We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your money on super pitch!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Monkey Tree Holiday Park
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Don't waste your money on super pitch!”
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Paid extra to get the ensuite bathroom. It was this that decided us on monkey tree. Was a total waste of money. Bathroom would flood after just one shower. But main complaint was the cleaners. Even though a sign stated they would clean after 1pm, this was not the case. They would turn up any time in the am and without warning. No knock on the door! They will just unlock and walk in. Even after asking them to at least knock, it still continued. Ultimately my wife felt unable to use the bathroom that we had paid extra for as there was no privacy. She used through main block which she felt was much cleaner. Will Def not be going back.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dg270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonkeyTreeManager, General Manager at Monkey Tree Holiday Park, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay with us.

We regret that you felt unsatisfied with the private bathroom facilities provided as part of your superpitch. We have had numerous customers who, over the years have really enjoyed the benefits of a private bathroom which led us to create more Superpitches for the 2011 season. We have never experienced issues with regards to the showers flooding in our original bathrooms but take your comments on board and will be having our Manitenance Team check all of the showers in order to correct any issues that may exist.

I am particularly dissapointed to hear that were unhappy with the cleaning service provided. Our Cleaning Team work to a strict routine which dictates that private suites should only be cleaned after 1pm daily. I will certainly undertake an investigation as to why there may have been issues with this in order to ensure that the situation is resolved.
We strive to continuosly improve the service we provide to our customers and welcome your feedback as it will help us to do so.

Thank you again for taking the time to comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    95
    52
    36
    25
See reviews for
267
40
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We stayed at the Monkey Tree for a week in St Ives caravan. The caravan was tidy and clean but a bit tatty around the edges - mold on bathroom blind and sofa torn. The facilities for children were good, ours are aged 10, 8, 4 and 11 months, and they had a great time at the site. The only downside was that you had to pay for everything - the bouncy castles, indoor soft play area, ride on cars etc. It cost £4.50 per day for each child to use the indoor play and bouncy castles which works out a lot of money thoughout the holiday, especially if it rains and the bouncy castles are not inflated! We only went down to the Club house once in the evening and they had a magician performing. It was very entaining and the kids loved it.
We visited Fistral beach in Newquay which was nice and also visited Crantock beach which was really beautiful. We would certainly visit Newquay again but probably wouldn't stay at Monkey Tree - it has the makings of a great holiday park but is tired round the edges and could do with a bit of care and painting!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonTravelcrazy, Manager at Monkey Tree Holiday Park, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Thank you for reviewing Monkey Tree, we appreciate your feedback.

Our housekeeping team work hard to ensure that caravans are clean, nicely presented and fully equipt however I apologise that there appears to have been a couple of items which were overlooked in this instance. We always aim to provide accomodation of the best possible quality and therefore we will ensure that these issues are fully rectified.

We take on board your comments regarding children's activites and are pleased to announce that the Indoor Play area, Trampolines and Bouncy Castles will be free of charge from 1st April 2012 providing plenty of activities for children at no extra cost.

We hope to welcome you back to the Park in the not too distant future.

Best Wishes for all at Monkey Tree.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2011

This was our third year at Monkey Tree but our first staying in a static caravan. The static van we stayed in was spacious and tidy.

It's now been 2/3 weeks since we've been home and our kids are still talking about Funky Monkey and the gang! They love kids club and Funky Monkey and there are lots of daily activies to do throughout the school holidays. The evening entertainment in the bars are brilliant, our kids really came out of themselves this year, dancing and making new friends.

If you're looking for a fun packed family holiday, which is great for kids, we would definitely recommend Monkey Tree Holiday Park!

We love it so much that we have already booked to stay at Monkey Tree next year!

Room Tip: Trenance, St Ives or Padstow
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bear562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonTravelcrazy, Manager at Monkey Tree Holiday Park, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Thank you for reviewing Monkey Tree. We are pleased that your children benefitted from Kid's Club and that the Family as a whole enjoyed our extensive entertainment and activity schedule.

We plan to make lots more improvements over the Winter and look forward to seeing you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

A great value family holiday park. We camped for 2 weeks in the Rally field which was well spaced out and had ample toilet and shower blocks - only had to wait once for a few minutes to get a shower - even though the site was fully booked for the 2nd week.
The facilities on site are very good although some need a little updating. Plenty to keep you occupied on a rainy Cornish day and a very handy local bus stop to Newquay and Truro which came in handy when the car broke down! Staff are are really helpful, polite and can't do enough for you.
The site was kept very clean, welcoming and well maintained - it was very rare that we saw any rubbish around the park. The toilet and shower blocks were usually very clean thanks to the cleaners who were battling against the odds with all dusty and wet shoes trapsing in and out.
The on-site shop was reasonably priced and the club bar was not too bad for a "captive audience" venue. The kids may pester for pounds though for the arcade, ride on cars and crazy golf.
Entertainment was really good for kids and the adults. Kids club every morning and evening and most afternoons there was something for the family to do if you were on-site. The evening adult shows were all outside entertainers and very worthwhile staying around for - even with the kids.
All in all a fantastic holiday and we would not hesitate to recommend and are planning to retunr next year!

Room Tip: Just go with the flow and enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicholaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonTravelcrazy, Manager at Monkey Tree Holiday Park, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holiday with us and are looking to return in 2012 - we will be working throughout the Winter to ensure that next year will be even better!

Best Wishes from the Team at Monkey Tree!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2011

I stayed at Monkey Tree Holiday Park with my husband and two children aged 2 and 6 in July this year. We had looked at many holiday parks in the Newquay area and decided on Monkey Tree because of the accomodation it provided. We booked a luxury caravan, The Padstow, for one week and we were not dissapointed.The luxury caravans are new this season and they are stunning.
The holiday park is located about a 15 min drive from both Newquay and Perranporth beaches and is set in the countryside. There was lots for the kids to do and although my husband and myself are not great fans of entertainment in the evening we took the kids along for the first part and they loved dancing about with the Funky Monkey. The grounds are immaculately kept and there was a nice family atmosphere in the park.
My only dissapointment was that some of the amenities were not fully opened because it was not the English school holidays yet, although us in Scotland had been off for 3 weeks already. We did not have access to the Bakery or Take-away and some of the shop did not have extended opening hours. However we did get the caravan at a considerably reduced rate.
All in all we had a superb family holiday.

Room Tip: The Monkey Tree have a good website which keeps you updated on any special offers on caravans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKLMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonTravelcrazy, Manager at Monkey Tree Holiday Park, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
We are pleased to hear that you have recently enjoyed a great holiday at Monkey Tree. Whilst we believe that the price of the of our holiday homes 'out of season' offers good value for money we have taken on board your comments and aim to extend/increse the facilities provided in our shoulder months.

We hope to welcome you back to the Park in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
6.9 km away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#27 of 38 in Newquay
57 reviews
7.6 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
7.2 km away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 km away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,208 reviews
7.5 km away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
993 reviews
9.4 km away
Newquay View Resort
Newquay View Resort
#5 of 76 in Newquay
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monkey Tree Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monkey Tree Holiday Park

Property: Monkey Tree Holiday Park
Address: Scotland Road | Rejerrah, Newquay TR8 5QR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 76 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Number of rooms: 750
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monkey Tree Holiday Park & Campsite, Newquay, Cornwall is an award-winning family Holiday Park just minutes away from Perranporth & Newquay. Situated on the North Coast of Cornwall Monkey Tree Holiday Park & camping the benefit of having some of Europe’s finest beaches just minutes away. Monkey Tree Holiday Park has an excellent range of static holiday homes to suit all tastes and budgets. The choice of caravan and camping pitches is superb, from standard non electric to those with hard standing, electricity, water supply and main drainage and even private bathroom facilities if required. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Monkey Tree Holiday Park Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing