We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb!”
other travellers have booked this property
Local beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Local beach
Captains Cottage Sitting Room with Log Burner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Local beach
Captains Cottage
Sitting Room with Log Burner
Looe
Sitting Room with Log Burner
Looe
Sitting Room
Local Beach
Entrance
South West Coastal Path
Kitchen / Diner
Kitchen / Diner
Ground Floor Bathroom and WC
South West Coastal Path
Master King-size Bedroom
King-size bed
Master king-size bedroom
Polperro
Second Double Bedroom - 3 Singles
Second Double Bedroom
Family Bathroom - First Floor
Family Bathroom - First Floor
Looe
Private Terrace Walled Garden
Private Terrace Walled Garden
Trelowia countryside
South West Coastal Path
Seaton Sands
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Looe, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andy M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Over the years we have stayed at a number Holiday rental properties and it must be said they were fine if not very good and served a purpose. Captains Cottage is exceptional. It is situated in a nice quiet environment but close to local beaches and amenities. The standard of the cottage was 1st class for its' presentation, décor and information. The welcome basket/ hamper was just what the doctor ordered after the 320 miles drive from home and allowed us to just chill and relax upon our arrival.
This is the first review that I have ever taken the time to write because we felt the property was so good. Thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That would a hard one to answer A* all round.
Liked least: I cannot find anything that I disliked.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura1688
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

The cottage is everything you expect it to be from the photos, if anything, it is better in real life. Every area was clean and tidy and the decor was beautiful. Even the pictures and ornaments were very fitting.

It was great having two bathrooms.
The bedrooms were an excellent size, very spacious.

I was impressed that all kitchen appliances were in stock, there wasn't one thing we had to go out for and purchase. Also the welcome pack and flowers were a lovely surprise.

I cannot find any fault with the cottage - I would have happily moved in there!

I would point out that it is quite a drive from the farm or the pub, and unless there is a secret shortcut to both, it would be more than a 10 minute walk. There are torches in the cottage if you did want to take a walk, as unlike us a lot of people aren't wimps with the dark! The roads are single file, but there isn't a great deal of traffic.

Booking was simple and Sam contacted us once we booked to advise of directions and local information such as shops etc. I asked a couple of questions before arriving and she responded straight away, therefore I cannot fault the service of the owner either.

For anyone thinking about booking it - don't hesitate. I am sure even if you are picky (like me), you will be delighted with the cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: The weather!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPB58
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Holidaying in Cornwall 11th-25th July 2015”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

The property is in a hamlet called Trelowia, which is an extremely quiet, rural and peaceful location. The cottage is half mile down a country lane from the main road. The pictures on the website are a very reliable representation of this brilliant house and it is very well presented in every aspect.

The welcome pack ranges from the traditional ingredients for a cream tea to local produce of eggs and milk through to fresh flowers and it signals the intention to provide you with all that you need from your accommodation. Every aspect of your stay is included in the cottage from the very well equipped kitchen, the dvd library and player in the living room, the high quality towels and linens and the cleanliness of every part of the cottage. It has been maintained to the highest level for its visitors.

The cottage provides a very comfortable stay for any holidaymakers. It is warm and well insulated for the cooler evenings or for inevitable wet days. Hot water and central heating are provided to meet any needs. The beds and all furnishings are comfortable. The Wi-Fi is very good given the rural location of the house, allowing for easy browsing but streaming can be more problematic.

The location is a short distance into Cornwall but it provided an excellent base to explore many of the key locations in the county including the obligatory visit to Lands End. It is a short distance from the main A38 and A30 routes through Cornwall while being only minutes from nearby beaches. For a rural location, the main supermarkets are just 15 or 20 minutes away whether you want Morrisons or Waitrose, Lidl or M&S.

Over many years, having stayed in many self catering locations in Ireland, GB, Europe and USA, the Captain’s Cottage rates as being one of the best in which we have spent our holidays and we have no hesitation in recommending it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness of every aspect of the property.
Liked least: The country lane in from the main road.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydintl
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very tranquil location, off the beaten track”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Cottage was well equipped and seaside themed decor was lovely. Good base to explore South Cornwall but a little off the beaten track and a car is advisable. There is a small outside space for alfresco dining which is quite private, although we found the sun goes off the area by 5-5.30pm in July and there are no views to look out on. The nearest beach is Looe which is approx 4km or 5-10 mins drive away but there are a number of coves along the coast which are worth a visit, we liked Portwrinkle and Talland Bay as they are unspoilt and have fab beach cafe's. Coddy Shack (on main road into Looe) does fab fish & chips and the best seafood we found nearby was at 'Trawlers on the Quay' Looe - their scallops and crab dishes are gorgeous. Overall a fab place to stay and visit :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: decor
Liked least: space outside
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dnash2015
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A delightful cottage, exceeded our expectations. Would highly recommend.”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
4
people found this review helpful

A very pretty location, delightful cottage. The owners have made it a home from home. Excellent. Would highly recommend. Thank you to the owners for the welcome pack and accommodating us at short notice.

Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 189
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing