We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Location, Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great Western Hotel
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Amazing Location, Good Hotel”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

The Great Western's location has to be the best point about the hotel. It is at the end of Newquay town with lovely shops near by with everything you could need plus nice restaurants. The steam bar is part of the great western hotel with a lovely big lounge and beautiful sea views. Outside there is quite a big play train for children and smoking area under cover with tables and a heater. We only ever ate breakfast at the Great western but it was delicious. Although it may be more expensive than other places it is worth it, the quality of the food is great. The rooms are standard but good. They are quite spacious, comfy beds just a little dated. All the facilities you need and clean. Overall an amazing place we have been there twice with family. A down point is that to park in the car park specifically for the hotel you are charged £5 a night and has to be booked in advanced. Would be even better if there was a pool.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sylviabutcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    294
    118
    47
    42
See reviews for
132
466
21
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Ideal family hotel with great friendly staff. Good views and close to the beach. All in all a good clean hotel. Very outdated but price compensates for this.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are obviously more but if your on a budget surely being on the beautiful bar terrace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Motherhen84206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed in a sea view room and it had great views from 3 windows onto the beach below.

The staff and housekeeping were very good and friendly. As were the bar and restraunt staff, could choice and value of food.

Room Tip: Sea View Room amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsteen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We booked very very last minute and arrived approx 8pm, we couldn't have wished for a more welcoming helpful check in. The Woman on reception was brilliant, she did suggest that we might like to pay a slightly higher rate which would give us a bigger and newly refurbed room and what a room. Spacious doesn't seem a big enough word to describe the size of room, beautifully and very tastefully decorated and the view of the sea and the sunset made the small amount we paid extra seem nothing. We'd had a long day and decided that we'd eat in the restaurant. The menu was varied offering good value family fair and some quite different dishes. They proclaimed to be cooked fresh to order and locally sourced...we should never have had any doubts. The meal was sensational and every bit as freshly cooked and delicious as stated on the menu. My husband had the 'catch of the day', which was Megrim, we'd never heard of it before but without hesitation I recommend this to anyone and I defy them not to find it delicious, well cooked and beautifully served. We also did what runner1_12 did, we kept our curtains and window open, we watched the sunset, the tide come in, people and dogs on the beach and the owl hooting telling everybody to get to bed. I highly recommend the hotel, the staff and the food. Through my husbands work we have stayed in many different starred hotels throughout Europe (Noga Hilton in Cannes) USA ( Paris in Las Vegas) and the UK, the Great Western, as an overall package can certainly hold its head high. Highly recommend and we'll certainly be going back......soon. Ps. HUGE comfortable beds and sparklingly clean including the delightful bathroom complete with fluffy snow white towels

Room Tip: Go for a refurbed one with a sea view... 215
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I stayed here for one night after an event in another Newquay hotel which was fully booked. The welcome, at gone 6pm, was fantastic and the staff were very helpful with regards to parking - despite the fact I hadn't pre booked (which I would now recommend!). However they have another parking area just a few seconds away which is just as convenient as parking outside the hotel itself - just without the barrier. My room - a 'premium' one on the first floor - was outstanding. Very well furnished, light and airy with sea colours, and of course an amazing sea view! The room was spotless, including the bathroom. Well equipped with kettle, lots of tea & coffee, milk, biscuits etc; shampoo, shower gel, hand wash, soap etc and a hair dryer - very rarely included nowadays, as was the extra pillows, duvet and blanket - which you normally have to ask for. I managed to get a weak wifi signal in my room (enough to check & send email), and something that's always important to me - they have plugs beside the bed. Perfect for my phone (which is also my alarm clock) overnight. On my arrival back, at gone 12am, it was nice to see smiling staff still on reception greeting me back. After a night in a very hot ball room of another hotel, going to sleep with all the windows open, the curtains billowing and the sound of the waves crashing on the beach was heaven. I didn't eat at the hotel - I booked room only - so I can't comment on the food or bar, but as a hotel for a simple nights stay - something I do often - it is second to none. I couldn't find anything to complain about (maybe the decor of the corridors are a bit dated), but I cannot recommend it highly enough. I will certainly be back if I need to stay in Newquay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thewonderingmarketer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
2.3 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.6 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.3 km away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
1,347 reviews
0.2 km away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
1.1 km away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Western Hotel

Property: Great Western Hotel
Address: Cliff Road | Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#16 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,456 - ₹ 10,526
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Great Western Hotel in Newquay is a perfect spot to stay, eat and drink on Cornwall’s breathtaking Atlantic coastline. Set in the heart of Newquay, with a superb sea view, clifftop garden and terrace and only a few steps from the golden sandy beach and the sea, the Great Western Hotel offers some of the best value accommodation* in Newquay for relaxation, informality and comfort. Steam, the Hotel bar and restaurant, offers the best in informal dining and socialising throughout the day and into the evening, with a menu of locally sourced dishes which blend Cornwall with the Mediterranean. All the food is freshly prepared and locally sourced where possible while the well stocked and stylish bar offers a full range of drinks. For a weekend break or a holiday in Newquay, The Great Western Hotel offers a great seaside location to enjoy your time in Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Great Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Hotel Newquay, Cornwall
Great Western Newquay
Hotel Great Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing