We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value and great location.”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

2 night stay with my son's junior rugby team. Nice hotel, pool great for the kids. Nice restaurant and bar with good food. Got an excellent rate for a standard but clean and comfortable room. Great location overlooking the spectacular beach.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us on your recent rugby tour, we enjoyed having all the children stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    720
    431
    129
    55
    27
See reviews for
514
434
54
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2012

After you are staying in Esplanade Hotel - Newquay, you will not write any complaint on your feedback form, you will be leaving with your satisfraction.
Hotel price is reasonable for 3 stars
Restaurant menu is fine , it is not too expensive.
Breakfast is English breakfast so it will be a same as every hotel in the UK .
You can access to internet - don't forget to bring your laptop or phone with internet connection.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Thank you Quan T for your lovely review and for taking the time to share some pictures of your stay with us, looks like you enjoyed the brilliant weather we had over Easter! Hope to see you again in the future and don't forget to join our loyalty club so that you can receive all our special offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

A brilliant 2 night stay. The staff were amazing, friendly, helpful and just superb. The room was spotless and the food was tasty, fresh and modern. The location was perfect. Book a seaview room, you won't be disappointed. We had a great stay. Only one criticism ( and that's the wrong word really) the breakfast was finished by 0930 so we never made it (we work hard in our own business and was looking forward to a lie in).I'd like to thank all the staff for all thier hard work. It deserves be a 4 star hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alwelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Dear Alwelsh, Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you had a lovely stay with us and will take on board your comments regarding breakfast. Hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Lovely location outside Newquay. Stayed in a single room, clean, not fancy. Old furntiture, light came in around the door. Pool nice. Jaccuzi filthy and lukewarm bacteria broth. Sauna got warm, not hot. Breakfast overpriced but nice coffee. Don't pay full price.

Room Tip: Single room on first floor has a good view but thin walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meg660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Dear Meg660, I apologise that your stay did not live up to your expectations. We have recently refurbished 25% of our rooms this winter and will be making our way through the other rooms. We do have regular checks of the pool and jacuzzi area and apologise that the jacuzzi was dirty when you went to use it. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we will take all your comments on board for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We booked an Esplanade family room online on a whim so had no real idea of its wonderful location until we arrived. It sits right at the end of Fistral Bay and the view is beautiful from the hotel. Our room was large, light, airy and clean and looked freshly decorated, and although we did not book a sea view we could still see the sea from our room. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was good (although breakfast is pricey). On a cool afternoon the children loved the pool. The hotel puts on regular activities for children which is good, although the indoor play area is a little small. We visited over Easter so parking was not an issue as you can park all along the road outside the hotel, but in the summer it might be more of an issue. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Foonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Dear Foonce, Thank you for your review and we are glad that the whole family enjoyed themselves! Hope to see you again soon and don't forget to join our loyalty club on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.0 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.3 km away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
0.8 km away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#25 of 38 in Newquay
62 reviews
2.0 km away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 38 in Newquay
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade Hotel

Property: The Esplanade Hotel
Address: Fistral Beach Esplanade Road, Newquay TR7 1PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#8 Business Hotel in Newquay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#13 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,249 - ₹ 14,248
Hotel Class:3 star — The Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade Hotel is a contemporary family-focused hotel overlooking the world-famous Fistral Beach in Newquay with stunning views from inside and out. The Hotel is more than just a place to sleep - it's a place where you can enjoy quality family holidays on the North Cornwall coast; from splashing about in the heated indoor pool and dining together in the informal family-friendly Ocean View Restaurant to exploring the indoor and outdoor play areas or chilling out in the reception lounge whilst soaking up the view and enjoying a coffee. The hotel is also home to the Quiksilver Surf School and all guests receive discounted surf lessons and equipment hire- the Esplanade Hotel really does have something for all the family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Newquay
The Esplanade Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing