best ive been in) and very comfy beds plus lovin the onsuit =). In a nutshell...matts surf lodge is the cabin logde with open lit fires on a cold rainy day...n thats just the atmoshphere. Id definatly stay again and had an amzing time. Thanks to all the guys and hope to see you soon =) Nat n Sarah

Room Tip: Room 6 is the best =)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank natz89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.4 km away
Breakers Lodge
Breakers Lodge
#12 of 76 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.3 km away
MOR
MOR
#26 of 76 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.7 km away
Blue Reef Lodge
Blue Reef Lodge
#59 of 76 in Newquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Ocean Lodge Newquay
Ocean Lodge Newquay
#2 of 76 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
1.4 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
8.5 km away
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in White Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matt's Surf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matt's Surf Lodge

Property: Matt's Surf Lodge
Address: 110 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 1QP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 76 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Price range (per night): ₹ 865 - ₹ 2,163
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matts Surf Lodge, The Original Newquay Surf lodge. Matts is a great place to stay and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere and soak up the surf vibe. If your looking for a great place to stay in Newquay on a budget with clean rooms, Then Matts Surf Lodge is a great idea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Matt's Surf Lodge Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing