We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Cheap Holiday in January” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great Western Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Great Western Hotel
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Caldicot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cheap Holiday in January”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in the hotel, room was clean but dated, not that bothered me. Staff were extremely friendly and happy to chat.
I was in room 201 on the top floor a bit of a trek to get there view out of the windows wasnt great (it was the other part of the hotel) but you could hear the waves crashing on the beach below. the outside area at the back was smart looking and clean and generally well kept.

Overall a good experience and would recommend.

Room Tip: try and get a newly refurbished room costs a little more but with views of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanKenyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    272
    108
    45
    40
See reviews for
120
417
19
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oxon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed for a long weekend and was not disappointed ,we stayed in a standard room which was clean and comfy and made an ideal base.the hotel has a restaurant and bar called the steam bar .the food and drink was reasonably priced and we ate there .I do do recommend that you book parking as it is limited and costs a fiber per night .we definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johncrighton63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Excellent value for money room was clean the staff were lovely food and drink sensibly priced location of hotel was good and the area was flat had my own parking spot out side of reception will return

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 94Andys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed for a quick weekend break in one of the budget rooms. The room was fine, bigger than expected and you could see a bit of beach out of the window.
The thing that really made the stay was the staff, they were just lovely. They went out of their way for us in many ways, didn't hard sell the parking, in fact told us that it was free to park on the road until April. The barman came over to tell us it was last orders and to see if we wanted anything else and reception had great ideas for places to eat and walks to take.
I'd go back any day.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaColeBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, Devon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

I booked online so was a bit dubious at the £29 per room rate. It was my fiances 40th and we just wanted a room for the night as we drove around cornwall most of the day. The outside of the hotel could be improved but once inside the receptionist was very welcoming and the hotel was cosy. We went to our standard room and were pleasantly suprised. The furniture was pine and the room was warm and cosy. We didnt hear any noise from adjacent rooms. The bathroom was dated and the view from the room was awful, but it said online if you wanted sea views then you would pay extra. Anyhow, by the time we arrived it was dark so the curtains were drawn!
We ventured down to the bar/restaurant once unpacked and enjoyed the local Ratler cider and a game of pool. The bar was lovely and has lots of space. We went onto the terrace and could see beaches either side of us, in the summer i can imagine this would be beautiful!
We went to a greek taverna for our meal which was lovely.
All in all we enjoyed a pleasant night stay and will definitely return if we need another night stop!

Room Tip: If you want a value room and are not bothered by the view choose the standard room (there are amazin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
2.0 km away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
0.2 km away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.6 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.5 km away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Western Hotel

Property: Great Western Hotel
Address: Cliff Road | Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Newquay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#16 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,220 - ₹ 9,056
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Great Western Hotel in Newquay is a perfect spot to stay, eat and drink on Cornwall’s breathtaking Atlantic coastline. Set in the heart of Newquay, with a superb sea view, clifftop garden and terrace and only a few steps from the golden sandy beach and the sea, the Great Western Hotel offers some of the best value accommodation* in Newquay for relaxation, informality and comfort. Steam, the Hotel bar and restaurant, offers the best in informal dining and socialising throughout the day and into the evening, with a menu of locally sourced dishes which blend Cornwall with the Mediterranean. All the food is freshly prepared and locally sourced where possible while the well stocked and stylish bar offers a full range of drinks. For a weekend break or a holiday in Newquay, The Great Western Hotel offers a great seaside location to enjoy your time in Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Great Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Hotel Newquay, Cornwall
Great Western Newquay
Hotel Great Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing