We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing !!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hendra Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Gorebridge, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dissapointing !!!!”
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We stayed at Hendra for 7 nights 30th June - 7th July.Myself, my husband and 10 & 11yr old kids. The park itself was very clean and well maintained. The caravan was perfect, immaculate , (which we expected as it was the 8 berth Perran 2012 model).The pool was good although having to pay £2.95 each to enter proved expesive. (Flumes or no flumes!!!) The Tavern food was pretty average. Marios pizza was awful ! definately would not recommend. The on site fish & chip shop was overpriced with small portions. Go to Truscotts in Newquay , lovely.Probably our biggest dissapointment was the entertainment. For the kids 11am activity it consisted of some hula hoops and spinning plates and very little interaction from the reps ! Kids entertainment very much geared towards 8yrs & under. Kids were bored! At night time it was the same repetative dancing to little kiddie songs. Kids were bored .Bingo tickets overpriced. Previous parks we have been to have organised activities such as shooting range , archery football etc. Despite a lovely big playing field up the top of the park their was absolutely nothing we could book to do as a family or for the kids. You need to be at the club early for nightime entertainment (which was poor quality) .Amusement areas rundown , need refurbished. All in all lovely park but poor entertainment for kids over 8.

Room Tip: Perran caravan is the newest. Queue early for nightime entertainment
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendraservices, Guest Relations Manager at Hendra Holiday Park, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that the caravan was immaculate, and the pool was good. We do offer a pre-bookable discount with the pool passes to bring costs down. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the entertainment. The Entertainments Team does try to vary the entertainment so that it appeals to all age groups. We do have archery, a climbing wall, bouncy castles, water walkers and more in the school holidays, when there is enough demand - we may consider having more of these activities in shoulder periods in the future. We appreciate all of your feedback and will pass it on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,054
    419
    133
    56
    44
See reviews for
1,106
270
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Returned from Hendra today, we have had a lovely holiday. On arrival we were upgraded to the Watergate home which was a real treat, it was huge. The home was spotlessly clean as was all of the site. We used the club house and enjoyed the entertainment on a few nights. We also used the Oasis pool. I had to call the site on a few occasions before we arrived and the staff were lovely. On arrival I found the reception staff to be friendly and welcoming. Even though the site was large we had a really relaxing holiday. Excellent base for travelling around Cornwall. Had a great night out at Paulo's Circus too. We went to Hendra on a recommendation from friends and we will certainly recommend to others. Looking forward to our next visit. Please could you arrange some sunshine next time please? Thank you Hendra

Room Tip: We stayed on Cherry Field
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendraservices, Guest Relations Manager at Hendra Holiday Park, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your five star review. We are so pleased to hear that you had a lovely holiday, and that you enjoyed the entertainment. We value your feedback and appreciate that you would recommend us. We hope to see you again soon – when it will be sunny!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Good location but it is a drive into Newquay. The caravans are clean and comfortable and well equiped for a family and self catering. The single beds are a bit short and narrow but managable for an adult for a couple of days.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scrappydoooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendraservices, Guest Relations Manager at Hendra Holiday Park, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased to hear that you found the caravan clean, comfortable and well equip. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I've been going camping down newquay for years and always drove past Hendra thinking wow that place looks great i will go there, so finally me my gf our 6yr old and the dog went.
We stayed 23rd june-30th, we stayed on the pine fields where dogs are allowed having looked at the map before going we saw the field was near the main road but to be honest we werent that close so didnt affect us too bad but had we been nearer the wall i think it would of been a problem!!

Our first impression was really good we arrived at 11am and i dont know if because it was low season we were allowed to set up and not made to wait till 12 great start. We were about 1min walk from everything and the toilets were 15secs if that,
The pitches are on a slight slope which makes sense for the british summer time, it was a very big pitch well kept so from this point we had a very good start pitch was to a high standard the site was very clean flowers everywhere was really good impression thought we had gone for the right choice.

THEN.......

Having settled in that night we had a wonder around the site get to know where things were, the site as i've said is very well kept but i didnt pay that amount of money just for a well kept site, we headed for the entertainment ( if thats what you can call it ) the tavern bar is quite nice sat near the pool with a drink, we went into the club house about 7 when the kids entertainment was on this consisted of spinning plates for around 1hr WOW!!! then the most awful of children entertainers did a bit of song and dance and the little 1 met the hippos for 10mins and that was it, the bingo was on not my cup of tea but its expected so i cant moan each to there own! we then heard theres a comedian on so we stayed abit longer, all i can say is where do they get these people from and do you really pay the person who decides they can perform at the site, i can honestly say the worst comic i've ever seen, we only went a couple more times in the hope the kids entertainment would improve it really didnt such a shame because this was a holiday for the little 1 and even she didnt think it was all that great and had more fun at the tent!!! We sadly saw a singer on the friday night you know when you watch btg and think wow she really is awful, well hendra found her and again someone said she could sing here!!

So the entertainment was awful!!! the 2nd reason we came here is for the pool, we already new we would be paying so the price didnt come as a shock ok its £2.95 i think each which like another review says its around that price locally so cant moan as it has flumes and things to do, i think it should be maybe a little bit more discounted but i understand the pool would be rammed then!!!
A few things i think the site needs are a huge makeover the bars and club house arcade are so dated i think if they did it up it would be a lot nicer place to eat and drink.

The prices werent as high as i expected it was the same in town as the club house around £3.50-£3.95 for beer and cider. Marios pizza place was open i think twice when there but from what a couple next to us said its prob a good thing we didnt go.

So all in all would i stay again from a camping side yes the pitches amazing the site does have everything you need shop pub etc but for what i think most people are going for a family holiday based on the kids i 1000% wouldnt go again i quote the little one " Pontins is better than this" enough said!!!!

Sorry to say it hendra but i wish i had just kept driving past!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Hendra Holiday Park, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are sad to hear that we did not live up to our good first impressions. It sounds like the entertainment really wasn’t for you. The team does try to keep it varied and work hard to appeal to everyone. We will pass on your feedback to the entertainments manager and your views about the club, arcade and bar area. We do appreciate all opinions and are sorry that you didn’t have a better stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed here just last weekend and used the Daily Mail holiday promotion but had upgraded. The first impressions were great - very professional security told you where to check in etc and the check in process was very prompt and clear.

Our caravan was spotlessly clean - the cleanest one yet! (we've done a lot of these Haven type holidays!) and everything was almost brand new apart from the carpets which could do with a clean.

The park itself is really well kept with enough to do if you want. We went to the children's entertainment in the evening and met the characters which our little boy (3) loved! We went to Crealy which is def worth a visit - highly recommended!! Only a 15-20 min drive away.

We went into Newquay too but as we arrived on a Friday afternoon some of the people there were already intoxicated so not so pleasant a walk around with a 3 year old but it's ok - may more nicer places in Cornwall to visit.

Morrison's supermarket is 5 min drive away so we just stopped there on the way home to get dinner for the evening each night - the Tavern did not look very appealing to us - but we didn't eat there - school canteen like atmosphere - just not our thing.

We had a good weekend away and would def return to Hendra - good value and a nice family atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitsy2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Hendra Holiday Park, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive feedback. We are happy that you were impressed with the security and cleanliness of the caravan. We are pleased your three year old enjoyed the entertainment. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
3.5 km away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
56 reviews
4.1 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.6 km away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Newquay View Resort
Newquay View Resort
#5 of 75 in Newquay
290 reviews
2.8 km away
Porth Beach Holiday Park
0.0 km away
Queens Arms
Queens Arms
#1 of 2 in Breage
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hendra Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hendra Holiday Park

Property: Hendra Holiday Park
Address: Lane, Newquay TR8 4NY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 75 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,066 - ₹ 4,098
Hotel Class:5 star — Hendra Holiday Park 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An double GOLD award winning family owned and run holiday park for families and couples. Five Star rated facilities include the Oasis Fun indoor and outdoor Fun Pools complex, which includes three fabulous water flumes, river rapid ride, water cannon, geyser, fountains, waterfall, 30m pool and toddlers' pool. New for 2017 - Henry’s Play Loft - Slide, roll, climb and wriggle. Jump, bounce, swing and giggle! Our super new indoor play centre for children under 10 years, with a seated area for adults, and drinks and snacks available. Accommodation includes six ranges of holiday caravans from budget to premium, Platinum range and lodge style caravans. A range of touring, camping and motorhome pitches plus camping pods, all set in landscaped parkland of 80 acres, on rural countryside within minutes of the town beaches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hendra Holiday Park Hotel Newquay
Hendra Holiday Park Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing