We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place in ideal location”
Review of Cotehele Lodge

Cotehele Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cotehele Lodge
Ranked #90 of 105 Newquay B&B and Inns
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great place in ideal location”
Reviewed 3 May 2011

a very good hotel that is well furnished and decorated to a high standard, the owners nick and sonja are great hosts and run pobably the best b and b in newquay

Room Tip: rooms at the front have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    11
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
14
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2011

We were a group of three girls traveling down to newquasy for my 21st birthday. Friendly family, nice welcome. rooms were very clean and tidy. bed was comfy. Didnt have the breakfast in the morning, but i think it is good that they bring it to you rooms. It was easy to get in and out of the hotel when you wanted to, garanteed you have to be quiet. was not a problem. would definatly come again! and recomend this guest house to couples or familys. thank you.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessWoolacott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nuneaton
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Having stayed at Cotehele lodge several times previously we were looking to our holiday with our teenage sons in August. Nick and Sonja's welcome has always been so warm and sincere making us feel welcome and comfortable.
Having spoke to Nick prior we knew that Cotehele had recently undergone a refurbishment. However nothing prepared us for the surprise on our arrival.What a superb transformation. This establishment must now rank among Newquays premier establishments.
The thought and quality of the furnishings and decor has to be experienced to be appreciated. Cotehele lodge is traditional but through meticulous planning has a contemporary refreshing aura. What is wonderfully absent however is that sometimes souless feeling that pervades some businesses vying for the upper sector of the hotel market.
I absolutely could not fault our stay with its superb welcome, facilities and location. We left feeling rejuvenated and content. For those wanting a special holiday at very reasonable rates you absolutely be entralled with cotehele. Cant wait for our next visit(s)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joshbiksas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2010

My husband and I decided to visit Newquay for a few nights from the 25th July 2010. We were about to abandon the idea of having a break in Newquay as many of the main hotels wanted over £400 for a 3 night stay which is out of our price range.

After trawling the internet for several hours I found the Cotehele Lodge. I was slightly aprehensive about booking into a B and B as we have never done so before, but after reading other reviews on here I decided to take a chance. I booked the superior double room by phone after looking at the Cotehele Lodge web-site, and to my delight there was an additional £20 taken off the room price for booking early which was honoured when I phoned up. We got an amazing price for a 3 night stay and it was within our budget that we were looking for.

We arrived around 2pm and were greated with a very friendly smile and a very neat, and tidy hallway. It looked as though the entire building had recently received a full refurbishment which was lovely.

We were shown straight up to our room which was number 5 and were greeted with a large double bed, clean carpets and a clean and immaculate bathroom. The wardrobe had ample hangers for your clothes and beside each side of the bed were handy 3 chest of drawers for your personal belongings. There was also a complimentary tea, coffee and hot chocolate tray - I recommend the hot chocolate it is lovely! There was also free internet within the building which was great as we brought our laptop.

If you require breakfast in the morning it is served in your room and we had fold away chairs and tables to eat off which was very handy and convenient. Breakfast was lovely and is served between 8am and 9am. Whatever time you asked for it, it was there on time and it was hot and there is plenty to choose from so I really recommend it. After browsing the town centre the £5 they charge for breakfast is very reasonable since I did not find breakfast cheaper anywhere else.

The lodge is very conveniently placed. There is a Spar shop across the road and a large Sainsbury's which is a 3 minute walk away. The town centre of Newquay is a 5 minute walk if that.

The owners are lovely and are always on hand to offer advise on the best places to visit. We were recommended to go to the Healeys Cyder Farm which is free to go in and you get to sample cider, wine and jams for free. Beware though as it all tastes so good you end up spending a fortune! We went back to the cider farm twice to pick up more homemade jams and cider to bring home!

All in all we had a lovely few days away and the Cotehele Lodge is a lovely place and I would highly recommend it for great value for money and its good location. We will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparkle8324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2010

The accommodation is absolutely perfect. The bedroom is very well decorated, and noticeably well cleaned and maintained. All rooms include a TV with freeview and a DVD player. There is also a lovely dining table in the window of the room upon which breakfast is served. The breakfast is amazing!!! All ingredients are locally sourced and perfectly cooked. The en-suite bathroom is very clean and ideally sized, including both a bath and shower. The bed is very comfortable and the bedding is very tasteful and clean. All-in-all the accommodation was far superior to any other accommodation I have found in Newquay and is within 5 minutes walking distance to both Fistral beach and Newquay shops in town.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatalieJade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.8 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.4 km away
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
0.1 km away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in White Cross
687 reviews
2.4 km away
Blue Haven Guest House
Blue Haven Guest House
#56 of 105 in Newquay
41 reviews
1.2 km away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotehele Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotehele Lodge

Property: Cotehele Lodge
Address: 84 Tower Road, Newquay TR7 1LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Hotel Class:3 star — Cotehele Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Cotehele Lodge Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing