We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hendra Holiday Park
Nearby Hotels
US$ 194
US$ 176
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 172
US$ 167
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St. Breca Bed and Breakfast(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$ 93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa(Newquay)
US$ 146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 253
US$ 245
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
The Pentire Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$ 108
US$ 98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Beresford Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$ 105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$ 359
US$ 143
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Esplanade Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$ 140
US$ 136
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,953)
Filter reviews
1,953 results
Traveller rating
1,210
471
151
70
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,210
471
151
70
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoasis poolholiday parkvisited hendrahenry hippohire shopfistral caravantavern barsun holidayfish and chip shopevening entertainmentland trainstatic caravansoft playindoor and outdoor poolskids entertainmentfantastic sitefamily holiday
Filter
Updating list...
1,726 - 1,731 of 1,953 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Returned from Hendra today, we have had a lovely holiday. On arrival we were upgraded to the Watergate home which was a real treat, it was huge. The home was spotlessly clean as was all of the site. We used the club house and enjoyed the entertainment on a few nights. We also used the Oasis pool. I had to call the site on a few occasions before we arrived and the staff were lovely. On arrival I found the reception staff to be friendly and welcoming. Even though the site was large we had a really relaxing holiday. Excellent base for travelling around Cornwall. Had a great night out at Paulo's Circus too. We went to Hendra on a recommendation from friends and we will certainly recommend to others. Looking forward to our next visit. Please could you arrange some sunshine next time please? Thank you Hendra

Room Tip: We stayed on Cherry Field
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendraservices, Guest Relations Manager at Hendra Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your five star review. We are so pleased to hear that you had a lovely holiday, and that you enjoyed the entertainment. We value your feedback and appreciate that you would recommend us. We hope to see you again soon – when it will be sunny!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Good location but it is a drive into Newquay. The caravans are clean and comfortable and well equiped for a family and self catering. The single beds are a bit short and narrow but managable for an adult for a couple of days.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scrappydoooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendraservices, Guest Relations Manager at Hendra Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased to hear that you found the caravan clean, comfortable and well equip. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I've been going camping down newquay for years and always drove past Hendra thinking wow that place looks great i will go there, so finally me my gf our 6yr old and the dog went.
We stayed 23rd june-30th, we stayed on the pine fields where dogs are allowed having looked at the map before going we saw the field was near the main road but to be honest we werent that close so didnt affect us too bad but had we been nearer the wall i think it would of been a problem!!

Our first impression was really good we arrived at 11am and i dont know if because it was low season we were allowed to set up and not made to wait till 12 great start. We were about 1min walk from everything and the toilets were 15secs if that,
The pitches are on a slight slope which makes sense for the british summer time, it was a very big pitch well kept so from this point we had a very good start pitch was to a high standard the site was very clean flowers everywhere was really good impression thought we had gone for the right choice.

THEN.......

Having settled in that night we had a wonder around the site get to know where things were, the site as i've said is very well kept but i didnt pay that amount of money just for a well kept site, we headed for the entertainment ( if thats what you can call it ) the tavern bar is quite nice sat near the pool with a drink, we went into the club house about 7 when the kids entertainment was on this consisted of spinning plates for around 1hr WOW!!! then the most awful of children entertainers did a bit of song and dance and the little 1 met the hippos for 10mins and that was it, the bingo was on not my cup of tea but its expected so i cant moan each to there own! we then heard theres a comedian on so we stayed abit longer, all i can say is where do they get these people from and do you really pay the person who decides they can perform at the site, i can honestly say the worst comic i've ever seen, we only went a couple more times in the hope the kids entertainment would improve it really didnt such a shame because this was a holiday for the little 1 and even she didnt think it was all that great and had more fun at the tent!!! We sadly saw a singer on the friday night you know when you watch btg and think wow she really is awful, well hendra found her and again someone said she could sing here!!

So the entertainment was awful!!! the 2nd reason we came here is for the pool, we already new we would be paying so the price didnt come as a shock ok its £2.95 i think each which like another review says its around that price locally so cant moan as it has flumes and things to do, i think it should be maybe a little bit more discounted but i understand the pool would be rammed then!!!
A few things i think the site needs are a huge makeover the bars and club house arcade are so dated i think if they did it up it would be a lot nicer place to eat and drink.

The prices werent as high as i expected it was the same in town as the club house around £3.50-£3.95 for beer and cider. Marios pizza place was open i think twice when there but from what a couple next to us said its prob a good thing we didnt go.

So all in all would i stay again from a camping side yes the pitches amazing the site does have everything you need shop pub etc but for what i think most people are going for a family holiday based on the kids i 1000% wouldnt go again i quote the little one " Pontins is better than this" enough said!!!!

Sorry to say it hendra but i wish i had just kept driving past!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are sad to hear that we did not live up to our good first impressions. It sounds like the entertainment really wasn’t for you. The team does try to keep it varied and work hard to appeal to everyone. We will pass on your feedback to the entertainments manager and your views about the club, arcade and bar area. We do appreciate all opinions and are sorry that you didn’t have a better stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed here just last weekend and used the Daily Mail holiday promotion but had upgraded. The first impressions were great - very professional security told you where to check in etc and the check in process was very prompt and clear.

Our caravan was spotlessly clean - the cleanest one yet! (we've done a lot of these Haven type holidays!) and everything was almost brand new apart from the carpets which could do with a clean.

The park itself is really well kept with enough to do if you want. We went to the children's entertainment in the evening and met the characters which our little boy (3) loved! We went to Crealy which is def worth a visit - highly recommended!! Only a 15-20 min drive away.

We went into Newquay too but as we arrived on a Friday afternoon some of the people there were already intoxicated so not so pleasant a walk around with a 3 year old but it's ok - may more nicer places in Cornwall to visit.

Morrison's supermarket is 5 min drive away so we just stopped there on the way home to get dinner for the evening each night - the Tavern did not look very appealing to us - but we didn't eat there - school canteen like atmosphere - just not our thing.

We had a good weekend away and would def return to Hendra - good value and a nice family atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mitsy2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive feedback. We are happy that you were impressed with the security and cleanliness of the caravan. We are pleased your three year old enjoyed the entertainment. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

terrible my wife made a mistake when cancelling and we lost 100.00 pound,When i took the matter up i was told tuff you cannot get any moneys back never ive i been treated this way before, Would not let mw explain and was rudely interupted all the time. Would hate to have to have trouble on the site if i was treated like this on the phone very bad..WOULD NEVER CONSIDER BOOKING AGAIN PLEASE WATCH WHAT YOUR DOING..

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were dissatisfied with our service, and that we could not resolve the situation for you. The cancellation scheme was removed and signed by you so it was removed from the booking, as stated in the terms and conditions after we have had this in writing there are no refunds due. If we were to still refund then it would not be fair on the people that take out and pay for the scheme. We are very surprised to hear that staff were rude as staff always do their utmost to listen to the customers and resolve any problems to prevent further complaints.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews