We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A fantastic day in the Cornish countryside.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lappa Valley Steam Railway

Lappa Valley Steam Railway
Ranked #7 of 56 things to do in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Fun for all the family We open 2016 winter weekends from 5 November until 4 December 2016, then our Santa Trains (pre-booking is essential) and 2017 winter weekends 4 February until 2016 March 2017. Everyone, young or old, loves a train ride and Lappa Valley Steam Railway offers three different railways experiences, with over three miles of track! Your journey begins with the mile-long trip, from Benny Halt Station, on a miniature steam locomotive taking you through the picturesque wooded valley to East Wheal Rose. Here you will find more railways, a fabulous wooded valley to explore with a boating lake, a path maze, crazy golf, play area, plus delicious food in the Whistle Stop Cafe and a gift shop packed with everything about trains and more. Lappa Valley is the ideal day out for a family, loads for the children to do all day and plenty to entertain mums, dads and grandparents too!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A fantastic day in the Cornish countryside.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

I've been going to lappa valley since I was a kid and when the sun is shining it is a fantastic day out. There is loads to do after the railway journey. Boating, country walks, mine heritage, adventure playgrounds, it is a good value for money attraction and good to combine with trerice house and st newlyn east village!

Helpful?
Thank littleitalynqy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muffin032, General Manager at Lappa Valley Steam Railway, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Delighted that you've regularly enjoyed your visits here, especially as you say when the sun is shining ! We do try to offer good value for money hence no charges for anything once you've paid to come in (apart from the coin operated electric cars). St Newlyn East offers a good local shop, Post Office and a great pub !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,021 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    655
    249
    69
    25
    23
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Boating lake, trains, mine heritage, walks. Do check the times first as most of the attractions are at the end of the train ride in, so if you've just missed the train you could be hanging around for a while with bored children. When we last went it looked like more was being added at the terminal.

Helpful?
Thank Railholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muffin032, General Manager at Lappa Valley Steam Railway, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Delighted you like the variety of activities here, sorry to hear you may have had to wait for a train. We do put on extra trains at peak periods to try to reduce or eliminate this, something we keep working on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 415 helpful votes
“sorry boring”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

great for train buffs but it was boring, the view was not always good and the seating was uncomfortable

Helpful?
4 Thank mamamurphy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muffin032, General Manager at Lappa Valley Steam Railway, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
I am sorry we failed to live up to your expectations during your visit. We generally find that visitors enjoy the variety of activities on site, i.e. three different railways, boating lake, crazy golf and childrens' play areas. We do however appreciate visitors' feedback so we can improve the experience where possible
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Lovely on a nice day :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

What better way to spend a nice summers day! The train ride in is very unique - kids love it.

Helpful?
3 Thank swcomputers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
286 reviews
166 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Train enthusiasts may enjoy this.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

The train ride is popular, especially for young children. There are a few things for families to do at the end of the track but not a great deal & nothing on rainy days.

Helpful?
2 Thank Flo413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muffin032, General Manager at Lappa Valley Steam Railway, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
I would hope that many families enjoy a visit, even if not train enthusiasts ! With three different railways, a boating lake ,crazy golf and many play areas we do offer quite a variety of things for families to do - but yes come dressed for the weather on wet days !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lappa Valley Steam Railway also viewed

 

Been to Lappa Valley Steam Railway? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing