We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot for lunch”
Review of Red Lion Newquay

Red Lion Newquay
Ranked #46 of 272 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Gastropub
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

Situated perfectly above the harbour so you get lovely views whilst having lunch.
An old fashioned feel to the pub with a family oriented genre with lots of seating for all and also includes your dog.
We got a perfect seat in the window looking directly down to the harbour. Bar staff very friendly and quite happily chatted whist pouring our drinks. I was lucky to find Aspalls cider as it is rare in my home town.
If you like real ale then this is a pub for you as a large selection of house and guest beers on offer on keg.
Varied menu and not expensive either. I had a smothered chicken and my lovely wife had a king prawn salad, both very tasty.
We stayed for an hour or so and sampled a couple more drinks before e left.
Very busy pub during this lunch time with couples, families plus locals came in for a drink.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank BlackpoolStevieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (664)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 53 of 664 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2018 via mobile

Went here after long drive south to Cornwall. My husband had fish and chips and I had a fish butty. Both were really well cooked and reasonably priced. If we hadn’t been so tired we definitely would have had a pudding as they looked amazing! Great service from some very busy waitresses.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank rhiannonl657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

Back in the red lion again...oh how we wish it was our local with everyone so friendly! Two or three visits every time we come down to cornwall...see you in october. And by the way beer excellent as usual!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank AndrewMU4995AF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2018 via mobile

We stopped off for lunch with the dog. Pub is dog friendly. We had sandwiches and they were very big! Excellent value, tasty food, great staff.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Salruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2018 via mobile

Been visiting here with my family on holiday for years now. We really like this pub, the atmosphere is nice and they put on some good entertainment. As for the food, we have always been pleased. Most recently I ordered the bone rib dish which was superb. The meat was some of the best that I have had in a long time. The rest of the family were happy with their dishes too. A little let down on the deserts, the sponges and cakes were a tad too dry for our liking. The drinks here are also quite good and fairly priced. One of the better pubs in Newquay that’s for sure.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank HollyJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Lion Newquay also viewed

Newquay, Cornwall
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to Red Lion Newquay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing