We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really and welcoming ”
Review of The Towan Blystra

The Towan Blystra
Ranked #125 of 268 Restaurants in Newquay
Cuisines: Diner
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Came in to Wetherspoons whilst on holiday. Food is really good and had came out really quickly. Staff really friendly and welcoming. Meal presentation really good looks like the posters. The pizza ordered was meat feast and was really nice cooked to perfection. Children's meals was a good size and really attractive. Chicken burger was really juicy and good amount of salad and chips. Jacket potato was cooked really well. I will be coming back again the time we are in Newquay :-)

Thank Passport755057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowanBlystra, Manager at The Towan Blystra, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you for your positive review.

We strive to achieve good service and good quality food and are pleased to hear we met those expectations on your visit with us.

We do hope you return again soon.

Kind regards,

Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (567)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 74 of 568 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018

Ideally located if staying in local hostels/hotels.

Lots of staff made service quick for both drinks and food.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SYclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowanBlystra, Manager at The Towan Blystra, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you for your review.

We do strive to achieve speedy service in our restaurant and we are glad you experienced this.

We hope you will be a returning customer.

Kind regards,

Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Its ok for a spoons , ran out of steak on a "steak" night tho at 6.30pm. Offered the chicken dish which wasnt great.
good choice of beers though

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bigt85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowanBlystra, Manager at The Towan Blystra, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you for your review.

We sincerely apologise for the availability issues on this occasion. We do aim to have 100% availability at all times.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our selection of beers.

We hope to see you again soon

Kind regards,

Managemtn team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

I'm currently on holiday in Newquay and tried the Towan for a meal last night. The pub is fine, pretty much what you expect from a 'spoons place. Service was fine at the bar, the meal arrived after 20 minutes but the food was very disappointing
.
My wife had the Beef Chilli, it was just about ok but not very warm, I had the classic burger which was served on a bun with a few pieces of onion and a lettuce leaf, the burger was over cooked, dry and very chewy. There were a few chips on the plate which tasted like warm ups. When i complained the staffs attitude was dismissive.

I've eaten at a lot of Weatherspoons places over the years ,and some are great, some aren't, this is definitely NOT one of the great ones.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sg31a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowanBlystra, Manager at The Towan Blystra, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Thank you for your review.

We apologies about your recent visit with us and are saddened we did not reach your expectations on this occasion.

We are glad to hear you were happy with the service but we will definitely cascade this information to the rest of the team to help improve our customers experinces.

Kind regards,

Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

Our second visit to this public house for breakfast. We visited Newquay last November for a week and used the Towan Blystra every day for breakfast & evening meals. The breakfasts have been consistently either cold or luke warm despite the plates being hot.Have told them about this, but it still has not been improved. Had eggs benedict this morning, my husband had traditional breakfast. His was luke warm, my eggs were stone cold. Will be using other cafes in Newquay for breakfast for the rest of our week's holiday here - there are plenty of them.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sh3ffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowanBlystra, Manager at The Towan Blystra, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Thank you for your review.

We are saddened to hear about your recent visit to the Towan Blystra.

I will cascade this information onto the team and look for ways to improve.

We do hope you can return so we can restore your faith in us.

Kind regards,

Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Towan Blystra also viewed

Perranporth, Cornwall
Truro, Truro District
 
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to The Towan Blystra? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing